We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giaxa

Giaxa
Ranked #15 of 133 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hvar Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My family and I have been Hvar for a week and this was the best meal we've had the whole trip. Service was great, excellent recommendations. The food was delicious, and the best fish we've had. Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marinapiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    208
    69
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvar Island, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great potential if you sit in the right place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Food was good (as you would expect for a restaurant in this price range) but best to arrive early or make a reservation to get a good table. Indoor seating is unromantic and noisy and most of the rustic charm has been lost through renovations. Best to get a table in the laneway or seek another venue. If youre not amongst giaxa's premium tables there are much better options in hvar for the price, unfortunately we found out the hard way! Plan ahead and enjoy..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adventure_couple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner, food was extremly good and the home made bread with olive oil is extremely tasty. A romantic restaurant with outstanding food quality. Best choice on Hvar!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carinarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Giaxa - first came 2 years ago when on holiday in Hvar. Both visits have been fantastic - amazing food and brilliant/professional service. Would recommend to anyone. Excellent value. I had the fillet steak (rare) - it just melted in the mouth! We will be back this holiday!

Helpful?
1 Thank Harrietsills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just delicious but book ahead to get a table in the gorgeous setting outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Really loved this place! My husband and I have been travelling around Europe for a number of weeks now and were really impressed by Giaxa. Standouts were the scampi pasta and the seafood stew. The outside tables were set in a gorgeous narrow street with lovely soft lighting - it was so perfect. After dinner, head to the wine bar Tri Prsuta next door. Absolutely worth a visit in a Hvar.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Ks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giaxa also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Giaxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing