We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Villa Rosmarinus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosmarinus
Ranked #24 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed three days and loved every minute of it. Our apartment was located on the top and we had a great view from our private porch. Our hosts, Damir and his wife couldn't have been more helpful with restaurant advice, directions, and they prepared a fantastic breakfast for us each morning served at our dining room table.

This is a wonderful place to have a quiet escape from the other parts of Hvar which are quite noisy (especially in August). It is a walk to the town and you need to be able to climb stairs to go back and forth from the town and the beach. In addition, if you have a car, the mountain roads are narrow with sharp turns. Also, be prepared for rocky beaches, but our stay at Villa Rosmarinus was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Villa Rosmarinus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

I can’t quite identify exactly what it is that made this apartment our favourite place on our recent 2 month long honeymoon in Europe.

It definitely has something to do with the balcony we spend many hours on, drinking beer/wine and admiring the views to the Pakleni islands and the small boats going past. We stayed in Apartment Butterfly and even though there were other rooms on the property, above this apartment and below, you hardly noticed the other guests. The room was massive, the bathroom equally as big.

It also has something to do with our great host Damir who was so helpful in recommending places to eat (ask him for directions to Lungo Mare – understated brilliance) and things to do – but was never intrusive – we only really saw him as we left in the mornings.

There is kitchen facilities which made it easy to cook our own breakfasts and snacks which was handy. It was away from the town but such a nice walk you could never complain – in fact the walk to and from the town was one of the highlights and felt safe even late at night.

Overall we absolutely loved our stay at Villa Rosmarinus and hope to return one day with our family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

After travelling for a good couple of hours it was an absolute delight to finally arrive at Villa Rosmarinus. The pictures from the web page did not lie, it was even better in real-life! All in all, a great place for relaxation and also as a base for exploring the beauiful Island of Hvar.

Damir and his wife (the owners) helped our stay become a very pleasant one, and the atmosphere was very genuine and relaxing.

We will definitely come back to Hvar and we will come back to Villa Rosmarinus!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lissi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Damir was the perfect host - always available and very helpful. The apartment was large, very clean, well supplied and had the most dramatic views of the islands. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in the Butterfly apartment for 7 days in July 2011 and it was wonderful. Damir is an excellent host and gave us a lovely welcome. This is a perfect place for people wanting to relax and take it easy - it is not suitable for those looking for lively night-life or wild times! Do Damir and yourselves a favour and stay elsewhere please!

The apartment is very spacious and feels like a home from home with a lovely big bathroom, lounge, bedroom and balcony. You have your own private front door and refrigerator as well. The place was very clean and we had everything we needed. There is also a communal kitchen if you fancy doing a bit of cooking yourselves which is fully equipped.

We were left undisturbed during our stay but Damir was always around when we needed him. He helped us rent a boat and recommended some great restaurants and beaches that made our holiday very special.

The whole villa is set in lovely fragrant gardens. As others have noted there is a walk to/from Hvar town - you can either walk along the waterfront (winding and pretty) or along the roads (more direct). The walk is no problem if you enjoy regular walks anyway and is a chance to enjoy the island even more.

I cannot recommend this place enough - just make sure you are ready to relax and take things as they come.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanOnTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in Apartment Rock for 4 nights in June and absolutely loved it. The apartment is huge, with a private outdoor patio area and kitchen which is very secluded. The views from balcony are fantastic. The walk into town along the coastal path is lovely, with a few bars to stop off at along the way. Damir was a great host and made us feel very welcome - his restaurant recommendations were fantastic! I do not have a bad word to say and would love to go back sometime.

Room Tip: For complete privacy stay at Apartment Rock which is at the top of the building and very secluded.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and we're drawn to it by the great reviews on TA. To start with the positives, the room has great views (but then most of the hotels, villas along the street will have the same views). Now the negatives, firstly I'm not sure if we caught Damir on a bad 3 days but he was not very helpful during our stay. To start during the 3 days our room was not cleaned, the sheets we're changed and we weren't offered any fresh towels. When we asked we were given an ear bashing and told that service was not included - but this was not mentioned on the website. Also note the price of the accommodation on the website does not include tax. The hospitality we read about was not there which was disappointing...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GelatoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartmani Viskovic Marinka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosmarinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosmarinus

Address: Ulica Ivana Bozhitkovica 30, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: $2,277 - $2,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean style luxury villa located 15 minutes walking time from the heart of the city Hvar. The villa is suitable for maximum 14 people and is perfect for families or group of friends looking for a complete tranquility and privacy. The newly built large-heated-infinity swimming pool offers an amazing panoramic sea view. The guests can relax on the three pure-nature terraces with sun beds, chairs and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Rosmarinus Hotel Hvar
Rosmarinus Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing