We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Wonderful Castelletto'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castelletto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castelletto
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
wexford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“'Wonderful Castelletto'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed at this wonderful family run hotel with four female friends for three nights for 21st to 24th Oct and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. Dejan, the manager, is one in a million and went out of his way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble, from picking us up at the airport (even finding out the change in times after our plane was diverted because of a thunderstorm)! He even supplied us with kettles in our rooms when he realised we all loved our tea (being Irish)! He also showed us around the beautiful area of Cavtat on our arrival and pointed out good resturants and walks - the walk around beautiful Rat pennisula is lovely and takes about forty minutes. Another wonderful thing he did for us was to drive us up to the top of the mountain so we could visit the war meuseum, we took the cable car down to the old town of Dubrovnik. We had the pleasure of meeting Dejans beautiful daughter, Carla. The bedrooms in Castelletto were spotless and you could eat your dinner in the bathrooms, we had lovely balconies with table / chairs etc. Breakfast was delicious and was served by lovely friendly smiling lady (Sorry we didn't get your name)! Again, nothing was too much trouble. I must mention the receptionist, Mirella. We loved chatting to her and again she went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. I would recommend anyone going to Dubrovnik to stay in Cavtat as it's only a €2.20 bus ride into Dubrovnik and it's so much cheaper to eat / drink in Cavtat, ie €2 a pint compared to €6 in Dubrovnik old town. As a group of five wimon, we felt really safe in Cavtat and never had any hassle, whatsoever.

Overall, I would recommend hotel Castelletto highly to anyone thinking of visiting this beautiful part of the world, you will want to come back again, just as we do ! Well done all at Castelletto. You made our stay very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    58
    14
    11
    0
See reviews for
24
147
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Got a taxi from Dubrovnik to Castelletto and was glad I did as I think we would have found it difficult to find. Pretty surroundings and very friendly accommodating staff- they could not have done more for us. The breakfast was great. The pool was fairly small but I didn't mind. Quite a steep climb from Cavtat harbour but do-able. Think the walls of the apartment must have been thin as could hear general hubbub. The free airport transfers were are real bonus. If you want to be right in the heart of Cavtat this is not the accommodation for you but otherwise worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for a week (16-23rd August 2011) and had a lovely time. Hotel Castelletto are fantastic in that they pick you up from the hotel and give you a lift back, all free.
All the staff were very friendly, breakfast plentiful. The only niggle was that the air con in the whole hotel broke down on the saturday evening and couldn't be fixed until the monday which made sleeping really uncomfortable. They did lend us a fan which helped a little however 'top tip' - soak a towel in cold water and lay it on top of you! This obviously is just one of those things and outside of the hotel's control so I don't really blame them.
Yes, its under the flight path but so is the whole of Cavtat so I wouldn't really worry about that.
And yes, the hill is steep, but again, most of the hotels and apartments are somewhere on this hill so I don't think you can really avoid it.
Cavtat itself is a beautiful place. The sea is amazingly clear and warm. Buy yourself a snorkel and explore the world under the sea, there's so much there!!
The restaurants are ok, some overpriced for reasonable food. The two I would suggest are Poseiden (though not the pasta, the pizzas and burgers are good as is the fish) and LEUT. Both at the town centre end of the harbour, and Poseiden has fab views.

We took a boat to Durbrovnik which was great, we only spent 3 hours there though as it was so hot we just wanted to get back and into the water!

Overall, Cavtat is a great sun destination, perfect for chilling out and relaxing.

Room Tip: get a superior room with a balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our last day in Croatia. The hotel is very nice and has excellent service. We found the staff very accommodating and nice (not to be taken for granted in Croatia where service is good but not excellent).

They provided us with extra beach towels, opened the cafe bar for us and made phone calls to the different tourist attractions.

Cavtat is a beautiful little town with great water sports and a beautiful little town to walk through and have dinner. The only drawback is its vicinity to the airport, with flights in and out of Dubrovnik flying above the town and disturbing the serenity day and night.

Nevertheless, I recommend this hotel. the value is very good compared to the outrageous prices in Dubrovnik or in the hotels of Cavtat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelerreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel is very small - about a dozen rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a superior room with balcony, and it was fine, with a lovely view across the bay.
The pool is small, and so may not be ideal for kids, but for dipping in to cool off, it's perfect. The smallness of the hotel and the cosy pool area meant it was easy to strike up conversations with other visitors.
It is up a BIG hill! My husband and I are fairly young, but I needed his help up the hill most days. I did feel it got easier through the week, and maybe helped work off some of the pizzas I had been eating! Planes go over quite often, so if you like silence, this might not be the resort for you - however, we didn't find it bothered us at all.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a superior room (that comes with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is up the hill from the main town. You would not want to walk it more than once or twice a day. Do not plan to walk here with your luggage from the bus station. The hotel itself is nice with clean rooms and a little pool area. They arranged a 5:30am van ride to the airport for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbag12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful - and it was a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwallchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castelletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelletto

Property: Hotel Castelletto
Address: Frana Laureana 22, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#7 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelletto 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castelletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelletto Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing