We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food great location very attentive staff”
Review of Konoba Menego

Konoba Menego
Ranked #9 of 135 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: No reservations.
San Leandro CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful food great location very attentive staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

After enjoying a terrific meal the first night we arrived in Hvar, we came back for seconds the next night. Great food with personal service from the owner and his staff. I liked the fact that the chef came out to see if we were happy with our meals. Wine list is good with lots of Dalmatian wines represented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank byoung3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    172
    40
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique setting and a warm welcome”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, unique setting and great service. The lady who greeted us on the door really looked after us and made us feel so welcome. The food was tasty
and served quickly. Try the cheese with honey for dessert.. delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_flor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Croatian cuisine and service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We are as a group of five and decided to go along with the waiters suggestion that he makes up a platter of their best dishes. He asked if we preferred meat or fish and then the rest was up to him. When the food came boy oh boy was it good, mouthwatering is an understatement. We all walked away with a smile on our face and will definitely be back. Thank you to all the Konoba Menego staff you are brilliant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TihanaNevjestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best place in Hvar for foodies!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Menego is a must each time we visit Hvar, so after writing a review two years ago, I felt that it was time to share our experience with fellow "Tripadvisers" again.
If you are looking for exceptional authentic Hvar food, based on local seasonal ingredients, Menego is the place! But if you are looking for grilled fish with french fries, you should eat somewhere else :) Menego serves tapas-like small dishes that are suitable for sharing, so the best way to order is to have a chat with the staff and let them recommend some dishes based on your preferences. Each dish has a story of its own and real foodies will appreciate that all ingredients are from selected local farmers (ask waiters for details). It must be mentioned that the atmosphere in Menego is unique - Each guest is treated as a guest of the family and is given warm and hearty treatment. All in all - When you experience Menego once, you'll be coming again.
Tip: Ask a waiter for skuta cheese with honey as dessert, the legend says that your "love-life" will improve from this :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ike1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good real Croatian food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Small restaurant a tiny bit out of the main maze of the narrow streets of old Hvar town, but what a find! It's quite small, decor is a bit quirky but it all adds to the character. The food is really really good, and seemed very authentic and 'real'. The waitress/owner comes out and explained the menu to us, what everything was and what would go well together. We ended up with a meat platter, stuffed peppers (delicious) and several other things that I won't even try to pronounce but every last bit was delicious. Probably ended up with a bit too much food but it all got finished, that's how good it was!
She is very friendly and helped to make the experience better. The homemade wine and olive oil were both delicious. Plus it was excellent value. Too many of the other places in Hvar town are all the same, impersonal pizza restaurants but this seems the real deal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Menego also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Konoba Menego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing