We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Lucullus

Lucullus
Ranked #27 of 139 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the same building as the Hotel Villa Nora (hotel in Hvar, Croatia).
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had the fish carpaccio and lobster spaghetti which both were great. Very good service with a bit of sparkling and dessert wine on the house and an extra dish. We were very pleased with this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    41
    23
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Eating amongst new friends”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Eating is a social juncture and is a symbiosis of food, drink , friendship and ultimately is a culmination of the experience . At Lucullus you are made to feel at home amongst friends and are treated with honesty and passion. The food is all local and as such can't be faulted. To be succinct this is food amongst friends. Recommended for egalitariantists but not those looking for pretension.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
206 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were staying at the Villa Nora, a fabulous little hotel, and Lucullus was nearby (right downstairs as we later realized), plus my husband was really enticed by the frogs’ legs on the menu. Waitstaff were really, really pleasant and friendly and in addition to our introductory prosecco, gave him a sample of the level of spice (too hot!) possible in the dish, a kind of spicy stew in a big iron pot. But I love fish and there were really no fish options for me, as they had run out of any reasonable size ones and the remaining fish was impossibly big—800 grams, I think. It was not that late, maybe 8:30, so in a way it seemed kind of misleading that they offered fish. I ended up with a boar stew which was nothing special. And in the end, my husband found his dish to be much too much with the frogs’ legs overwhelmed by the spicy tomato sauce. It was not our favorite dinner. No live musical entertainment, which was fine with us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing friendly staff and great food”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The staff were super friendly, they also gave a few free extras which adds to the experience - taste of Croatian sparkling wine, appetisers and a digestif. The food was very tasty however my mine was a little over salted.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKChivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The best restaurant that we had during our one week stay in Croatia (also the most expensive one), but over all, really good service and food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Els C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucullus also viewed

 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Lucullus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing