We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Bay Residence
Ranked #6 of 50 Hvar B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about how awesome this place was! It has an amazing view overlooking Hvar town from the top of a hill and is a comfortable walking distance from all the area restaurants. Alessandro was incredibly helpful throughout our stay. He drove us to the apartment when we arrived and made sure we were set with everything we needed. He truly went above and beyond for our group and we are very appreciative. Alessandro set us up with scooters and boats for rent and made himself available for any questions. I would highly recommend staying here for a trip to Hvar and I know that if I return I hope to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Walk up the hill from town (5mins) and an amazing apartment and view await! The walk via the Franciscan Monestery is easier and more sheltered. Apartment 6 has brilliant views from both balconies and the apartment is large and well equipped! This was by far the bet standard and value apartment of any we stayed in during our multiple island croatian holiday. Alessandro is a great host, on hand to help with anything you need during your stay, day trips, scooter hire, taxi transfers etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We loved it. Stayed at Sweet Bay for one week in August, The owner welcomed us like family and it continued throughout our stay. Our apartment was lovely. The view magnificent, what else can I say. Great location, It was in a quiet area up on the hill away from the craziness. but just a 10 minute walk to town center, which we liked; if we decided to go out sightseeing then we could come back to quiet and enjoy the beautiful sunset from our balcony.The last one which I can say is, thank you Alessandro for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at Sweetbay for 6 nights at the end of August and we could not have asked for a better location or experience.
The reason i chose this villa was because of the picturesque views that were shown in the photos of the villa, what you see in the photos is what you get, the views of the Pakleni islands from the large balcony are amazing.The aparment was beautiful, beds were comfy and plenty of space for 4 people. It had an excellent free Wi-fi ,air-conditioning and satellite TV. The villa is only a 10 min walk into the center of Hvar, or 2-3 minute taxi ride.
Alessandro the owner and the staff were lovely and extremely helpful with directions things to do and organised a transfer for us back to Split Airport when we were leaving.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ily68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Sweet Bay Residence is just off the main road going towards Milna. We stayed in Apartment 4. It was very spacious, quiet, modern and clean. It had excellent air-conditioning, beautiful views towards the Pakleni Islands from the large balcony, comfortable beds, all mod cons. Alessandro, the owner, was extremely pleasant and helpful - he was constantly available for any questions and helped us to organise taxis and day trips. Initially we picked our accomodation based on proximity to Hvar Town, but this turned out to be a big mistake for various reasons and so we relocated to Sweet Bay Residence which is a 15 min walk or 3 minute taxi ride (costing 60kn) away from the main town of Hvar. Although the walk is not for unfit people, the taxis are not expensive so I would highly recommend Sweet Bay Residence since it's location is quiet and has wonderful views all around Hvar. It is great value for money. Outside the apartment there is a barbeque and outdoor oven for the use of guests. Everything was in excellent condition.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Hvar is beautiful place, although i was a little surprised to find that prices were generally as expensive as London.. especially if you go out at night to the local bars and clubs, the dirnks can be hideouslly expensive)

with the above in mind, this place is a gem. although it is about a 15min walk uphill from hvar old town, it is well away from any noise at night and the price is fantastic considering the stunning views, cleanliness and quality of the place in general.

we stayed in a 4 bed appartment, but as there were only 2 of us, Alessandro (who was very helful and friendly throughout our stay) was willing to give us a discount at 80 euro per night between us - comparing to the quality and prices of other appartmets, this was a fantstic deal (if you stay in a hotel, you will be paying alot more per night).
constant hot water, aircon, TV (italian for 99% of the channels), oven/grill and hob with BBQ outside, large balcony with table and chairs and small balcony, fantastic views over the town and neighbouring islands.

I literally dont have a bad word to say about the place, and would recommend it to anyone - the only downside would be that it is a 15 walk away from town, but that was great for us when having a night or 2 in during our stay.

ah, one extra point - the double bed was two singles pushed together, with a couple of inches gap in the middle - but that just meant that we shared a single instead :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereNext82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.8 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Bay Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Bay Residence

Property: Sweet Bay Residence
Address: Ulica Brace Bozhitkovic 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only steps from the centre of Hvar , Sweet bay residence is recommended for those who want to spend relaxing holidays in a comfortable, modern and accessorized self-catering apartment.Every accomodation is provided with a big terrace with a wonderful view on the bay and on Pakleni Islands. A unique chance to enjoy your stay in the most beautiful and lively Croatian island.Sweet Bay residence offers two kind of facilities:three-roomed flats for 6 persons and two-roomed flats for 4 persons. Every flat is equipped with air conditioning, satellite tv, hydromassage shower, washmachine, security locks and a fridge, oven, dishwasher provided kitchen. Il residence Sweet Bay, a pochi minuti a piedi dal centro di Hvar, è la soluzione ideale per chi vuole trascorrere le vacanze nella tranquillità e nella comodità di un appartamento moderno e completo di ogni comfort.La sua particolare posizione permette di godere, dalle ampie terrazze di tutti i suoi alloggi, di una splendida vista della baia e delle isole Pakleni. Un'occasione unica per vivere al meglio il vostro soggiorno nell'isola più caratteristica e vitale della Croazia.Il residence Sweet Bay offre due differenti tipologie di appartamenti : trilocali per 6 persone e bilocali per 4 persone. Tutti gli alloggi sono forniti di: aria condizionata, TV satellitare, doccia idromassaggio, lavatrice, cassetta di sicurezza, cucina completa di frigorifero, forno e lavastoviglie.I clienti avranno inoltre a disposizione un posto auto riservato e la possibilità di utilizzare il barbeque ed il forno presenti nel giardino del residence. Pulizia, cambio asciugamani e lenzuola, settimanale.Customers will also have a reserved parking and will be able to use barbeque and oven facilities which are located in the residence garden. Weekly cleaning included. Blankets and towels provided weekly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing