We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatest hostel in the world”
Review of Villa Skansi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Skansi
Ranked #5 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Villa Skansi was 10x better than expected. The facebook photos looked beautiful but definitely did not do it justice! The rooms were comfy and attractive with stunning views from the balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful providing a good night out and great local tips. They had a number of useful contacts which enabled cheap deals on activities such as boat hiring. The word hostel may be off putting but villa skansi is of hotel standard and i would recomend it to absolutely anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 599sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

As we arrived in the port of Hvar we were blown away by the sheer beauty of the historical town, a short walk past the stunning beach led us to Hostel Skansi, beautifully presented, stunning views over the ocean, we had arrived...

I cannot speak highly enough about the owners of the hostel, they went well above and beyond our expectations, fresh fruit and yoghurt in the morning and sangria in the evening, this is no standard hostel. The staff were friendly and shared our exceptional banter #banter.

Upon arrival we met the infamous "Tom & Tom', two genteel chaps from the Welsh Valleys called Tom and Tom, they assured they were on hand to assist us in having a good time, words I long to hear from any man/men plural! They ran a nightly bar crawl, the soon to be world renowned "Tom & Tom's Epic Soon to be Globally Renowned Bar Crawl", this delivered each and every night of our 10 day trip! They helped everyone in the hostel to get together each night and also made sure everyone was in good shape throughout the night. One night my friends Jack and Mick were taken severely ill, Tom and Tom ensured they were home and put to bed safely which was great.

To summarise it is fair to say we had an absolute BANGER and couldn't recommend this place more highly to all. Couples, big groups, small groups, individual travellers such as Gary from Leeds, mixed sex groups, old, young, people from as far a field as New Zealand, China, Honduras, everyone will have a good time, even if you are from North Korea, you'll have a good time.

I have had many friends and have met many people who have stayed in many many of the different places in Hvar and this by far goes down as the best, goes down with the greats such as Thierry Henry, Moses, Mother Theresa and Adam Smith (author of the Theory of Moral Sentiments 1759).

To friendship! To Hostel Skansi... God Speed! #10/10

Room Tip: The hostel type rooms are great if you are in a small group, or even solo. If you seek a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartTimeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Villa Skansi is the best hostel i have stayed in Croatia. All the rooms are very clean and beautiful, people working there are so helpful and nice. They have the best owners in the world,Julia and Matko. I highly recomend this place for all the people who want to meet other cool,easy going boys and girls from all over the world and have the best summer in their life. This is really THE place to be, if u book it you wont regret it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

As I entered the terraced area of Villa Skansi, with the sun beaming onto my face, the excitement in the air was palpable. Guests were outstretched on the cushioned sofas, hot, chocolate croissants were on the table, two extremely good looking men were sitting at the bar and directed me to the check in.

After being checked in by some wonderful and helpful girls, we were directed to our room. The facilities cannot be faulted. Clean, tidy, air conditioned and amazing WiFi.

We headed back to the terrace to get a drink and sample a croissant and were greeted by the extremely good looking men I mentioned before. Their names were Tom and Tom. They are in charge of the Villa Skansi pub crawl...

Just for staying at Villa Skansi you can join the crawl and head to the wonders of a bar called sidro, and I'd recommend having a caprioska, delicious! Then on to nautica, and then on to a club. Maybe Veneranda, or maybe to the island to Carpe Diem.

If you want to stay in a wonderful place, full of fantastic people, staffed with friendly and stunning girls and converse and party with two super hot men who will guide you in the nightlife of Hvar, then literally Carpe Diem and book this villa. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and will be back next year, to stay in a cool, air conditioned room (which you need in that heat) and join the bar crawl to end all bar crawls (yes it does rival Prague and beat it). It isn't just the island you will fall in love with, it is the people too, they will make your stay and the memories will stay with you for a lifetime.

Note that may sway you if you are torn between this and another villa. Tom has the voice of an angel, a combination of Fergie and Jesus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB62013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great hostel - friendly staff, clean rooms, good location.

Being part of a large group, close to 60, it's not the easiest of parties to deal with, but from word go all the staff at Villa Skansi were accommodating, friendly and willing to help out in any way possible. Little things like - welcome cocktails; offering to order in pizzas for us all after our long journey and organising boats for us all(definitely do this -it was our best day in Hvar) made a big difference. The terrace is great for sundowners and general chilling out.

"The Two Toms" handled our group with aplomb and were always going out of their way to make sure we were having the best time we could. They were great at getting everyone out each night, sorting out guestlists for clubs and jagerbombs, jagerbombs, jagerbombs. If you like a good time make sure you let them take you under their experienced wings.

I will definitely be back in Hvar again and would absolutely stay in Villa Skansi again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was traveling solo in this amazing country. I happened upon Skansi, and was delighted to arrive to such a warm and welcoming hostel. The Toms, were there to greet and make you feel at home, as well as take you out on a awesome pub crawl. These fellas will sure show you a good time!... Couldn't of been happier to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieCespedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

For sure, this is the best hostel in Hvar!
The atmosphere is incredible, rooms always clean, perfect localization and the staff are great.

If you are going to Hvar, don't miss this oportunity.
Pub Crawl all night with the best staff.......

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abalassiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Jagodna
Villa Jagodna
#2 of 169 in Hvar
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pansion Dela
Pansion Dela
#1 of 51 in Hvar
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Paladina
Villa Paladina
#17 of 169 in Hvar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Skansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Skansi

Address: Domovinskog rata 18, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: $12 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hostel Villa Skansi is the best and coolest hostel in Hvar. Famous about modern facilities, sea view rooms, cleanliness,the best staff and amazing pub crawls.Bunch of really cool people arrives daily in hostel Skansi and a good vibe you can sense throughout the hostel.Daily excursions with scooters or boats available at reception. Stay with us and have fun all day long!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Villa Skansi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Skansi Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing