We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the longest day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luka's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luka's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“the longest day”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

after travelling for over 6 months 32 countries and countless hostels Lucas place was easily in the top five hostels. he is such a warm lovely bloke who loves running a hostel. he met us when the boat came in and took us up to his hostel, on arrival he gave all of us a cold beer and offered to make us dinner that night. as i said great bloke. Hvar is a great party place and we did our fair share of sunrise walk homes. beach recovery sessions before another sleepless night.
Havr like Cinque Terre was an absolute gem and a huge highlight to my European trip and one of few places that i would truly love to go back to and Luca had a part to play in that.
DO IT.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmasterfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    27
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
44
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My friends and I were touring Europe and decided to stop in Hvar for a few nights. We had no plans on where to stay but Luka was at the port offering his accomodations and his warm smile and kind personality definately made him stand out from the others who were offering accomodation.

We had no pre-conceived notions of what to expect but we were pleasently surprised. Luka is an amazing host. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. He has an area where he let us do our laundry and plenty of room to hang our clothes to dry in the Croatian sun!

He has a gorgeous view of the water from his front porch and that is where we found ourselves many a night. Eventually, most of the other people staying at the lodge would join us at the table and Luka would bring out wine and food and we would end up having a wonderful sunset party and meeting many different friends from around the world. Luka's daughter even brought out her music so that we could listen to it!

The location is ideal. Very close to a smaller beach and walking distance to the town and also to the larger beaches. Luka will take you anywhere you need to go and will give you great tips on the fun things to do.

The room was very quiet at night which also made it a wonderfully peaceful place. Close enough to walk to the shops/restaurants/beaches but far enough to enjoy peaceful nights. W

We loved it so much that we went to the port with Luka to recruit more people to stay there when he had free rooms. And the price?!?! It can't be beat!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingseagull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My partner and i have just returned from a 5 night stay at luka's lodge and have never written a review before but were so happy with our stay at this hostel we thought it deserved a mention! the rooms are very clean and comfortable and we felt safe to leave our belongings there. the owner Luka was very helpful in guiding us round the town and picking guests up from various places, he also made sure we had a room to stay in even when we thought it was fully booked! overall i would definitely recommend this hostel, whether your with a partner or friends, the atmosphere for travellers was great and the owner couldnt have been more welcoming!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Luka’s lodge made me want to move to Croatia and work for Luka. Besides the fact that the location is perfect and the hostel itself is clean and comfortable, Luka is not your average hostel owner. While staying in his hostel, he makes sure you are enjoying your stay to the fullest. His entertainment suggestions always became the highlights of our trip. Luka treated us like royalty by cooking us a home-cooked Croatian dinner – probably one of the best meals I have ever had. He will make you feel warm and comfortable from the beginning and will be sure to fulfill your expectations. If I could go back and work for the man the rest of my life, I would. I highly recommend this hostel and would think someone a fool to choose any other place to stay other than Luka’s Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andgepizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge, la
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

If Hvar is paradise (and it's pretty close), the Luka Viskovic is the god of hospitality. No request is too large or small. He goes out of his way to ensure that you have a great time at his hostel/lodge/apartments and that includes jumping into his car and taking you up to the fort on top of the mountain or to a nearby town. He not only cooked fresh sardines for us on his outdoor grill, he showed us how to eat them easily. He's also good at recommending restaurants and rooftop lounges with fabulous food and views. And his homemade wine is better than most of the stuff I pay for dearly in the states. Go to Hvar. Forget the impersonal hotels. Find Luka. Find a friend for life. You won't be sorry.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank jrperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Luka's Lodge is situated very nicely just a short walking distance from the downtown harbour area. Ask Luka to arrange barbeque and try his home-made wine!. Luka is very nice guy who is passionate for his job and is more than willing to help You if You need some advice or just want to talk nearly about anything.

Luka's Lodge is only about 30 meters from the more known green lizard hostel(in Lonely Planet). Luka's is the choice that I was very lucky to find! I bet the price won't turn You away either! Seriously recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Repe_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Not enough words to describe this host and his wonderful house. A definite MUST. Read the review from the cry baby from Canada ... all i can think it must have been "that time of the month" for him, or he "did not get any" on this trip. Great place, incredible hospitality You decide and see with whom you agree: Me, or the cry baby.

Johan Yssel
Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleuropedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.6 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luka's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luka's Lodge

Property: Luka's Lodge
Address: Ulica Shime Buzolic Tome 75, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Luka's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing