We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Croatian food”
Review of Konoba Menego

Konoba Menego
Ranked #9 of 135 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: No reservations.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Authentic Croatian food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

While in Hvar, we were very keen to eat authentic Croatian food. As we were climbing up to the fortress, we came across Kanoba Menego, and hence on our way back we decided to try it. We were very happy as the food was authentic and very tasty. The dish (I think it was the sea food platter) had shark, artichokes, and salmon. The fish fillet was amongst the best we have eaten and the accompanying berries were delicious. I highly recommend the restaurant for authentic local food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    172
    40
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique spot”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Service and people were very friendly! The menu is very limited for entrees, and since we didn't care for some of the ingredients in the daily special, we could choose from the meat dish and two others. The "mystery meat" with gnocchi arrived and it was quite interesting! The gnocchi was great and we loved the wine from the family's winery. The food also came out very quickly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank unc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you sre looking for something more than the usual pizza and pasta this is the perfect place. My favourtie places to eat are those that have a small menu of dishes that they do perfectly and Konobo Menego does just that. We chose the fish sharing platter, a dish of fried sea bass with vegetables, bread stuffed with anchovies and the drunken figs for dessert. Everything was simple and very tasty. In addition the staff are very welcoming and clearly passionate about their food. Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berniek1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious food and great waitstaff”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was delicious! My friends and I went here for dinner one night while we were in Hvar. The restaurant has tapas style offerings - so we decided to get a bunch of things to share amongst us. The waiter was very friendly and offered to select some dishes on our behalf based on our likes/dislikes. When the food arrived, we got a wide variety of food and in just the right amounts. Most of our party agreed that this was the best food we had in Croatia, some of which included an artichoke dish and the classic Dalmatian beef stew. It was a great meal in a cozy/comfortable atmosphere. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNell1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were seated downstairs in a stone cellar-type room with dried meat hanging from the ceiling and other traditional decorating items - very cool. The other seating areas looked very interesting as well.

The staff were great and helpful throughout. This is definitely not a typical "touristy" restaurant but more of a cool, laid-back, traditional-food served in tapas style oriented type of place.

We ordered the marinated fish, fish fillet, the chef's secret (gnocchi with artichoke and creamy sauce) and grilled vegetables. The house red wine and olive oil were both very tasty. Definitely try the drunken figs - drenched in homemade walnut liqueur. With several dishes and drinks, for two people it came to about 450 kn which we thought to be reasonable for Hvar and the quantity and quality of our order.

Would definitely recommend this place for a different take on traditional dalmatian food and for the great service and setting.

Tip: bring enough cash because they do not take payment cards debit or credit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Menego also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Konoba Menego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing