We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place and very friendly, helpful staff.”
Review of Castelletto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castelletto
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Wash DC
1 review
“Delightful place and very friendly, helpful staff.”
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I can highly recommend this small hotel to any traveler to Dubrovnik. Although this is a bit out from Dubrovnik Old Town the bus connections were easy and convenient. One day we took the bus and the next we took the regular boat service from the town harbor which was a wonderful way to approach Dubrovnik. Highly recommended! Parking was available at the hotel but we turned the car in early at the nearby Dubrovnik Airport and used public transportation. The staff was very accommodating especially in getting us to the airport for a very early flight. Cavtat was a lovely harbor town with good restaurants and great sunsets. Castelletto is a short distance up the hill from town but not a problem even for us young seniors though anyone with small children might fine the walk from the harbor a bit much. The room and bath were large, modern, clean and more than adequate and we were given two beds as requested. The breakfast was a very good start to each day. It was definitely one of the best hotels we stayed in on our trip and would stay there again as well as recommend it highly. Can't say enough good things about the staff. They were most helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poconnell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    59
    15
    11
    0
See reviews for
26
158
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Just returned from 10 days in lovely croatia. We arrived at noon on a monday to be met at the airport by our host Dean who showed us around cavtat before bringing us to the hotel. We went to our room which had a really fantastic view over cavtat from our balcony, the room itself was lovely, more like a suite with nice furnishings, sofa, chairs and plenty of room. Dean and his lovely wife christine were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them, they even offered to collect us down town if necessary. Christine went to a lot of trouble getting us a car to rent as we wanted to drop it off in zadar so we really appreciated everything they did for us to make our stay the most enjoyable ever. Breakfast was buffet style but also if we fancied an omelette or bacon and eggs they were cooked to order and the bread was lovely and fresh. Overall a lovely spotlessly clean friendly place to stay.

  • Liked — clanliness/nice big room and bathroom
  • Disliked — steep hill
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wexgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr. Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My Husband and I are just back from our stay at the "Hotel Castlelletto " inCavtat Croatia. Castelletto is not a Hotel in our opinion, we could not get any Tapas for lunch as advertised as the person who does the tapas is on Maternity Leave, also lamb cooked under the "Bell" a traditional dish was not available also. So this takes us to the HILL..... yes the HILL.... as I am a walker at home my Husband is not and he did not like the thought of the hill two or three times a day, especially when lunch was not available not even a toasted sandwich. Having said all that Castelletto is a great Bed and Breakfast we stayed for 12 nights (having thought it was a Hotel to begin with)... it is very close to the Airport and offers taxi to theAirport if you stay overnight. The Staff are very friendly and could not do enough for you. We stayed in Room 32 this has a great view over Dubrovnik Bay. I would recommend Room 32 or Room 33 both on the top floor and fab.views. The Swimming Pool is small.... (A large Tub springs to mind)... but great if you want to cool down during the day. The flight path did not bother us and i quite enoyed watching the planes leaving and returning. After a while you did not hear any noise at all. Cavtat really is a Pearl in the Adriatic, what a wonderful harbour where Billionairs dine with the locals (and us)... every night. Fab. yaughts come into the Harbour. Food was great, and if you like fillet steak you won't be dissappointed.... every reataurant... yes every restaurant was great.. we dined out every night and tried almost every restaurant and did not have a bad meal at any of them. Croatia is lovely, the people are lovely and very laid back. Cavtat we will be back. Castelletto we would come back but if you could move your premises down the hill. (you can't have everything if it was down the hill then you would not have the view). I heard it was owned by people from Wexford, Southern Ireland. Well all I can say is ... Mr. Wexford can you invest in a few more loungers which don't fall apart and are more comfortable... and extend your garden beside the swimming pool (Tub).. and have more available during the day ie. Tapas, Toasted Sandwiches or any sort of a sandwhich as some people like the silence of Castelletto but have to leave to get some lunch else where....

A couple from Nr. Ireland who all and all had a fab. time We will surely be back to Cavtat

  • Liked — room 32 was great with a great view
  • Disliked — they advertised as a Hotel but they only do Breakfast - misleading
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodl
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the Castelletto in Cavat for a week at the end of July/beginning of August 2008.

I booked via email from the hotel website and found the responses to questions to be quick and informative and the booking itself was very straightforward.

On arrival at Dubrovnik airport we were met by Dean, the manager, and taken to the hotel (included in the room rate) and also given a brief tour of Cavtat to help us discover the lie of the land.

The hotel is small and, whilst it does not have all the trappings of a big hotel, it has all you need. The room was clean and of a reasonable size. It was air conditioned and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were taken on the terrace by the small pool and were very good, with a variety of things to eat and drink.

However, the really impressive aspect was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. We were treated as guests (rather than paying customers) and nothing seemed too much trouble. In our case, we did have a problem (nothing to do with the hotel) but Dean went out of his way to help us. I do not believe we would have been so well looked after anywhere else.

Cavat itself is delightful and has everything you need. There is a very good selection of restaurants and bars and access to Dubrovnik is easy, by boat or bus. There are also various boat trips available from the quayside. And the sunsets over the bay are fantastic.

The downsides? Well, Cavtat is on the flightpath to the airport but flights are not of such a frequency to cause any problems. The town is reached from the hotel by a steep path and, of course, going down is easier than coming up. However, it is not a long walk and any person of a reasonable level of fitness should have no difficulty - if not, you can get the bus for 5 Kuna.

All in all, an excellent little hotel in a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed here a couple of years ago and found it excellent. Had stayed in Dubrovnik palace before this and honestly found Castelletto more appealing and full of character The staff were great-chatted to us each morning and dropped us to the airport on the day of our departure.Would definitely consider it if you are seeking accommodation in the area,

Cookies

  • Liked — staff,character and location
  • Disliked — steps up to the rooms
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cookiesIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed at Castelletto at the end of June 08 and had a brilliant time. The owners are very friendly and can't do enough for you. We had a superior room which was on the 3rd floor and had a lovely view of the sea and mountains, it was well decorated and spacious and in our opinion good value for money. They give you a lift to/from the airport at no extra cost and even made an additional trip back to the airport when I left my credit card on reception! They have a lot of knowledge of the local area and were really helpful in advising us of what to do. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shep6589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We stayed two nights in this hotel, and while the staff were incredibly friendly I did feel that it was a little overpriced for what we got.....The room was clean but small, the bathroom was tiny and the toilet made quite a loud noise after you flushed it! I would expect more for a €105/night "superior" room.
Also they really could do with getting some decent coffee too!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelletto

Property: Castelletto
Address: Frana Laureana 22, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#7 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelletto 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Castelletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelletto Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing