We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavtat - Little Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cavtat - Little Italy”
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Cavtat in Croatia is a beautiful small town. It has been described as a mini Sorrentio of Italy and how true this is. It is small village with all the necessities, good local shop, bakery, post office, bank, bank machines. There are some fabolous restaurants and the waiting staff are so helpful. The harbour is beautiful day and night and how wonderful it was to sit on the harbour and watch the sun set. Cavtat is not a family resort but in my opinion perfect for a romantic week or two. Also how nice it is to go on holiday and not be pestered by pub/restaurant owners.

Hotel Croatia is the best hotel we have stayed in abroad. ON check in we discovered the sea view that we paid €400 had not been allocated to us. The receptionist informed us immediately that we would not be receiving same. They moved us to a better room and on return we received our €400 refund from Sunway so no complaints.

We went on a B & B basis. I am glad we did this as the restaurants in town are much nicer. Breakfast was lovely. If i had any problem with it, it was that they serve the same food every day and after 2 weeks it is monotonous. We went to the baker a few mornings for variety. Hotel staff are all friendly and polite and although we had no problems I am confident they would be dealt with.

The swimming pool is lovely but we went to the harbour every day where there are sunbeds, umbrellas and towels free of charge (how rare). Water sports are availabe to 6pm everyday.
There are a lot of steps up to the hotel so the elderly and families with small children would be affected but we didn't mind. It was exercise!!

We went to Dubrovnik 2 evenings but it is quite a distance and the bus route we thought complicated and it is too expensive to get a taxi. We preferred Cavtat anyway. We went to Montenegro and Mostar(Bosnia Herzigovna) on day trips.

We have been married 5 years now and this was like a honeymoon. It was so romantic and laid back.

I will definitely return next year and will stay again at HOtel Croatia.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — The 250 steps up to it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lmcdonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    1,060
    276
    49
    16
See reviews for
440
1,676
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Excellent hotel - great for a break. We visited as a family of four - two teenage boys - for a week in late August, looking for relaxation/sunshine rather than activity. Cavtat & the hotel gave us that - spot on.

We went with the B&B option which let us try the restaurants in Cavtat in the evenings - beautiful settings, plenty of variety, very good quality, though surprisingly close to home prices.
We found the food in the hotel excellent and the staff very friendly indeed. (Slav languages have a lot of harsh sounds, and the people speak English in the same tones, but once you get your head around that it's easy to see how welcoming and helpful they are.) There were plenty of advertised activities - table tennis, volleyball, etc. - but takeup on these was pretty low, most people just wanting to rest & relax.

Spent the days mostly in the sun & in the pool. The pool area was crowded, not helped by some people taking two sunbeds, one in sun & one in shade. Having said that there was always somewhere to go either to bask or to cool off - after the first few days it was easy enough to organise yourself for whatever you wanted. We also had an excellent sea view room - definitely worth the few bob extra (see photos),

Overall, a great sun break - plenty of options if you want other types of holiday too. This was our first time in Croatia but, if this is indicative of the quality (and especially the beauty of the country, and the weather!) - we'll definitely be going back.

  • Liked — Everything was there - all facilities worked just fine.
  • Disliked — Big and lacking in character.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed here for a week (after a week on the island of Korcula - also lovely!) and I loved this hotel. When we got our room, we didn't have a great sea view (even though we did have a bit of one) and the reception staff changed it straight away with no problems. The new room had an amazing view! The room and bathroom were very nice, possible not what you might expect in a 5 star but we had no problems with them at all.

The food was fantastic and it is definitely worth going half board to get the buffet dinner because it is lovely. The lunch from the pool and beach bars are nice but are more expensive than in Cavtat. The hotel is expensive in general for drinks and food but we loved the relaxed atmosphere of the piano bar which was quieter and more romantic than most of the bars in town so we were happy to pay the prices for a couple of drinks each evening (2 for 1 on cocktails before dinner though 6-7!). Also the steps turned us off going down town too often!

We foubd the pool far nicer with the sea water and were always able to get a sun lounger regarless of time,mind you it may not have been in a prime spot, but we got them! There is no lifegueard though to control some kids who were purposely trying to anooy people by throwing balls across and jumping in to splash you!!

We both used the Spa and found it lovely and well priced in comparison to Irish hotel spa prices.

I agree with previous comments about the lifts - silly to only have 3!

  • Liked — Views, food, pool, south beach, comfortable room
  • Disliked — 3 lifts, 3 pcs and 130 steps down to the sea!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IrelandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Have just got back today from 2 weeks at the Hotel Croatia and thought I'd do a review before I forgot.
I will start with Cavtat itself which is brilliant, a real gem of a village in a perfect harbour. It is picure postcard stuff and sitting and having a beer whilst watching the sun set from one of the bars on the harbour front is a perfect end to a great day. You can dream about your lottery win as you see the boats of the millionaires dock in the bay.
In Cavtat itself there are some good restaurants along the harbour as well as 1 supermarket, a greengrocer stand and a great bakery (try the meat bread). Posijdon is a great place for a lazy pizza lunch.
Hotel Croatia itself is more 4 than 5 star but for a place with almost 500 rooms there is still a smallish feel to it. Book a sea view room and wake up to a great view every morning but make sure you dont get one of the rooms with an inter-connecting door as this is a very poor sound insulator and the family next door were very noisy and woke us up regularly far too early.
The rooms are good, albeit a sqeeze with an extra childs bed and the bathroom had the best shower for miles - a real dustbin lid style.
The pool is good with plenty of shady areas and is seawater so very east to float around aimlessly for hours. The 'beaches' are either rocky outcrops on the sea-side (with a nudist beach section) or a concrete bathing platform on the harbour side - the harbour 'beach' is good and very quiet with loungers and brolies although there are some slippy steps into the water which is about 6 foot deep straight away so not for the non-swimmers.
The indoor pools is fine but only the same temperature as the outdoor one so why bother?
There is a small gym which is OK but not for the serious keep-fitters.
The food is good but not great - buffet style breakfast & dinner with a reasonable variety but certainly not 5 star standards - loads of it but better quality would have been nice.
Drinks are quite expensive in the hotel - beer is a twice the price of buying it at a bar in Cavtat - and ignore the white wine - the red is much more drinkable.
People have talked about the steps to the village and I would agree that for the elderly or unfit they would be hard work - I found them a great way to work off breakfast.
Trips out included Dubrovnik which is a MUST, but get there early or late to walk the walls as it is too hot at midday - there is a bus from the hotel that leaves at 9am and gets back about 4pm or there are regular boats from the harbour.
Overall a really good holiday in a 4 star quality hotel, Cavtat and Croatia are great so you should realy consider this as your next holiday.

  • Liked — the views from the balcony
  • Disliked — the noise from next door
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Spent 11 days at this hotel on bed and breakfast basis and I think this was the cause of our main complaint. The service at breakfast was non-existent on a good day and positively resentful on a bad one. I really felt we were treated less well than those who had paid for half board (we were in a side area). We ate at the Steak House 3 times and the food and service were both good. The bedrooms were fine and our kids enjoyed the pool although you would have to be up pretty early to get a sunbed. There was only one place to eat lunch up at the hotel and that was overpriced. Drinks were also expensive - do take advantage of happy hour in the very pleasant Piano Bar. I do think the steps down to town would be a problem if you were elderly or not fairly fit. We also usually gave up waiting for a lift as they took so long to come.
We went to lovely Dubrovnic twice , once on the No10 bus and once by boat. Unfortunately we hit choppy water on the return trip which was really quite scary so pick a day when the sea looks calm. Cavtat is lovely - essentially a strip of restaurants with similar menus with luxury yachts each night to gawp at.
We also drove to Montenegro which involved an hour's wait at the border each way.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank avenue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband, young son and i have just returned from this hotel after a two week holiday. Upon arrival the staff seemed nice enough and we were given our room keys. Where upon we then had to endure the first of many long tedious waits for the lift to arrive. There are 3 very small lifts in the hotel, even though the hotel has over 400 rooms!! We had 2 large suitcases, and just about managed to get in the lift with the porter! For a hotel of this size this is utterly ridiculous-
and for atleast 5 days one of the lifts were out of order which is just what you need when the hotel is full to capacity and you are on 9th floor.

We had a suite, and the sofa in the lounge converted into a bed for our son. The decor of both rooms was fine, the rooms were clean and the views simply stunning. Our bedroom was not the most spacious we have stayed in- but served its purpose. We had a problem with a loud buzzing noise coming from our air conditioning unit (whether it was switched on or off) and an extremly rude maintance man attemped to repair it. It took 3 attempts to do so.

The pool area is large with sun loungers a plenty. There are no umbrellas around the pool although you do get shade from the trees that are surrounding if you want. There is no pool service at this hotel. If you want drinks or snacks you have to go to the pool bar which is by the indoor pool or the restaurant which is situated near by. If you, like us, like to drink lots of water whilst soaking up the sun, then make sure you have plenty of money on you. The prices in the hotel were outrageous, costing £4.00 for a large bottle and £2.50 for a small bottle of water. (we got water for 60p a bottle from outside the hotel and bought it in). The sea water pool was clean, and although cold , warmed up once you got in. For young kids the taste of the sea water isnt pleasent so on day 2 we purchased an inflatable boat, which was fantastic. I would also advise young children to wear goggles as the pool has chlorine in the sea water aswell.

We went bed and breakfast as we like to go out in the evenings. There are approx 130 steps which take you down to the small town. Here, there are plenty of restuarants serving meat, fish, pizza and pasta. You can get a 45min boat which takes you into Dubrovnik. For all you football fans there is a sports bar which shows live premiership matches!!! Friends we made, who were half board reccommended we eat in the hotel as the buffet was lovely. Just make sure you book -although be warned, if the hotel is full this doesnt mean you will get a table.
And you will also have to get past the henchmen on the door whose manner was so aggressive and unproffessional it defied belief.

When we booked, this hotel was a 5star, though i believe it is going down to a 4 star-rightly so. For those of you with kids be aware that the kids club is a small dark room on the 5 floor of the hotel with a ball pond and crayons-nothing else.

In summary , this is not a five star hotel. It is lacking in the quality service you would expect and the staff with a few notable exceptions are cold at best. The hotel is massive and lacks atmosphere. It has potential and room to have all facilites you would want which was all the more frustrating. The surrouding area is beautiful though and the weather glorious every day.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — lack of childrens facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We - My husband ,myself and two children aged 11 &12- booked this years holiday through Inghams to Hotel Croatia in Cavtat. Local Inghams reps were very helpful and available at all times by way of mobile. Reception staff appeared to be fluent in several languages including English and were always friendly and happy to help. We booked two seaview rooms with balconies as an extra and it was well worth the money as the rooms overlooking the gardens appeared to be quite dark when looking in. We were allocated two interconnecting rooms on level 6, although we only booked adjoining rooms- an extra bonus. Rooms were very clean with excellent air conditioning - if you remembered to keep the balcony doors shut!
Did not use the hotel pool (it was salt water) as we preferred the sea which was mostly calm, and had enough fish to warrant using snorkels. Wear beach shoes as sea has urchins. Two bathing areas attached to the hotel - one at the front, Cavtat beach, with many steps to climb down, or a more pleasant and slightly easier route through a woodland walk with staggered steps. The one at back, South beach, was accessed via level 1 of the hotel, with fewer steps down.
We tended to have an aperitif in the piano bar, and had the bonus of 'happy hour', between 6-7 every night. We found the drinks to be about £15 in total for two rounds for four of us (2 beers and 2 soft drinks per round), so full price would have been a little expensive by UK standards.
We stayed on a half board basis. All meals were help yourself buffet style, with great selections every day to cater for all tastes. Just remember on first meal to check in with maitre d to be allocated table for duration of stay - we saw one or two couples wandering aimlessly round as they had not booked in and couldn't find their table. The staff soon spotted the strays and dealt with them and we found all staff that we came across to be as helpful as they possibly could, especially Marija, who was our waitress.
We tried to speak a bit of Croatian, even if only please and thank you and it seemed to be well received and appreciated. This appeared to work for us throughout Croatia and we certainly did not encounter any of the 'people problems' that some visitors have suggested they have had. The impression given is that if you made the effort and said it with a smile, the service you received was as good as anywhere.
Hired a car for 5 days, was well worth it. Found lovely little pebble beaches up and down the coast, Oretiste and Molunat for example. Ventured into Montenegro as far as Tivat, wasn't worth the trouble of queueing at the border control. Also,drove into Bosnia. No trouble at border but was caught by 'tour guide' in Mostar who charged for longer than originally agreed. We did not have a watch to contradict him and didn't know the local customs (such as bartering?), so like fools paid more than originally agreed. BEWARE, don't bother as the tourist part of Mostar is relatively small and you can easily find your own way around. Either that,or be very strong and stick to the agreed price, no matter what!! (Oh the benefit of hindsight). Very hot in Mostar 48 degrees and a long drive - about 2.5/3 hours. Currency is not only Euros, it is also Kuna so not necessary to change any money up.
Catch the tourist line bus directly from the hotel to Dubrovnik Old Town rather than the number 10 which starts in Cavtat. The 10 is a bit of an experience as it gets incredibly busy and you are liable to end up with a sweaty and smelly armpit in the vicinity of your nostrils!! Not pleasant at 10 o'clock in the morning! Also this does not run directly into Dubrovnik Old Town, but drops off along the road, although it is cheaper than the tourist line and does run more frequently and on Sundays.

All in all the Hotel Croatia is a fabulous hotel, great food, fantastic location, lovely people and would definitely recommend staying.

  • Liked — Spacious, cool and clean rooms with comfy beds and fabulous views
  • Disliked — Steps from Cavtat to hotel can be tiring at the end of an evening spent in the town
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
245 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
9.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing