We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Nice' but is this really number 1?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalmatino

Dalmatino
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Steak&Fish House DALMATINO comes as a result of a long-lasting family tradition, dedicated work and diligent friendly staff. DALMATINO is a place where young people, friends, families and the generations of locals meet including travelers who favor Hvar and Dalmatino so that they have also became locals, a part of the family.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“'Nice' but is this really number 1?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to this after all the reviews, but sorry guys was disappointed. Nothing spesh at all. Pleasant and that's about it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,053
    308
    79
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in Croatia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Having eaten in some of the best places in the world, including Michelin star restaurants, my boyfriend and I have high standards when it comes to judging quality of food and service. Dalmatino has easily been one of our favourite restaurant experiences - we enjoyed it so much that we went there 3 times in a week.

The tone is set from the minute you arrive. The waiters offer you a complementary shot along with St John's wort and explain that this is to relieve stress. They then continue to bring you complementary drinks throughout the rest of your visit, including one to relieve indigestion after dessert.

They are all incredibly knowledgeable about every aspect of the menu and make you feel valued as an individual, not just another customer. For example, we were unsure which wine to have with our meal so the waiter went and brought us three wines to taste before deciding.

Another waiter came over and told us that he liked the wine we had chosen and recommended a vineyard nearby that we may be interested in visiting. This highlights something that is unique about this restaurant - all the waiters interchange and are equally friendly and hospitable.

The quality of the food is excellent. We started with beef carpaccio which was one of the best we've ever had. The steaks were cooked to perfection, not many restaurants we went to in Croatia knew how to cook it medium rare - but this was one of them. We definitely recommend Granny's homemade cake for dessert!

Price-wise the restaurant is incredibly good value. It was cheaper than many places nearby and they offer a 10% discount for returning customers. When we returned they treated us like old friends and we were genuinly sad to leave on our last night.

Overall, you don't want to miss this restaurant on your visit to Hvar. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

What more can I say that hasn't already been said in other reviews..... believe the hype, this restaurant deserves to be #1!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abloke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Everything we ordered was super. Steak in truffle sauce and the black gnocchi with truffles was divine. First place in hvar where the deserts were so good too . The editors have extensive knowledge about the wine and menu - the best food I've eaten in a while and living in london , a food capital -that says a lot!

Helpful?
1 Thank Laiqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Make a Reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I went here just before the dinner rush to try to avoid the crowds. The staff was, it would seem, pretty busy, and it was a little difficult to get service. However, one of the wait staff offered a brandy aperitif before the meal came and a light port desert wine after the meal, which was a nice touch. I got the black gnocchi with the shrimp, and it was quite good. The servings of gnocchi might look small, but gnocchi is very filling, and I couldn't finish it all.

The atmosphere is nice, despite being kind of tucked away down an alley; the large awnings and wicker chairs give it a nice feel.

In short, I would recommend this place, especially for couples, but maybe make a reservation and come during regular dinner hours, rather than trying to come before to beat the rush; you'll get better service that way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalmatino also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Dalmatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing