We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Supetar Cavtat Croatia”
Review of Hotel Supetar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Supetar
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hotel Supetar Cavtat Croatia”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I wrote a review on hotel Supetar exactly one year ago after a visit that was very enjoyable. On making our second visit 7th to 14th October 2012 one year on the big question was, had it changed at all. The answer to this question was soon forthcoming because it had changed, it had got even better. One thing that had not changed was the hard working staff, they were all still there. It was refreshing to find the same attentive girls on the reception desk who are helpful at all times as well as being friendly and full of good humor. The same very thorough lady who keeps the hotel and rooms in a superb state of cleanliness. She works extremely hard to ensure all guests come back to a clean room at the end of the day. I must mention that the head waiter was also the same as last year. He is on top of the game at all times and along with his assistant they make meal times a pleasure and they both impressed all of the guests during our stay. Breakfast consists of tea coffee or fruit juice a selection of cooked meats, cereals toast and butter. If you prefer there is the more traditional bacon and sausage with poached, scrambled eggs or boiled eggs and you may add an omelet/pancake if you wish. The evening meal differs daily and offers a choice of meat or fish plus all the usual vegetables, there is a choice of soups and salads to start with and a selection of sweets to end your meal. All very nicely prepared and while there may not be the choice offered by many of the larger hotels it is nevertheless very enjoyable and there is plenty of it. The sun deck is a great improvement this year with brand new loungers and mattresses plus there are many subtle improvements to the hotel in general. It is worth knowing that by staying at the Supetar Hotel one gets to enjoy many of the facilities offered by the sister Hotel Croatia which is just ten minutes walk around the picturesque bay. These include swimming, sauna, gymnasium to name just a few. The hotel supetar reception staff will let you know what is available at any given time. Supetar is situated in the old part of Cavtat and as such exhibits all the charms of the surrounding buildings, We had a seaview room overlooking the bay. There is no passing traffic as only local people can bring their cars into this part of the town and this makes life very peaceful. Like last year I cannot speak highly enough about hotel supetar and its amazing hard working and dedicated team. We will return for the third time next year and as long as this team stay together then i feel Supetar will be even better.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which faces the bay. It benefits from having two separate windows which can be opene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for this wonderfull comments.
We are very glad that you liked the changes that we made this year .
We are already planing to make some changes for next year.
It will be a surprise for yours next visit. We hope you will like it...
Until we meet again
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    113
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
32
182
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hubby and I stayed at the Supetar last two weeks in September 2012. What an amazing place this is. Location, food and staff are all superb and cannot be faulted. We were on a HB basis and ate in 12 of our 14 nights stay - only ate out for a change!!! And boy were we glad that we were HB - the price of eating out is extremely high compared to what was paid for at the hotel. Evening meal consisted of a choice of 2 soups, a fantastic salad bar, a choice of meat or fish with pasta or potatoes (of some sort) and veg., and a delightful cake bar with a good selection of fruit as well. The food was excellent and very tasty every night. Yes, what was not used up was made into something the following night - but that's good as there is much less wasteage. Room 105 is directly opposite the entrance to the restaurant, and that's not good if you don't take too kindly to being woken up at 6am by the kitchen staff arriving for their breakfast shift and having a good old chin wag on their way into the kitchen!!! Or the inconsiderate guests that were on an early start and raving in the hallway all the way to the restaurant. Rooms are very basic and small, but as we always say we only sleep and shower in there so not a big issue for us. If you go on the 3 islands boat trip - DON'T GO WITH MIKO - it costs £25 per person, there is virtually nothing to see or do on either of the islands, the lunch provided is medioca, the "servant" does not attend to your needs (offer drinks, etc.), the boat is ordinary with no seating pads/cushions so you sit on slats and have a metal frame to rest your back on, and when we went it was too rough for us to be brought back into Cavtat so we were dropped off in Dubrovnik and told to find our own way home at our own expense!!!! (not good) - overall a VERY poor excursion when you consider you get SO MUCH BETTER in Turkey at a fraction of the cost. We made use of the Hotel Croatia as the sunbeds were free to use as opposed to paying £3.33 each on the beach. We would HIGHLY recommend this Hotel and Cavtat in general - it is SO peaceful and there is none of the roudiness you get in many places these days. No drunks and disrespectful louts! P.S. i cannot recall anyone mentioning mozzies on here - WE (and many others) WERE EATEN ALIVE!!!! They were there in their millions!!!!!!!! You have been warned.

Room Tip: Well it didn't matter to us as there are no balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guests,
It is a great pleasure to read such a nice comments about our hotel.
We are very glad that you enjoyed in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon in our hotel Supetar.
Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I booked a week here with Thomson. We heartily agree with all other reviewers' favourable comments regarding location, food, staff, friendliness and care. This week was excellent value.
We also recommend the Thomson excursions [undertaken by Gulliver Travel] although the Mostar trip is a bit of an endurance trial and could usefully be curtailed by cutting one hour from the 'free time'.
Otherwise ... full marks to all concerned, especially at Hotel Supetar. It could be named SuperStar!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 114 if possible! The bed bangs about when you turn over and the room is adjacent to the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111colines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time and commenting our hotel on the site.
We are very glad that you enjoyed in our hotel on yours excursions and Cavtat.
Your comments gives us a hope that we will see you again soon in our hotel Supetar.
Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and myself have just returned from a fabulous two week holiday at this marvellous little hotel.We chose the Supetar after reading many reviews on your website, and are so glad we did. All that has been written about the location, friendliness of staff, and cleanliness of rooms is spot on.What is not correct is that because coaches do,nt have access to the seafront, guests have to hump their luggage 400 metres to the hotel.Evening arrivals, as we were, are given a buggy ride from sister hotel Croatia right to the doorstep. No lift! No problem as a smiling member of staff took our cases to our room.Daytime arrivals have a minibus available as well.
The buggy ride was a great start to the holiday as it took in all the sea front bars and restaurants, overlooked by millionaires superyachts, a great introduction to Cavtat.We had a room at the side of the hotel and although it was a bit dark, fixtures and fittings all worked fine and we had plenty of space. Spotlessly clean as already stated and lots of clean linen on a daily basis.
All the women who changed over at reception were most helpful and always smiling and willing to help the guests enjoy their stay, as were the two great waiters in the restaurant, who literally could,nt do enough for all the guests,everyday getting off to a great start as a result of their genuine care and obvious love of their work, well done lads!(thanks for the fishing bait!)
The only negative comments i'd read about the Supetar were concerning the food. Well all i can say is that during the two weeks of our stay i experienced some of the nicest seafood i've had anywhere, the Grouper was absolutely delicious and the pasta was moorish, well done chef!So no complaints from me, nor did i hear anybody else complaining about the food.
All in all, a fabulous place to spend your vacation Hvalah lijepa everyone at Supetar

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guests,
It is a great pleasure to read such a lovely comments.
Our staff loves working here in our hotel because with years they become family and our guests feel that and that is very important.
Like I said before the hotel does not have a luggage service but if there is anybody available at that time that person will help you immediately, like in a big family.
Best regards from Vlaho and Pero (fishing material supliers) and whole hotel Supetar team.
Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We read the reviews before we went so were prepared for some of the drawbacks of this hotel. The location is five star. Right on the bay and within walking distance of the whole resort. The hotel was very clean, the staff superb, especially Tea and Rea (who was leaving on the day of our departure). The food quality and choice is abysmal although it had apparently improved since last year!! The food is cooked at the beginning of the meal time and kept(luke) warm in antiquated containers until the end (two and a half hours) just topped up when all used up. The evening meals are always pasta, meat and fish and the warm breakfasts always egg three ways, little hot dog sausages, limp fatty bacon and pancakes.
The hotel has a beautiful garden and a sun terrace although there are enough sunbeds there are only 3 or 4 mattresses available. There is a skeleton staff and guests are expected to take their own luggage up to the rooms - at least one flight of stairs (2 if on second floor) and several steps up and down. I am a pensioner with a husband who has mobility problems and found it extremely difficult to do this. This hotel has the potential to be superb. It is owned by the Hotel Croatia so there is no excuse for it to be so neglected. A luggage lift, a bigger food budget and a more imaginative menu, more staff, and a more inviting, better stocked bar area and investment in modern serving equipment would make all the difference. We booked through Thomson and this was not a particularly cheap holiday I think that it was not good value for money although we had a good time and love Croatia. Many of our fellow guests would come in to the dining room to inspect the food choice before opting to go out to a restaurant - not ideal when you have booked and paid for half board.
The Supetar could be a little gem with more attention to detail and regard to the reviews...we would recommend it but only on a room only basis.

Room Tip: We had a side view room with big windows and plenty of room. Shady and fairly quiet except for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guests,
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with some elements of our hotel.
We have to say that beside pasta, meat and fish for dinner our guests have a choice of cold cuts, cheeses,plane and mix salads,side dish, choice of cakes and choice of fruits.
We apologise for this steps and lift situation but all hotel brochures say that there is no lifts and no luggage service.
Hotel Supetar is owned by the same company like hotel Croatia (Adriatic Luxury Hotels) with another six hotels in Dubrovnik.
Best Regards
petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from a week at the Supetar. What a wonderful little find. I had read reviews before we went but are never really sure whether they are correct. However all the good things said about this hotel are absolutely true. Not only the position but also the staff. Tea on reception and the two lovely waiters were so friendly and helpful. Tea organised a car to take us to the bus station so we wouldn't miss our trip to Mostar as the rain was coming down by e bucketful. You wouldn't get that service anywhere else.

The food was far better than we envisaged as we had intended to eat out but never got round to it. The position of the hotel is so convenient and picturesque. Cavtat has to be one of the most beautiful places in Europe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guests,
We thank you very much for this lovely comments and we are very glad that you liked our hotel and Cavtat.
We like to belive that Cavtat is one of the nices placest in Europe too.
Best regards from Tea and whole hotel Supetar team.
Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We love the hotel and have stayed on four previous occasions.
When we arrived this time we were told that there was a mistake and we had no room. I had phoned the previous week to check that all was well and was assured that it was. The manager was very apologetic And offered us two nights in Hotel Croatia and five nights at apartment Lea. Both places were excellent but a steep climb away from the old town. We always book Supetar to avoid the climb. So a very disappointing experience in all.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guests,
Once again we are truly sorry for this situation that you went trough.
I assure you that hotel Croatia and apartments Lea were the best solution.
The hotel is still the same like before small and friendly .
We would like to see you again here with us , of course if you give us a second chance.
Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Supetar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Supetar

Property: Hotel Supetar
Address: Obala A. Starcevica 27, Cavtat HR-20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Supetar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming three-star hotel in Cavtat is just steps away from the beach and offers guests a more intimate setting to enjoy their Adriatic vacation. The charm of Croatia’s seaside towns is just outside your door, while back at the hotel you are served by a professional and knowledgeable staff. This area is an excellent base for exploring Dubrovnik and guests are invited to use the five-star amenities at the sister Hotel Croatia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Supetar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supetar Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing