We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper Option”
Review of Violeta Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Violeta Hvar
Ranked #11 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Do not forget that you have not paid for this when you leave. They do not take card payments but expect cash on your departure. The room had awesome air conditioning, was clean and the view was awesome. The location is a 10 minute walk from the harbour and restaurants that is great on the way down but slightly awkward on the way up. They have a communal kitchen sink area with cutlery provided that you are expected to wash up after use. There was no obvious kettle available and no washing up liquid to wash dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a great little guesthouse only a short walk from hula hula beach and the main town. The owners were very helpful and the rooms were very clean. Overall a great little place and good value for an expensive island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0nnie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The accommodation in Hvar seems to be very expensive so price wise I would say it is one of the better options of places to stay in Hvar, but if this was somewhere else I would just think it was okay.

Good Points:
Location is good (yes it is uphill from the old town but its really not too bad), it is very close to a supermarket to get items for breakfast etc, close to Hula Hula Bar and Falko Bar and the nice beach areas beside.
Service was good - very friendly on arrival, lots of info with map provided, staff were always pleasant and welcoming
Very clean.
We had our own terrace to eat breakfast on, but there is also a nice sheltered one with kitchen items etc to be used.
Place beside Violetta does excellent reasonable priced pizzas.

Negatives
It was quite hard to find, especially struggling uphill with heavy backpacks
For the price it is quite basic
The hot water in the shower disappeared really quickly
There was a locked door off our bedroom door that seemed to be connected to a corridor in the main house, as this corridor had a door constantly open to the terrace it was really noisy in our bedroom from people on the terrace.
The air conditioning is right above the bed, which meant after a few minutes at night you were freezing.
We probably should have been told that the Ultra music festival was on very close by when booking - it was loud at night.
Guests should probably be told there is an Alsation on the premises (a lovely friendly one) but I think you should be informed.
We asked if we could leave our luggage in reception on the day we were leaving as our ferry wasn't until the evening, we were told that was no problem and it would be looked after. When we returned we walked into the reception and no one was there when we took our luggage - it could easily have been taken by someone else.

All in all I think the standard is average, but if I was going to Hvar again I probably would still stay here as it is clean, friendly and competitively priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinBathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely B&B located about a 10 minute walk from the town centre (although it is quite an uphill walk - no problem for anyone with a reasonable fitness level at all). Lovely views from 3 of the 5 rooms with terraces overlooking the sea - defintely get one of these! Big terrace, with fridge + table and chairs makes lovely place for a drink / relaxing at end of the day. Interiors clean + functional. Staff are friendly and efficient - they gave us a transfer to the other side of the island at zero notice on our last day. Would definitely come back - and if you want good value + somewhere to get a good nights sleep on Hvar think you would be hard pressed to beat it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_devlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

110% friendly people in the hotel, if you have problems talk to the people form Hotel and they will help you, all rooms have climation. In one or two times in week is super food from house with fish or meat, every days the room was cleaning, in house you can rent a scooter, speedboot, car or bike.. all what you want. For little money they have transfer to Bus Station, Ferry Stari Grad, Dubrovnik... and and and.... in all rooms is WiFi.... Town (City) and Sea (Hula Hular Hvar or Falko Bar all have nice Sunbeds) you go in 5 Minutes. Supermarket you go 5 Minutes. Every Year we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMichehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I are from Australia and are travelling Europe for 5 and half weeks! So far have been to London, Paris, Ibiza, Barcelona, Venice, Rome and have stayed at big hotels, however we are now in Hvar (croatia) and it is amazing! we arrived at the port of HVAR and Tonci picked us up in his new van, took us to Violeta Hvar... At first didnt know what to expect because it is a B&B type accommodation.... but from my experience I would recommend VIOLETA HVAR to anyone and everyone visiting HVAR!! for the first time in all of the places we have visited we were greated with a smile! This place deserves an AWARD!! thank you Tonci, Urska and Mrs Violeta!! xoxo
Love Harry and Petek Isik

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hpisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I want to thank Mrs. Violetta for the most beautiful vacation ever. I recommend everyone to choose these apartments because I am very pleased over all vacation.It was a wonderful life experience Beginning with the first day until the last day...view from the balcony will forever remember,purity was in the highest level and location is great. its close to the beach, to shop,and if you are fan of pizza also its close best pizza shop.Thanks again for everything I hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandorka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.2 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violeta Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violeta Hvar

Address: Ulica Biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 22, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: $70 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Violeta Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments Violeta Hvar. Our house is on a perfect spot for all generations, close to relaxation or having fun, near to SPA Center and after beach party bars, situated on a perfect, quiet position only few minutes walk to the city center and the beach. We are offering you nice and clean accommodation. As good hosts, we will try to satisfied our guests and make for them a perfect stay on island Hvar. Violeta Hvar are warm and friendly apartments that welcomes guests all over the world. We have a wealth experience in tourism and know what guest value and need during their stay.Guests can relax or catch up with friends and family back home, over the internet. Internet access is also available. For our guest we will provide all the information they need, like: hidden places and beaches, what to see, how to reach some places they wish to see, so don't be afraid to ask. In our house we rent a scooter, car, boats, speedboats and bikes. In September, October and November we can organize picking grapes in wine yards and olive harvest. Apartments are equipped with air-conditioning units, own refrigerator, SAT TV, free internet and big terrace with a view of the sea and "Pakleni islands" in front of the town of Hvar. Hair dryer, iron and iron board are on request. With extra charge we can do your laundry. Bed sheets, linen and towels are provided. Final cleaning is included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Violeta Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing