We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Paradies Garden

Paradies Garden
Ranked #11 of 145 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In exploring the alleyways back from the seafront we came across this gem of a restaurant. It does not have views, but walking through to the garden and balcony reveal a great space with lots of planting shading the sun. The waiter was both knowledgable and a good low pressure salesman. Our party of 5 could not resist choosing one of the fresh fish shown to us and decided to have the sea bass baked in a thick salt crust. The 45 minute wait for completion of fish cooking was joyously filled with sharing platters washed down with white house wine from the proprietors own vines. The fish was then expertly filleted at our table by the waiter - the taste and texture did not disappoint. It was not a cheap meal at £40 each, but it was a great 2 hour entertainment in a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retiring_Dustman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    80
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go to Dalmatino or Giaxa instead for the same price!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't know where to start with this meal. The whole meal was poor. I had mussels to start with followed by sirloin steak in a mushroom sauce. My girlfriend had seafood pasta in a gorgonzola sauce to start with followed by a shellfish platter. We went to Dalmatino and Giaxa on the other nights and the meal at Giaxa was the same price and £15 cheaper at Dalmatino for 2 starters, 2 mains and a bottle of wine for each meal.
My mussel starter was really bad the mussels were overcooked and the sauce was too salty and gritty to boot. It was the worst mussels I've ever eaten anywhere, I've had better mussels out of the supermarket in a freezepack bag. There was something about the steak which wasn't right (I think it had either been defrosted straight from the freezer or part of it had dropped in the BBQ but I'm not sure) and the mushroom sauce was really glutinous. My girlfriends pasta dish was so-so but her main of the shellfish platter was again poor as some of the mussels were overcooked but a good number of other shells (not the mussels) were still closed. She was absolutely stuffed after her starter which is the only reason we didn't complain at the time.
Another grumble was our waiter, we asked for a wine recommendation and were pointed towards the most expensive bottle on the menu. We settled for a bottle of the Bogdanusa for £20 which was really nice (we'd tried some Bogdanusa in a local wine shop the previous day). From the menu its unclear if the pasta dishes are starters or mains, my girlfriend asked our waiter and he recommended her to have the pasta dish as a starter - it would have been more than enough for her main course.
Maybe we went here on a bad day, maybe we didn't pick well off the menu (neither of us went for the waiters recommendation of the whole grilled fish). Some of the photos on the TA website shows the food looking great and from other reviews it sounds like our experience isn't the norm. I had thought that the poor reviews I'd read were probably due to flaky service/being overly busy in peak season, we visited in low season so that wasn't the case. The garden was nice though - not sure the setting being the highlight of the meal is exactly what you want to take away from an evening out at a restaurant.
It was our our only bad meal in Croatia, check out some of my reviews if you want to eat in better places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience all around”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

In a nut shell: great food, great service, lovely terrace, excellent value for money. By far not as pretentious as some of the other restsurants in Hvar (i.e. Park for instance)...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hubert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious beautiful food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. We had a range of steaks and all of them were mouthwateringly tasty. The chicken was also to die for and was full of flavour. Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was busy and the setting was magical.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarac1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great quality freash seafood”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to this restaurant in Hvar looking for a place where to eat good fresh seafood, and we god out of there overpleased.
First of all, the location is really cosy, nice and clean; enough far from the crowded streets of the historical center: as you are sitting there, it looks like you are in a corner of paradise; the restaurant has been perfectly suited in a old but impeccably mantained building, with climbing plants going over the garden.

After having given a long sight to the menu, that gives you a lots of fancy and attractive options, we decided to get Marinara ("buzara") Mussels as first. They were quite good; not really big but still really nicely served and with a delicious soup at the bottom of the dish.

Then, we asked for a 2-people plate of grilled fresh seafood, and it was definitely perfect. On the plate there were 3 pieces of squids, 2 Scampi, mussels, 2 pieces of swordfish, a Bream Gilthead and a Branzino, served with particular vegetables of the place as side and obvuoisly lemon. All the fishes were grilled at the right point, and they were actually fresh and good looking, besides than really tasty.
All the plates have been served pleasing the sight and the palate as weel. Waiters were definitely prepared and nice, able to answer all the questions about the menu in a lot of different languages.

Bill was not the cheapest, compared to the Hvar average prices, but it still DEFINITELY worths it if you want to eat really good seafood and if you do not want to fall in trap-menu for tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ennyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradies Garden also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Paradies Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing