We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel”
Review of Luka's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luka's Lodge
Ranked #8 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hostel”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Thanks to Maria for making my stay at Luka's lodge very enjoyable!! and the home made cherry brandy was delicious :) Really nice hostel with comfy beds and air-con. Am very pleased I changed hostel to this one. STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Definitely book anywhere in this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiCouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
46
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I booked in for Luka's prior to my solo trip to Croatia. I did so on the back of some great reviews about Luka himself, the nice atmosphere around the place, the fact that it stated it to be solo traveller friendly and pretty communal, and also the location. Well, it was all of these things and more!
I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with a shared bathroom, and it was both clean and comfortable, and everyone had their own locker for personal belongings or whatever. I got to meet some great great people during my 3 night stay here too, some new lifetime mates, and a big group of us would go out each evening from the hostel into Hvar Town for drinks! Now onto Luka.. well i'd heard great things beforehand and it all proved true. When i arrived off the ferry from Split he came and picked myself and two Australian people i met on the ferry and took us to the hostel, and throughout the stay he was so helpful in giving my any info i wanted, as well as giving me key info about ferries onto my next port of call - Bol. Luka even took us on an island tour of Hvar one of the days and myself, two Dutch friends and an American guy took advantage of this!
Hvar itself is a beautiful place, a real gem of an island. My top tips would be to take in some of the beaches, go to Hula Hula bar and watch the sun set - so chilled out, take a water taxi to one of the Pakleni islands and enjoy the tranquility and some swimming there, and if you're feeling pretty hyperactive and in need of a good party then pay a visit to Stipanska bay - water taxi's run from just outside Carpe Diem bar on the promenade all through the summer season, and quite frankly, this place is unreal, paradise and craziness all rolled into one! also take a walk up to the old Fortress if you fancy immersing yourself in the culture, not to mention some incredible photo opportunities and views from near the top! Luka's is a good 10 minute walk into the centre, which is perfect if you don't want to be smack bang in the middle of the hustle and bustle that the summer months can create!
I enjoy myself here that much, that i'm returning to Croatia just next month with a friend that i raved to about it, and i'm staying at Luka's again but this time for an extra night. I totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here in june 2013 for 2 nights, in a private room with private bathroom. We got off the ferrry and found one of the hosts from lukas lodge standing there which was very handy as she showed us where the hostel was located, took about 10 minutes to get the hostel. We checked in later that day as we arrived very early. Our room was very spacious!! we had 2 single beds, a couch, 2 large cuboards, kitchenette with table, the bathroom was huge and had a washing machine included. All clean and great in the room, no wifi in our location though, so we crossed the road each day to use the wifi when needed. All the hostel hosts were always very friendly. Took about 10-15minutes to get into the main part of town in hvar, is located close to beaches etc. We would recommend this hostel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was the best hostel I've stayed at in a while!! We spent the last of 5 nights in Hvar at Luka's, and it was a dream. Not only was he unbelievably accommodating and welcoming, he grilled us an entire barbecue dinner as a welcome to his lodge and to Hvar. The food was delicious, and the company was wonderful. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amk375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Luka's Lodge for just a night because we were in Hvar for 5 nights but could only stay at the rented villa for 4 of the nights- it worked out perfectly though as we enjoyed this hostel as much as we enjoyed our beachfront villa! Luka could not have been warmer or more accommodating- he went absolutely out of his way to ensure we had the best stay possible. He personally drove us to a beautiful secluded beach down the road and that night cooked us up a scrumptious feast of catch-of-the-day whole fish, his own olive oil and wine, bread and salad. Lovely rooms with all the necessities. Fun location in the midst of a residential area for an authentic Hvar experience- but still with great views of the town below and gorgeous water!
Would come again in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything Luka!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kflanagan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place to stay. They were easy to work with and even picked us up at our ferry. Comfortable and clean rooms with plenty of outdoor space to relax, cook and enjoy the weather. People to hang with if you want - easy to wander to your room if you didn't.

Luka was a great host with Maria and Geoff. Shared some local food, drinks and advice.

I've referee many and will return when I'm on Hvar again.

Room Tip: Lots of options. Some rooms have more space than others. Just ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopaloop72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangandaran, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If your young and want a booze up then Lukas lodge is the place to stay. Its located in a residential neighbourhood on the hill in hvar and I feel sorry for the neighbours who have to listen to the pub like atmosphere and loud drinking games every night.

In low season they will take 150 kuna a night for your own room. This is the average price for any room in hvar and you find a similar option in a better location.

Room Tip: if you want to be away from the noise ask for a room across the road from lukas party central
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.6 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luka's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luka's Lodge

Property: Luka's Lodge
Address: Ulica Shime Buzolic Tome 75, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Luka's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing