We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the bustle of Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is huge!! I underestimated just how large it was, but once you get over the fact that it's a monster, you should be fine.

We had booked a seaview room, but we were placed on the 3rd floor (a floor beneath reception) and our view was obscured by some trees. I asked to be moved, but the hotel would/could not accommodate us. The room is large with a modern bathroom with rainshower head. The bedroom had a fridge which was great for us to stock with our own water and drinks from the village supermarket.

We stayed half board. The dinning hall was huge as it had to be to accommodate all the guests. The atmosphere therefore is lacking. However you can eat at the Spinaker or the Steak House and exchange your half board dinner to get 70kn per person discount. We did this on one occasion to eat in the Steak House. It was excellent. The meat was cooked perfectly and the sides and starters were delicious. Despite the fact that there was only a handful of other guests eating here, it took a long time for our order to come out.

The hotel swimming pool while refreshing is too small for the number of guests however they do have a policy where you cannot vacate your sun lounger for longer than 30 minutes, otherwise you will lose it.

The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and often delivered us buckets of ice when requested. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location of the hotel up on a hill was not a problem either as we often took the golf buggy, however, when it rains the golf buggy won't travel as it is too slippy.

All in all a great stay at this great hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room and specifically request a room on floor 5 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear travelbugjen
Thank your for your review, and thank for staying with us.
We are grateful for your excellent comments concerning the location and staffs friendliness, and our a la carte restaurant Steak House.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel and in the meantime, we are sending our best regards.
Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just got back from 11 days at the hotel Croatia. This was our second stay as we first stayed here 9 years ago and quite honestly the hotel or Cavtat hasn't changed at all really. Our stay didn't get off to a great start as despite paying for a sea view we got a room on the 3rd floor with a forest outside, not only that but it was set up for 3 people with a pull out couch set up in the room, funny as there was only the wife and i. I wasn't the least impressed so went down to reception to ask for another room only to be told that it was all they had and to return tomorrow after breakfast, this we did and to be fair we were moved to a room on the 9th floor with a fantastic sea view.

i won`t write about the hotel itself as it has been written before needless to say the food was good and the staff are friendly, the eternal problem of reserved sunbeds still exists so if you want to get by the pool get up early and bag one yourself. My only gripe would be that despite it being a 5 star hotel people still turn up for dinner in shorts and vests there appears to be no dress code, called me old fashioned but i think people should make the effort at dinner time.

Cavtat itself is beautiful with lots of little bars and restaurants, a lot of them had the footie on, but when it wasn't just some nice background music, if you want boom boom go somewhere else. We had quite a few days of thunder, lightening, and rain which was a pain but that's no fault of the hotel or cavtat. All in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room as high up as possible.If you get room 314 change straight away as you will end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wayneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear wayneLiverpool,
Thank you for staying with us for the second time, and thank you for your report. We are sorry that on first you did not be satisfied with our room, and that you had to change it.
We can promise you that we are working continuously on improving our services and amenities, and hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you for the third time.
Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Though a bit outdated from the outside, from the inside this hotel is renovated and the rooms are modern. Bathroom very nice. I'm still not quite sure if 5 stars is appropriate. At least it has not that much in common with real 5 star hotels, but that you see on the price as well.

The location is this hotel's best advantage; Cavtat is a cute village only some steps away (and they even have a shuttle for that, ask the bellboy) and that's what makes up for the hotel's most hideous fact: the food in the hotel restaurants is terrible. Just terrible. How bad does a vegetarian sandwich have to be in order to be uneatable? Just imagine. The breakfast is okay (nothing spectacular) though, so if you book here, breakfast is fine but DON'T take the half board. (Luckily, we didn't. The first nightmare in the pool restaurant we thought was just a hiccup, but the piano bar sandwich gave me the creeps.)

Service is a bit balkan style, but I guess it's like that everywhere in Croatia.

The swimming opportunities are not great if you have small children (no sand beach and only salt water pools), but otherwise enjoyable.

Pro:
+ location
+ quite good value for the money
+ scenery
+ children's indoor playroom & outdoor playground

Contra
- restaurant food (but plenty of restaurants in the village)
- cocktails awful

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmtstrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear zmtstrn
Thank you for your detailed reviews and for having explained all the positive and negative sides of your recent stay in our Hotel Croatia.
We are sorry to hear that you did not like food in our Hotel. Piano bar has always good critics, so we are very sory that we did not meet your expectations.
We hope to welcome you again in the future so we can meet your full expectations.
Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Lovely hotel in a wonderful location with superb views. Travel by buggy to the village or walk and get the buggy back. Everything is great about this hotel. If you decide to walk it can become a bit of a drag after 3 days so the buggy is handy to pick you up and take you up the short hill. Great facilities incl indoor pool which we had to use on 2 occasions due to rain. Staff are great and its good to see many of them have been with the hotel since it opened.

Room Tip: Go sea view for the most wonderful views imaginable. Sleep quality is very good. A/C not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for such lovely comments, and thank you for staying with us. We are very glad to see that you liked our Hotel, our location, rooms and swimming pool area.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel and in the meantime, we are sending our best regards.
Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well it's our fourth day here but decided to give a quick review of our findings so far. It's tipping with rain today so just trying to relieve the boredom. First impression getting out of the taxi a large concrete structure but once inside a massive reception nicely decorated and the staff were welcoming and friendly. We were on an early flight from UK (6 am) but were a bit disappointed to find our room not ready until 2pm ....... Left the luggage to be watched over and took a walk into Cavtat which is stunning with bars and restaurants and friendly Croatian staff. Back up to hotel to find room ready about 1pm. We had paid extra for a sea view so we were a bit apprehensive from other Trip Advisor reports about the hotel. No need to worry as we got a room with a view on the 6th floor. Room lovely and clean nice bathroom ( fantastic overhead power shower and plenty of hot water) storage a bit tight as only four tiny drawers and wardrobe with not enough hangers. I asked the guy who knocked at the door with clean glasses for our mini bar if we could have more hangers. He said he would get someone to sort it and within a couple of minutes our regular maid came to the door with a handful of hangers and a big smile. The room is replenished with fresh towels etc early in the morning usually when we are at breakfast. The hotel is massive even the corridors are the widest I have seen and there is a lot of open space but that doesn't bother us ..... Why should it. The pool area is lovely but not very big ....... Plenty of beds unreserved after breakfast about 9.30 but it does soon fill up after that with towel reserving. Sun beds that are in the best positions for catching the sun are reserved ( towelled up) very early in the day despite a sign saying towels will be removed after half an hour if unoccupied. We have given up with he pool area .....I don't think we will be there much now as down below there are plenty of beds down at the Spinaker bar 'beach side' which has beautiful views across to Cavtat . I say beach but it is actually a concrete promenade with steps into the sea ...... Great for adults but not good for young children as it is deep water there. The hotel staff there are very friendly down there. Definitely not a hotel for the disabled or anyone with walking difficulties. It's built high than the village and it involves a steep hill and lots of steps. Yes there are golf buggies and the staff are very good but we are told they don't operate them when it's wet. Can get busy with people queuing at the bottom so you could have to wait some time to get a ride. We read all this in the brochure but decided to book anyway as we thought the exercise would be good with all the extra eating. Speaking of eating the food is excellent, we are half board. Plenty of choice for everyone and of course you can have a full English if you wish there are eggs bacon and sausage and everything else you could wish for and more. No problem getting a table, staff very attentive, dirty pots cleared Imeadiatly. The staff in the dining room are polite and do everything they are asked but some of the older staff have got very serious faces and do not smile ..... Maybe they work long hours. On a whole most of the staff are very polite and welcoming. Lots of business people about today as there is some kind of exhibition set up next to the large conference room ...... Probably wouldn't notice them so much but as it is raining everyone is stuck inside. Would recommend this hotel so far :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Gem03
Thank you for such lovely comments,and thank you for writing during your holiday. We hope you will have a memorable stay with us. The weather will be sunny and warm these days, so you can relax and enjoy in our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the first 2 weeks of September 2013. We paid extra for the sea view room and wasn't disappointed. The weather was fantastic and the sea still warm to swim.

We enjoyed swimming at the "beach" area which was actualy cut out into the rocks on the cliff side of the peninsula. For sun bathing we used the area in front of Spinnaker Restaurant as there was always beds available and the sea was much calmer. This area was also excellent for snorkeling with a variety of sea life - we even spotted an octopus a couple of times that resided just underneath the bottom ledge of the stone steps!

We found the food in main eating area ok with us preferring the evening menu to breakfast. The variety was always good so it was easy to settle for something that we liked. The only hotel restaurant we used was the one located next to the pool which provided a small but nice lunch time selection of sandwiches and salads, most times at lunch we popped into the village and ate at the variety of different places on the harbour side while enjoying the beautiful views.

Dubrovnik was a short bus ride away and we regularly used this service to visit the walled city. We purchased the Dubrovnik card which allowed us acces to the walls and many other attractions over a 7 day period which meant we could dip in and out at our own leisure. Many times we got the water taxi back to Cavtat but a good tip is to catch it before 4pm when it gets really busy.

Our room was on the 4th floor and was lovely with excellent views. We found the air conditioning wasn't great so we closed the curtains during the day when the room want in use and found this helped. The maids visited everyday and even folded our clothes and put them away! They anyways had a smile and a hello as they went about their daily work.

Regarding steps... Yes there are a lot of steps around the hotel and grounds but the hotel is built into a cliff side. We never found it a problem and on many occasions often welcomed the exercise but they are also laid out in a way that you can ambled through the gardens as you climb. There are also many assistance options like the golf buggy for those that are not as agile or just want to relax.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and holiday and would recommend the hotel and area.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Magg1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Magg1301
Thank you for your lovely comments and strong recommendations.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We highly appreciate your comments concerning our location, and about our beach Cavtat, about the rooms, and the restaurants. We hope we will see you back soon in sunny Cavtat.
Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just arrived home after a weeks stay 12th June -19th June, on arrival we were checked in right away, room quite nice, on the 2nd floor which is really ground level, a room higher would have been nice, but the views were good, the hotel needs updating to be a 5 star, but everywhere is spotless, first 2 days were lovely and then came the storms and oh boy did it rain, thunder, lightening more or less solid for 2 days, the hotel is very large and you have to walk quite a way to the pools, dining etc, lots and lots of steps, very steep steps down to the beach, but you get used to it, a buggy runs you up and down which is great, especially up! but it does not run when it is raining, Cavtat town is so pretty, lot's of nice restaurants, serving good food and decently priced drinks, cheaper than the Hotel, the people in the town and the hotel are very nice, it only costs £5.00 in a taxi into the town. The food in the hotel is ok, the steak restaurant is worth a visit. lovely steaks! the pool bar also does nice lunches, If you get a ferry across to Dubrovnik make sure the sea is calm, on our way back the sea was very rough, and people were sick, some were crying it was that bad! The pool area is very clean, but just not big enough for the size of the hotel, people saving sunbeds with their towels and then not coming back to use them!!! inside pool is lovely nice and peaceful. all in all staff are nice, hotel very clean, food in the cavtat restaurant is ok, but needs some updating to become a 5 star, I would only rate the hotel 3 star+ but the staff 5 star ! Stepanie & Stephen Scholes Rochdale Lancs England

Room Tip: rooms on a higher floor would have even better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scissors33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear scissors33
Thank you for staying with us and for finding time to report your impressions. We are happy that overall you did have enjoyable stay, even though it was disappointing for you in some aspects. Thank you for your valuable comments, and we hope we will get a chance to welcome You once again in Hotel Croatia.
Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
6 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
162 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $105 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing