We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change a thing..”
Review of Dalmatino

Dalmatino
Ranked #1 of 139 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Steak&Fish House DALMATINO comes as a result of a long-lasting family tradition, dedicated work and diligent friendly staff. DALMATINO is a place where young people, friends, families and the generations of locals meet including travelers who favor Hvar and Dalmatino so that they have also became locals, a part of the family.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wouldn't change a thing..”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Absolutely brilliant. We arrived and were promptly seated by a friendly waiter and offered water while we chose drinks. We were then able to taste the wines, even the cheap (c.£1.50 a glass) stuff before ordering. The waiter then offered us excellent advice on the starters, we all ended up ordering something different to what we'd planned as his advice was so good. The advice turned out to be spot on and out starters were finished bar licking the plates themselves. The same advice was offered for the mains and again we were not disappointed with their recommendations. Amongst all this were free drinks and exquisite service!!! Could've stayed their all evening, couldn't ask for any more. If you visit Hvar and don't go here, you're an idiot!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobrainsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,226
    324
    84
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“perfect for our anniversary, and any time”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our Croatian VBT biking guide did not mention Dalmatino until I said it was well rated on T A. She then said it is very and good and reasonable in price. I certainly agree with this. The most memorable was the waiter who could not have been more real and friendly. He offered special additions to the dinner such as a before dinner, brandy, carob, after dinner brandy, and when he knew it was our anniversary, he brought out champagne gratis. Lastly, next to our table was a long row of herbs; the chef suddenly appeared and picked some fresh mint.
excellent restaurant and good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Steak was superb and wine was excellent. Great service and a lovely location just behind the main stretch of bars by the harbour. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Hvar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent both in serving fish and meat dishes. Filet Mignon Hvar style as good as last year :)”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Continues to have probably the best service in the country. Based on my visit last year gave a 10% discount to our whole group of 8. Octopus carpaccio and cheese cake impressed everyone. Worth coming back :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aadu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good food, decent value, great service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The reviews are right - this is a really nice restaurant in Hvar. The service is really good, our waiter really knew the menu inside out and the wine list too, and offerred samples of the wine to help us choose. Steak was cooked to perfection

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalmatino also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Dalmatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing