We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Well Looked After!”
Review of Dalmatino

Dalmatino
Ranked #1 of 134 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Steak&Fish House DALMATINO comes as a result of a long-lasting family tradition, dedicated work and diligent friendly staff. DALMATINO is a place where young people, friends, families and the generations of locals meet including travelers who favor Hvar and Dalmatino so that they have also became locals, a part of the family.
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So Well Looked After!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Denis and I had been emailing a fair bit before we arrived as I had heard it was a super place to eat and I wanted to book a table for 5. Denise told me that they couldn't do that as tables outside were booked early, but you we're moved on. We turned up 8:30/9ish and Denis was there waiting. He recommended we have a drink in the next door bar, and then did his best to find us a space. He managed to find us a great table and we were looked after perfectly. The waiting staff were more than attentive, and I can personally recommend the Black Gnocchi and tigers milk to drink!
As a group of 5 we all ate and drink the most delicious food and drink , and would absolutely love to go back. Find it and sit down, you wont regret it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,127
    314
    81
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great meal! Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic servers!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had an excellent meal here! We were finally able to try the hard to come by Boskinac wine. The server had excellent suggestions and was knowledgeable about each of the dishes and their origins. We tried to Tuna, Octopus and Vegetarian carpaccio. All were good, but the Octopus was excellent and the vegetarian was actually amazing! (That is coming from a certified meat eater). The only small disappointment was the Gnocchi. After having just travelled Italy and having it many times; we found it to be a bit dense and in large pieces but still flavourful.

One other word of advice, they do not take reservations after 700, only a waiting list. The waiting list is already a couple hours long by 730 so book an early reservation if you can, or get your name on the list ASAP.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bshubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth booking”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This place is in demand for a reason. Best service we have had by a mile and great value for what we ate. Happy to do half portions for the kids who everything. Wine was fab and the waiter knew his stuff. The gnocchi was amassing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Hvar”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful food, fantastic service and great value for money. A highlight of our trip to Hvar.

I would recommend the traditional Dalmatian gnocchi with beef. It was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMurrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service, incredible value for money”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from lunch at Dalmatino's which was excellent. Located a street back from the harbour in Hvar we ate in the sheltered ally outside the restaurant itself. The waiters were very attentive and brought us some local brandy and some dried fruit to enjoy while we looked through the menu. The menu choice is extensive with a wide choice of meat, fish and pasta dishes as well as several house specialities. I opted for the fish soup to start followed by the chicken schnitzel 'Zagreb' style while my girlfriend went for the steak braised in red wine with gnocchi. Both were delicious. While we waited for our food to be brought out we were also given a sample of the homemade garlic bread. All the food was delicious. When we came to pay we were also both given a glass of red dessert wine with the compliments of the house. Our meal for two came to 265KN (roughly £30). In summary: excellent service and food. Incredible value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalmatino also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Dalmatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing