We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday to remember”
Review of Hvareno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hvareno
Ranked #10 of 50 Hvar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday to remember”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have recently returned from my second trip to Hvareno - an amaising holiday experience! Jana and Toni are exellent and welcoming hosts and it was my great pleasure to have stayed with them for the second time. There is a lot to see around the island! By car, by scooter or by bycicle, the beauties of Hvar are within reach. Every day brings a new discovery! The sun, clear sea, gorgeous wearther, delicious food and idyllic scinery, perfectly complement the fulfilling and inspirational yoga experience offered by Jana. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogovav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
25
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have just returned from a yoga retreat on the beautiful island of Hvar. It is located in idyllic setting, it takes your breath away. Jana's yoga classes are intensive, one walks away from each class completely uplifted. It is a an absolutely joy and I feel like a new person!

Hvareno is located in the beautiful village of Dol Sveta Marije and peaceful. All the rooms with en-suite bathrooms are stylishly decorated and incredibly comfortable.

This was my 7th visit and I shall be returning again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A previous reviewer got it spot on - staying in Hvareno is 'like staying with friends'. Jana and Toni really are both incredibly warm and thoughtful people and made us feel very relaxed and special whilst staying in Dol. Their advice on where to visit, eat and relax was spot on and breakfast was always a tasty and sociable affair - particular mention has to go to the homemade juice.

The room itself was a slice of rustic beauty with lots of little finishing touches which made all the difference. Dol itself is a pretty little village and provides a quiet retreat whilst being close enough Stari Grad to walk down for a meal in around 30 mins. We hired bikes and used buses (which run from Stari Grad) to get around the island. This worked well for us and if you don't mind some hills, Pitve to Dol is a beautiful cycle ride. The UNESCO Wold Heritage Site fields near Stari Grad are also nice to see from the saddle. There are plenty of nice beaches and spots to swim from on the island.

Fantastic hosts, lovely hideaway (which will only improve with time as Jana and Toni are working hard on even more improvements), beautiful island. We wish we were back there now!

Peter & Leigh

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redlemonyellowlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sadly, I am not eloquent enough to really express how much I enjoyed staying at Hvareno. It was truly fantastic. The rooms are well decorated, comfortable and clean. The location is lovely, in a small, picturesque village. (Inland and a short drive from the port.) But the jewel of Hvareno are its owners, Jana and Toni. They are so incredibly welcoming that it felt like we had gone to stay with friends. Breakfast with Toni (see other reviews) was delicious and a fun, friendly way to start the day. Jana was super helpful with navigating the (beautiful) island and looked after my pregnant wife with a range of herbal teas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I had a week with our hosts Jana and Toni at Hvareno and it was just great. We rented a scooter in Stari Grad and were out and about to hidden coves or nearby towns every day. We were served a great breakfast with home baked bread, eggs, juice, muesli, fruit, ... The perfect start in the day.

The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The stone house keeps the rooms cool in the summer.

You should have either a car, bike or scooter rented to get around as Dol is slightly hidden in the hills above Stari Grad.

Thank you Jana and Toni for this great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Dol is a quiet, very picturesque village, with lots of red rooftops and rolling hills.This B&B has a boutique hotel feel to it and is situated at one end of the village (see attached photos).
The rooms are tastefully decorated with attention to detail and wonderfully powerful showers, that could knock a horse at 60 paces.
Jana and Tony are great hosts. There was ample local food for breakfast and dinner courtesy of Tony.
Hire a car at the airport - it was about half the price of hiring a car on Hvar. You have to pay the cost of the ferry (airport to ferry is 30 mins approx), approx 300 kuna each way, but it is still worth it to be able to see lots of places on the island. Btw, the coffee on the ferry is surprisingly good, but maybe it was cos it was 5:30am, and a beautiful sunrise followed soon after the coffee so dont forget to have a camera handy.
Dol is a typically quiet country village but very picturesque and centrally located, ideal to visit other parts of the island. My favourite village is Vsboska about 5km from Dol, just before Jelsa. Stari Grad is very nice too, especially the side streets, and it is walkable from Dol. Note that all towns, even Hvar, were quiet in early October, making it an ideal time to visit. All the villages/towns are built with local stone that makes the houses/streets very photogenic. Jana/Tony can recommend multiple secluded beaches.
Yoga in the morning and evening easily filled out most of the day but still left several hours for other activities. Viking Diving in Hvar is recommended for scuba diving but a car is recommended to get there from Dol (allow 30 mins, esp with traffic).
October weather was great, up to 29C (for scuba divers the water was 23C), with one day of on-off rain and a huge thunderstorm overnight.
Mosquitoes are an issue in the morning and evening, even in October, so bring/buy suitable spray. The little anti-mosquitoe tabs that plug into the wall worked very well as there were no mosquitoes in my room on any night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a week here at the beginning of September 2012 following recommendations from my brother and his girlfriend who visited last September. We were not disappointed…the accommodation is lovely – our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated with a lovely bathroom and powerful shower. Set in the beautiful Hill Top village of Dol with outstanding views it is the perfect location and base if you want to travel around and explore the beautiful island in a relaxed and quiet setting. We would recommend hiring a car or scooter to get around the island but there is a local bar round the corner and Stari Grad isn’t too far away but to get to the really spectacular beaches you would need transport. Our hosts Tony and Jana were very welcoming and recommended the best restaurants and beaches on the island. Tony’s food is incredible…we had a hearty breakfast everyday and amazing fish and traditional Croatian dishes with decent wine in the evening.

We hope to return as this is by far one of the nicest placest we have visited and cannot recommend this accommodation enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
8.9 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
9.0 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
8.7 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
247 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
141 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hvareno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hvareno

Property: Hvareno
Address: Duzev Dvor Dol 7 | Stari Grad, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia (Formerly Hvar Holiday Rooms)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hvar
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hvar stone house b&b Yoga retreats ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing