We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely good diner with top entertainment!”
Review of Lucullus

Lucullus
Ranked #26 of 135 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the same building as the Hotel Villa Nora (hotel in Hvar, Croatia).
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely good diner with top entertainment!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

You really feel special when leaving this place, each and every guest gets the attention! And the food is delicious! And good service!

Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbieDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    40
    22
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely quality food and service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friendly waitress took our booking and we came back 30 mins later. Nice complimentary fish starter, followed by our ordered starter. Our main was the 1kg Hvar lamb. It was beautifully cooked, nicely well done meat. Served with some roast potatoes and other veg. Overall a bit on the expensive side I'd say, but the service and food quality was really very good and the surroundings of the courtyard is very romantic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude and unpolite service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enter because of the trip advisor winner sticker.

We sat, and the waiter starts playing guitar y sing loudly with a 8 persons table, then we ask 500 gr of baked fish, and he insist that we have to order 800 minimun, "500 gr is a kid portion". We insist in 500 mg and a risotto and be didn't take the order and shout to a colleague "this is the table, bring 3 grappa" force us to drink "and think again, or there is the door"

Absolutely gross, low class service in a pretty environment.

Don't go there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stipe-lucullus, Inhaber at Lucullus, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gabriela and Christian,
first i am really sorry that we could not meet your expectations. But as we tried to explain to you the evening inthe restaurant. We have wild cought fish, wich is not growing in boxes. So we do have different sices of fish. The night you came we had only four fishes left and the smallest of these four was 800 gramm. After you said to my waiter that if you do not get 500 gramm fish you will leave the restaurant he said to you ok. That is the truth. But never less i wish you a nice holiday and once more i am sorry that we had this missunderstanding, as i am sorry that we didn't have the Graševina that you like.
Kind regards
Stipe Erceg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This was hands down the best restaurant we ate at on Hvar. We just happened across it whilst walking through the back streets and we were enticed by the lovely setting (restaurant is in its own little courtyard).

As soon as we sat down, we were brought a small glass of complimentary Prosecco and an exquisite little appetiser (bruschetta with Parmesan, tomatoes and capers).

I then ordered the steak (bear in mind I am VERY picky when it comes to steak!) and I was amazed. So, so tender and perfectly cooked. One of the best I've ever eaten. My husband had the wild boar with lavender gnocchi which was also fantastic.

They also brought us each a shot of grappa with our bill (the waiter even did a shot with us!).

All in all, a fantastic find that we just stumbled across. I've read the reviews on Tripadvisor since and they are all fully deserved. DO NOT MISS OUT ON EATING AT THIS RESTAURANT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Absolutely loved this place. We found it during a wander up to the Citadel (along with a few others) and took a stroll back that evening, we were so glad we did.

Everything was perfect; we were given complimentary prosecco on arrival, amuse bouche and liquor (grappa and sherry I believe) to finish things off. The food was amazing and it was just a brilliant atmosphere. There were two chaps playing guitars and singing songs for most of the evening, along with some great interaction from the staff (singing, plate smashing, props!) which made for a fantastic, fun atmosphere. I thoroughly recommend it and it is worth splashing out a little on it for a special night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucullus also viewed

 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Lucullus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing