We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful meal in Hvar”
Review of Restaurant Vartal

Restaurant Vartal
Ranked #34 of 145 Restaurants in Hvar
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Another wonderful meal in Hvar”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was one of the four of the restaurants we visited whilst in Hvar. What a really nice place it is. We had the meat platter and was cooked to perfection. With a few drinks each as well the proce was very reasonable for the quality of food that we were served. Wonderful location right by the sea and great level of service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisgriff6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    92
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let down by not understanding customers.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We asked for tap water with our meal, it is perfectly drinkable here. The waiter looked sorry but said she is not allowed to provide it as the owner only sells bottled water. This is ecologically and economically unfriendly. The food was good and reasonably priced. My advice - ask for tap water as you enter and leave if the owner doesn't have a change of heart!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Value for money !”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in Hvar for one weekend and ended up eating here 3 times .. The cheataubriand was faboulous and different ☺ lots of food for a reasonable price ! If i come back i would go here for sure

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really nice restaurant, friendly staff, mediterrian atmosphere. We ordered the meal plate for two persons with my girlfriend and it has various delicious meats including beef steak. The wine of the house is also a perfect choice. Good price, good meat, good wine. We recommend it to everyone visting Hvar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row after walking past it on our first night, it gets busy so book a table.
The menu has lots of choice and the price is very reasonable for the portion size.
The quality of the food is excellent.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
You must eat here when staying in Hvar Town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GennaBBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vartal also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Restaurant Vartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing