We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice but out of the way”
Review of Apartments Komazin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartments Komazin
Ranked #1 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel rooms were okay and very spacious. We stayed in the room with the pink wall. Not much of a view as I was hoping from seeing other reviews. Was disappointed that other posters mentioned strudels, but we weren't offered any though.

If arriving by car...We arrived by car - place to park was available for us. Pretty okay to locate the street it was on, but it's a bit further up the hill. I'd printed off photos and maps for the approximate place, and we also had a satnav, but some streets are pretty sketchy on it. Some online maps put the hotel in the wrong area of Hvar town, so make sure you choose the correct location, which is on the south area of the town, and apartments are located just up the hill on the street that runs past the playing fields.

Walking to town centre is about 15 minutes, part of that around the harbour area.

We stayed two nights...ferry from Drevnik, then drive and sight-seeing on way across island. Got the earliest ferry to Split in the morning from StariGrad.

Here's some blog entries and photographs of what we got up to in Hvar:
http://jenikya.com/blog/2012/07/day-4-hvar-island.html
http://jenikya.com/blog/2012/08/day-5-exploring-hvar-and-st-pr.html

Room Tip: I'd have preferred a different room, looking at the images on the website. The room I was in was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited Hvar on July 28, 2012 and it was extremely hot climate for me. But in the midddle of the heat, this apartment was a cool breeze. With a huge room and an airy balcony, it was more than happy to stay inside during whole day. Clean place and well maintained. A shared living room and kitchen was a boon. We could whip up morning coffee and some fresh snacks right there. When you want to get out partying in the evening, it is just walkable. And trust me the walk was another beautiful part. It is along the coastline and takes you directly into the city center. Good restaurants and great party club right there, within 10 mints walk.
And most wonderful part was the apartment owner Andro. Extremely hospitable guy who checked on us via SMS if by what time will we reach his place. Then he was up till we reached, exchanging SMSs. He explained all nitty gritties of the place to us, on a map. he was kind enough to offer freshly baked appel strudel to us one morning. I would highly recommend the place for Andro and his well maintained neat apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Fantastic as most of the other reviews have said. Andro picked us up near the port and returned us when leaving. He gave us good recommendations on places to eat and visit. He even helped us obtain our catamaran tickets, a tricky game as you can't book other than by buying early the day before. We stayed I believed in Sunce for 8 days. It was everything we expected. If I could make one small suggestion. A guide to the air conditioning settings might be useful. Excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayard125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family stayed at Maslina, Komazin Apartments for 4 nights. The apartment has two very spacious bedrooms and balconies. We enjoyed watching the sunset with a glass of wine at the balcony. The apartment had everything that we needed. It was about 15 mins walk along the seaside to the Hvar Town but we preferred to be away from the Hvar Town because it was much quieter at night. Andro provided 5 star service and he was a great host. He was an excellent communicator and gave prompt replies on emails and SMS. He picked up us from Stari Grad ferry on time. We were offered cold beer when we check in. Andro gave us excellent recommendations on what to do and where to eat in Hvar. He purchased ferry tickets at the town for us and dropped us off for the ferry in the early morning. Andro's mum and sister provided free laundry service for us, another service exceed our expectation. We really enjoyed our stay at Hvar. The excellent personalised service provided by Andro and his family made a big difference. We would highly recommend Apartments Komazin to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirra1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Recently my wife and I stayed at the Komazin Apartments for 4 nights in March after spending a month on the go through Europe. The reason we chose to stay was purely based on the "trip advisor" reviews recieved for the Komazin Apartments we read prior to booking. Andro and his family surpassed our expectattions. We felt completely at home and loved everything we experienced on the island recommended by Andro, he is certainly well known in Hvar. I guess the ultimate compliment is that Andro is welcome in our house anytime he visits the Sunshine Coast of Australia.
Rob and Debbie

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Big Thank you to Andro and his family for making our 4 nights in Hvar amazing. Andro went the extra mile by picking us up and dropping us off at the ferry port and even going early to secure our ferry tickets the morning before. Andro gave excellent recommendations on what to do and where to eat in Hvar.
We stayed in apartment MORE, which is on the top floor with a large balcony you can sit on with a beautiful sea view. We highly recommend this apartment for the views and tranquility. It is an easy 10 minute walk to the center of town, so please don't be put off by location at all!! We highly recommend this apartment!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at Apartment Komazin in June and was pleasantly surprised. Andro is a "Gem". He couldnt do enough to make our stay memorable. We stayed in Apartment Lavandar on the top floor. Pretty spacious and clean, with a nice balcony overlooking Hvar bay and surrounding areas. Great for breakfast and a nice wine in the evening. Also good for drying clothes.
Andro picked us up from the ferry and spent a lot of time settling us in and telling us how to get around and the sights of Hvar. His Restaurant recommendations were spot on and the car hire place didnt even ask for a deposit when we told them where we were staying.

HVAR town is a good 15 minute walk from the Apartment, lovely during the day, but a bit far when you are coming home from dinner late in the evening. The taxis try to rip you off for this short ride back to the Apartment in the night. I did suggest to Andro to provide a pickup service for his guests in the evening for a fixed fee, which I think would be great.

Hvar is a wonderful destination and we loved our stay at Komazin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudiB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.7 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Komazin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Komazin

Address: Nikice Kolumbica 2, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: $57 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Komazin 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments KOMAZIN are situated in a quiet location away from the city noise and nightlife parties but close to some of the nicest beaches in town and sightseeing activities. Distance from the historical center and the main port is 900 meters walk along the beautiful coast line. Scuba diving center, taxi boats for the Pakleni islands, sport facilities,boat and car rental agencies are close by. Two supermarkets are just few steps away. In our house we offer various new renovated and spacious apartments and rooms. -private rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 persons with private bedroom,private bathroom and balcony.Also these two rooms are sharing large kitchen with living room in between. -private sea view apartments with one bedroom,large in size(50m2)also with kitchen and living-room, bathroom and beautiful sea view balconies. -private sea view apartments with two bedrooms,two bathrooms,kitchen with dinning area and nice large sea view balconies. All apartments are fully equipped providing you kitchen kettle,towels,hairdryers toiletress ,LCD TV with satellite channels,Air-conditioning,heating also there is free parking in front of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments Komazin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Komazin Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing