We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Youth Hostel Villa Marija
Ranked #4 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at Villa Marija for one night in May. The pickup from the harbour was really easy and check-in was painless as well. The 8-bed dorms on the street level were more like miniature apartments, they had two bathrooms and a well-equiped kitchen. The hostel is a bit of a walk from town, but doable. There's a pebble beach nearby and a small grocery store.
The terrace is a great place to relax! The staff are very nice as well and give great tips on what to do in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marissatiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
27
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Best hostel in Europe I've been to. Friendly staff with great info and things to do in Hvar. Great patio with bar (cheap prices), tables and sunchairs. They will take you on a free pub crawl around 10.30pm which is great for those who would like to get decent sleep as well.
10-15 min walk from the port and city centre. Highly recommended and I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelissaSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St. Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have never written a review before, but felt that the service we received at Villa Marija was so good, it would be unfair not to!

My boyfriend and I are not the most organised of people and we knew that on our travels around Croatia and Italy, something was bound to go wrong! We were supposed to stay at Villa Marija for 2 nights, but the night before we were leaving Dubrovnik we thought it would be a good idea to drink too many cocktails and go to bed 2 hours before we were due to catch our ferry. Needless to say, we slept through the alarm and missed the ferry!

So, we eventually got to Hvar 24 hours later after a 4 hour bus journey, an overnight stay in Korcula and a ferry.. We managed to find the hostel after a few wrong turns and maybe a swear word or 2, but it's really just straight up a hill from the port. We were greeted by Marija who said that she would have picked us up from the port if she had known what time we were arriving which was lovely! She probably felt sorry for us as we must have looked a state by the time we got there, walking around for ages in 40 degree heat with our heavy backpacks! She also gave us both a cold, refreshing drink of fruit juice whilst she showed us to our room.

The room was nice.. Had everything we needed. A comfy bed, fridge, shower, a huge private balcony with sun loungers and table and chairs and most importantly, aircon!

At night, Marija opens a little bar out on the terrace with music and twinkly lights. Me and my boyfriend sat there for a few hours, enjoying some cocktails which were amazing value for money. Half the price of the cocktails in the bars in Hvar. We retired to bed at about midnight as we had to catch a ferry to Split and didn't want to make the same mistake twice!

In the morning, Marija gave us a lift down to the port which was really nice of her as it was quite early in the morning, about 6am. She gave us both a hug and said she hoped we would visit again soon.

So we set off to Split and had been on the ferry for around 30 minutes when my boyfriend jolted up in his seat and stared at me.. At the end of our trip, we were going to Soundwave festival in Tisno and had been carrying the tickets with us.. Anyway, he had put them in the bedside drawer for 'safe keeping', along with 50€, and forgotten to take them out in the morning!!

When we got to Split, we rang Marija, hoping that she would find them and put them aside for us. My boyfriend was going to get on the next ferry back to Hvar, pick them up and then get the ferry back to Split, all in one day, which would have basically taken up a whole day of our holiday. Marija was amazing. She drove down to the port with our tickets and money in an envelope and organised for a member of staff on board the ferry to meet us in Split when the ferry docked. The tickets and money were all there, and she even put the packet of tictacs that we had left in there as well!! Marija basically saved our holiday (and my boyfriend's life as I would have killed him if we hadn't got them back!!)

So all in all, although it was a short stay, it was an excellent one and when I go back to Hvar I will definitely stay there. Amazing value for money. Thank you Marija!!! x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank XsaraJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I felt staying at 5star hotel without swimming pool(altough they are getting it for the next summer) at budget price with social and cool atmopshere,than at the hostel. Ivan,Marija,Hannah and Tony will do everything to make sure you are spending great time here!
Perfect place for meeting other people!
See you soon :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sean19889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Would 100% recommend this hostel.. we stayed here in June 2012. There was 8 of us and Marija and her family made us feel so welcome!! They gave us wine and food on our arrival and even collected us/left us back to the ferry. The hostel itself is gorgeous.. and has a balcony for sun bathing. Its just a short walk from the shop and the town and is about a 10min walk from a secluded beach!! Definately recommend this hostel! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at this placed in June last year before it changed its name to Hostel or should I say hostile Marija.It was your average family run house , you know the type..family living in the house also and renting out cheap rooms,then I found the place fine and pleasant with excellent Wi-Fi Marjia herself was great and her father I thought a bit Quirky Basil Fawltey type....But I am sorry to say I stayed this year and its gone down hill since then...why ? Well in my opinion its because Marija,s has gone from being a guest house to becoming a youth hostel fine if your like a party atmosphere and the humdrum of adolescents on their ipads all afternoon( fortunately you don't see them in the morning)..but the real disappointment for me is the attitude for Marija and the Basil Fawltey Grand dad they seem paranoid about making money out of the youths they have introduced a bar which is only open from 19:00 to 23:00 hrs..then the bar is whipped away they are rounded up and bused into the town to the night club..thus keeping them away from the hostel till 5 am ensuring they get a decent nights sleep very clever hey..but what about the rest of us who want to sit and chat on the terrace having a night cap ?..well we are told we must go to bed by then now sergeant major like granddad..yes and its only 23:00 hrs for Christ sake..lights out and go to bed and he stands there until you go honestly...this happend every night of our stay which was for 3 nights..your on holiday and don't want to be told when to go to bed do you lol.. the other thing which is bothering was Granddads persistent coming into your room to make sure the A/C was turned off really annoying when your having an afternoon nap ..as I said all this never happened last year ..I won't stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wardietony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Manager at Youth Hostel Villa Marija, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
first off all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor

As you mentioned in your review, we have turned our Guesthouse into Youth Hostel. It clearly says that from this year we accept only travelers between the ages of 18 to 40 years old.

It's also very important to mention that you did not have any booking with us so we made you a big favor finding you accommodation near our hostel.
There wasn't possibility to stay in our hostel although we weren't fully booked, but because you are 50 years old (which was noticed in your passport by our receptionist)

All the guest staying in our hostel can use our terrace with cocktail bar which are open all day long until 22:30. That's time when quiet time starts (set by Croatian Law, not by us).
After closing the bar and the terrace, guest are kindly asked to continue with their social gathering in their apartment or outside the hostel, so the other guest can sleep.

As you weren't our hostel guest, but the guest from the house next to our hostel, normally would be that you cannot use any of our services (such us terrace, bar and WiFi) but since you stayed with last year, we allowed you to join us on the bar every evening and to use our free WiFi.
So, since you weren't our guest, after 22:30 you should leave the hostel and go into your apartment (which is not located in our hostel) so that's why our staff asked you to leave our hostel.

I heard with the owner of the property you have stayed at, that you were using Air-condition with opened windows and door, so that's why somebody enter in your room ( Staff from the Property you've stayed at)
Given that you have not been our guest, your review should be placed for another Property, not for our hostel!
Although we really value your opinion, this one we cannot take into consideration because I as already wrote, you did not have any booking with us and you did not stayed with us.

It will certainly be my pleasure to pass your kind feedback on to the team of the property you have stayed at.
If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact at info@villamarijahvar.com

Kind regards,

Ivan Boko
Hostel Manager,
Youth Hostel Villa Marija, Hvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hvar is a beautiful island and a friend of mine recommended we visited during our trip to Croatia. We weren't disappointed. We found villa Marija through Trip Advisor and booked based on the excellent reviews it had already received. We arrived at the main port in Hvar after taking a ferry from Dubrovnik. A shuttle bus then took us to the main bus station in the town located in the centre by the Tourist Information centre. I had previously e-mailed Villa Marija to give an estimated time of our arrival and Marija (the owner) met us there and took us to our accommodation. She was extremely friendly and welcoming and pointed out some places worth visiting on a map and recommended some bars and restaurants for us. Our room was clean, very nicely decorated and we were extremely pleased to be welcomed by the excellent air conditioning in the room as it was 37 degrees when we arrived! There was a small kitchen area and the fridge was very handy to chill drinks. Outside there is a lovely terraced area to relax with sunbeds, some seats and a hammock. The harbour and the centre of Hvar is about 5-10 minutes walk. There is also a supermarket on the way. In the opposite direction you have a nice beach which is also about 10-15 minutes. At the end of our visit Marija gave us a lift down to the port to catch a ferry back to the mainland. A very welcoming and enjoyable stay and we would definitely recommend Villa Marija for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.9 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Villa Marija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Villa Marija

Property: Youth Hostel Villa Marija
Address: Ulica Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Youth Hostel Villa Marija 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marija is Hvar's best-loved, award-winning and top rated hostel, recognised for years as simply the hottest and most social spot to stay while in Hvar. Hostel features a luxurious and stylishly decorated sea view outdoor terrace with swimming pool and cocktail bar, providing the perfect place to meet like-minded international travellers. Stay with us and have fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Youth Hostel Villa Marija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marija Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing