We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
Review of Castelletto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castelletto
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

After travelling along the coast of Croatia for 2 weeks, we decided to stay in Cavtat before flying out of Dubrovnik (it's 10 mins from the airport). It was one of the best decisions we made and Hotel Castelletto made for a great ending to our trip. The staff was so helpful (the airport shuttle even saw us and picked us up while we were walking back to the hotel from walking around Cavtat).

Great service, wonderful rooms, cute pool and a great, quiet environment. Perfection.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twpolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    58
    14
    11
    0
See reviews for
24
151
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

A wonderful family run hotel. Very clean, good rooms & baconies. Excellent location (though you need to be relatively fit for the walk up the hill from the town & beach!) Dejan, a charming & helpful manager.
Pickup from the airport is a real plus. Excellent ferry service from the town. I recommend the late afternoon trip to Dubrovnik when the crowds have thinned out. Only a 40 min crossing.
Only negative factor in whole stay was the breakfast coffee , instant & not freshly percolated! Otherwise loved it all.
We shall be coming again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giselle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Castelletto is a lovely hotel which is located on the hillside 15 minutes walk from Cavtat center. We stayed here for a week at the end of July 2010 and we found the hotel peaceful, clean and the staff very friendly.

Our bedroom was a superior which was spacious with a nice view, if slightly obscured by buildings, of the Cavtat bay. The room has air conditioning installed to keep the room cool when the temperature is high. We also had our own balacony to sit out on. We were very pleased with our room and found it to be comfortable. We didn't sleep as well as we would at home, but the pillows were firmer to what we were used to. This is just personal preference and not a criticism of the hotel.

The breakfast was very nice with a options of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, including melon, bread and spreads, hot breakfast; normally egg and sausage and cold tomatoes. The scrambled egg is awesome!

The service of being picked up and dropped off at the airport is very good. The owner is polite and very friendly.

If you are considering the Castelletto then you should be aware that its location does require walking down a hill to the Cavtat harbour. The walk is about 15 minutes, a short part by the road and the rest down a lovely stepped pedestrian path. For some people they have marked the hotel down on this, and to be honest I think this is harsh. Castelletto has fantastic elevated views of the harbour and peninsula and as a result is situated out of Cavtat center, which means it is uphill! If you want to be down in Cavtat harbour area with no hills to climb, expect to pay a premium.

Overall for a 3 star hotel, Castelletto is everything you would expect and it does it very well.

Restaurants we would recommend in Cavtat are: Kolona (our favourite), Ivan and Restaurant Major (transfer service available as 5 min drive from hotel)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The hotel offer a transfer service from Dubrovnik airport. Picking up our bikes in their huge flight cases was no problem. They also stored the cases for two weeks while we cycled around Montenegro. All staff very helpful and friendly with excellent English.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Allman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed two nights in this small hotel after we picked it by the Tripadvisor. It is both close to Dubrovnik and to Montenegro. Very nice view from the balcony of the rooms at the top level. Very helpfull and kind staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Nice friendly staff.
Stayed 3 nights no complaints.The walk up the hill is ok but do-able,You can bus it back the no 10 bus runs about every 30mins and the first stop is at the end of the back entrance road.There is a cheap and good Italian resturant here.The staff will give you a timetable.Staff were great and helpful.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hertshezbulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The other reviews are all to some extent accurate but for those looking for affordable, well maintained and welcoming accomadation this small hotel is a great find. I stayed here for 2 nights (free pick up at the airport) so that I could attend a congress at the hotel Croatia (3 times the price and just 10 mins along the road).

Cavtat is set on steep hills that run down to the sea- you can hardly walk for more then 10 mins in any direction on the flat but most people manage the climbs. A bus runs to the outside of the hotel (ever 30 mins to the centre of the town and to Dubrovnik)

The airport is near by and airplanes can be heard everywhere in Cavtat- no big deal

The staff are extremely considerate- they are only too pleased to help and will make special arrangements if needed.

I met a number of guests returning for the 2nd and 3rd time- for those who are looking for a wonderful quiet break this hotel is a good choice, I stayed in room 31 which had a small balcony with a good view of the sea- the bathroom is small but had a good shower. The beds are new and were very comfortable

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prj466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelletto

Property: Castelletto
Address: Frana Laureana 22, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#7 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelletto 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Castelletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelletto Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing