We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Villa Town Gate

Villa Town Gate
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Town Gate
Ranked #100 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Reviewed August 22, 2010

A great little hotel in an ideal location for Hvar Town. Close to main square , the the little port to catch ferries to other islands and to restaurants, shops ans places to drink.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihskaelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

We booked two rooms here with another couple at the last minute based on the price (70 euro standard double, 130 euro superior double) and location, as we were only spending one night in Hvar and leaving on the 6:30am ferry the next morning, and all the other hotels around the harbour were pretty expensive. Once we found the place tucked in an alley off the main square (the taxi dropped us on the other side of the old town and we walked right past it, right around the harbour), we realised how centrally located it was. Standard double room was comfortable, clean and seemed newly-refurbished. Our friends' superior double looked great for a longer stay, with a small kitchen area as well. Air con was brilliant. Such a good location with beautiful shops just downstairs, and close to lots of restaurants and bars (which made us regret our early departure!!). Would love to come back to Hvar for a longer stay in the future and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

They were very helpful and held our bags in a locked room as we arrived on the 7.30am ferry.
The room was small but very nicely decorated (The size definitely would not put me off staying again)
Located right near the action but in a quiet alley, I couldn't think of anywhere better to stay. Close to ferry, close to supermarket, close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Villa Town gate was a great discovery for me in Hvar.I have been in Hvar for the last 3 summers and I did't realize until this year there is such a place in such a great location!The location is just the best you could wish in Hvar,so close to the square but in the same time located in a street being quite during the night.The rooms are very clean and nice refurbished,there is a very good air conditioning and the stuff is helpful.I find it is just the ideal accommodation in Hvar,because it is not the expensive and luxury accommodation of the 4 stars hotels in Hvar,but it is not even the cheap but old-fashioned accommodation the local people offer in their houses.I recommend it for young people and young couples,you have all the fun so close!I will definitely return there next time.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank bagord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This little villa was ideally located for a stay in Hvar. Its a three minute walk from the ferry drop-off point, right in the town center and close to the rocky beaches. The room was clean and relatively nice, though it did not come with a television as is advertised on the brochure in the tourist office. There was air conditioning and a fridge though. Breakfast is offered at 8 euros each, it comes with juice, coffee, bread and an omelet. It was good but you may find something cheaper in town if you're prepared to look.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdotwdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: solicitar quarto em andar baixo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adriana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Villa Paladina
Villa Paladina
#17 of 169 in Hvar
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Teo Petric
Teo Petric
#7 of 51 in Hvar
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Sandra Hvar
Villa Sandra Hvar
#31 of 51 in Hvar
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hvar De Luxe Apartments
Hvar De Luxe Apartments
#81 of 169 in Hvar
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Pape
Art Deco Pape
#105 of 169 in Hvar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Town Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Town Gate

Address: Ulica Kroz Grodu 12, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: $86 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Town Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Town gate offers you an absolute premier location in historic Hvar, only 20 meters from main town square, at the main gate in the 15th-century city walls. Passing through the old Town Gate and entering medieval Hvar, let yourself be charmed by its unique and authentic atmosphere. The city walls enclose the old part of the town and have 4 gates. Villa Town Gate is located at Porta maestra, the main gate, through which the road leads from the square to the aristocratic part of the city and towards the fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Town Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing