We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Hvar”
Review of Macondo

Macondo
Ranked #45 of 162 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1989, Macondo is a restaurant with a long tradition. Located in a picturesque stone street in the old part of town within the town walls, it offers an authentic Mediterranean experience. The restaurant's name is inspired by the novel "One Hundred Years of Solitude" by Gabriel García Márquez, which earned him the Nobel prize in literature in 1982. We even named one of our dishes "Big Mama" after one of the dominant female characters from the novel. Thanks to its team and excellent gastronomical foundations, Macondo's story has been evolving for many years and the restaurant is establishing itself as one of must-see places on the Hvar culinary scene.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Went to Macondo after the staff at the hotel we were staying at highly recommended and absolutely loved (we went twice).

The restaurant is in one of those little charming alley ways in Hvar, which adds to the charm. The service is fantastic: we were six and they found us a table really quick although we didn't have any reservations. Plus, the waiter even remembered exactly what we had had the first time.

All this wouldn't worth a thing if the food wasn't great....but it was beautiful! Special mention to the calamari (starters) and the superb sea bass (with or without the bones, you choose).

Date of visit: September 2011
Thank Eduburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had lunch there upon our arrival. As a starter we had octopus salad, which was really good, and then spaghetti with seafood and steak with boiled potato. Everything was good, but nothing to rave about. In our opinion, if you decide to go there, you can expect good outdoor seating, good service, and good food, but not great value.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

During our recent trip to Hvar we chose this restaurant for our lunch because we saw it had quite good reviews and is something of a gastronomic institution in Croatia. The meal was, howerer, rather disappointing and definitely not worth the price. The menu was of a standard copy-paste type, featuring seafood and grilled fish like hundreds of restaurants on the Adriatic coast and showing no imagination or ambition whatsoever. We were served by the owner, who was arrogant and slow. The ultimate insult to our palate was when we found traces of the infamous Vegeta food condiment / flavour enhancer in our seafood risotto. We complained about it to the owner and received a rather rude response. Their mediocre food is also far overpriced. My suggestion is to avoid it, you'll find better food and better prices elsewhere in Hvar.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tincibinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Upon arriving in Hvar close to lunch time we proceeded to make our way up the narrow alleyways toward the castle,crisscrossing various streets as we went in search of a place to eat .
Upon passing this particular restaurant, it immediately felt inviting but only one guest was seated,we kept walking...
After being informed by a local merchant that lunch is much quieter here( everyone is on the beach or boat we had had enough beach by then and needed a break) we decided to sit at one of their outside tables...and we were not disappointed from the first moment to the end.
First,the cool air breezing through the narrow alleyway...
Our fellow guests seemed to be locals ( great indication of a good restaurant) and afterwards more locals arrived and there was a pleasant banter back and forth among the guests that gave the restaurant a very relaxed cadence.
Moreover, we really enjoyed watching what they ordered,the whole fish,the seafood risotto..a huge feast....
The service was prompt and the waiter explained diverted possible disappointments by informing me that the fish soup was just rice and broth ( in case I assumed it actually had fish in it,which I knew did not as we had been in Croatia over a week by now) and that the grilled squid came alone without sides as most dishes often do and if I would like to order one in addition.
This may seem silly to mention ,but I thought it was very considerate of thevwaiter to avert any possible false expectations and make our meal and his job as pleasant as possible.
Anyway,to the food....
Amazing and dense brown walnut bread...
Great Dalmation ham as a starter.
Grilled squid,delicious..
But to the star...the spaghetti with cams ,mussels and ( just a few small shrimp) was so bountiful with clams ( the small savory ones as well as the larger),I have never seen such a generous portion and we have been living in Italy now for almost two years.
But it wasn't just the generous portion of course,the pasta was cooked perfectly al dente and the sauce was to die for! Just parsley,oil,garlic and the juices from the seafood,simply mouthwatering!
We were surprised as this was our first time ordering pasta for ourselves in Croatia after sampling many "spaghetti pomodoros"ordered by our daughter which were soggy and seemed covered in a ketchupy sweet sort of sauce.
Anyway...just gors to show that great pasta can be had in croatia!
By the way,we noted that the risotto dishes were just as generous but we would definitely recommend the pasta!

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank playa102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Everybody was telling me that this is very popular and good restaurant in Hvar, but I was not happy there. Frutti di mare spaghetti were below average, market bought barilla spaghetti with no shrimps which I was told by the waiter they would be there... At one point waiter told me he has to take his lunch break and if I need him I could find him inside!!! Very expensive too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lion112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macondo also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing