We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved it here. The views from the hotel are amazing and the walks around the grounds are wonderful too. I won't repeat what everyone else has said but would like to add that we found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The people in the nearby supermarket however are very rude - be prepared!
Although we had a room at the back of the hotel and therefore didn't have a view of anything but trees, it didn't bother us.
Best bits - going by boat to Dubrovnik, chilling out in Cavtat (we went peak season but it still didn't feel too busy), walking Dubrovnik's city walls (hot but OK), walking round Cavtat and just chilling out everywhere.
The trip to Montenegro was an experience, but crossing the border was a nightmare and, although the place is beautiful, we preferred Croatia, particularly because where we went in Montenegro had a feeling of being uncared for with a lot of litter lying about. It was interesting to hear about the history of Yugoslavia on the trip however.
Yes, I would recommend Hotel Croatia and Cavtat for anyone wanting a restful holiday. Not really for children though as there are no sandy beaches.

Room Tip: Although we were on the 8th floor out of 9 we were at the back and therefore on the ground floor! (T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear lesley h,

Thank you for staying in Hotel Croatia and for recommending us to future clients with highest rating on Trip Advisor.
We are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable in every aspect, and that you left with beautiful memories. We are especially pleased to see that you recognized friendly and helpful attitude of our employees. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,847 - 1,853 of 2,849 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Croatia is a really good standard 5* holiday resort hotel. We stayed 10 days at the end of August and our room was very clean and very comfortable, with a very comfy bed, an air-conditioning system which ran on an almost silent setting, good quality towelling and bathroom accessories, and a balcony with spectacular sunset views.
The breakfast buffet was substantial, very well presented and very well managed with plenty of wait-staff to serve the Tea/Coffee and to cook to order should you have wished to order. The main restaurant was big, bright and spacious with a fabulous veranda for breakfast al fresco. Those staying on a half-board basis had to use this restaurant for evening meals also, but there are 4 other eateries within the hotel for those more adventurous palettes, or those not constrained by the half-board basis: these are all good quality restaurants, we really liked the Steakhouse, and had a number of fine evening meals beside the sea in The Spinaker. The Alverde restaurant, beside the swimming pools proved a winner for lunches, and although there are many restaurants just a short walk down the seafront, we chose to eat most of the time in the hotel as we have grown weary of having feral cats threading through our legs while we eat, and at least in the hotel restaurants this is not, and never will be a problem.
Sandwiches and salads can also be taken while using the Piano Bar, and once again, the quality and freshness of the food was as you’d expect from such an establishment.
The Bars stock a full range of international drinks, and as expected, they charge hotel prices.
The swimming pools are well maintained and popular, and if wish to spend a day by the pool you’ll need an early start as space can be a premium, with the usual suspects attempting to mark out sun-beds with towels literally as early as daylight allows.
We spent our time by the sea, not too easily accessible for those who just wish to paddle their feet or dampen the ankles, but perfect for the more competent swimmers, but the hotel does have a fairly well laid-out Lido area beside the sea with the added benefit of daytime service from the Spinaker.
The Hotel Croatia is a big hotel; almost 500 rooms of varying size spread over 10 floors, but it is extremely well managed. And now the really important stuff, the staff is exemplary: every single person we encountered was pleasant and helpful, almost to a fault; and this, more than any other aspect of a foreign holiday or excursion, is how we initially encounter a foreign culture. Hotels, in essence, are little more than bricks and mortar with a corporate name attached, but the heart and soul of any establishment will always be the people within, and this is where the Hotel Croatia really comes up trumps; it has a superb staff.
Hotel Croatia is a fairly comfortable hotel with a level of understated chic which should appeal to most potential clients, and hopefully we’ll return soon…

Room Tip: we stayed in room 336, and we thought our view was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houseofj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear houseofj,

Thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review of your recent stay in Hotel Croatia.
We are so pleased to see that we succeeded in meeting your full expectations as a 5 star hotel, and that the service you have experienced was praiseworthy.
We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed all of our services and facilities, starting from our location and rooms with stunning sea views. Furthermore, we are glad that you enjoyed buffet restaurant, as well as all of our a la carte restaurants: Steak House, Spinaker and Alverde. And finally, we are thankful for highlighting our staff friendliness and helpfulness, which is a true reflection of our hard work and genuine Croatian hospitality.
Thank you again for your valuable comments. We truly hope that you will visit us again soon so we can make your holidays enjoyable once again.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week as a last minute booking on our final 2 days in Croatia due to a bad booking elsewhere. Have to say we were reluctant to stay due to price per night of €176 b&b (cheapest room) but after the 2 days there and a perfect sea view from the sun loungers it was a piece of heaven. As with other reviews, the sun loungers are taken up really early so you would need to make sure you're up at the crack of dawn for a good spot in the sun.
The best spot is down the steps towards the beach (more like pier,no sand or pebbles) where loungers are plentiful and you get amazing views of the docking area and yachts.
We carried our towels to the far stretch on the right through the gates and sun bathed half way between the town and the beach lounge area as the sun stays longer out this end.
Breakfast is fantastic with plenty of choice. Staff were very friendly throughout our stay.

Only downside was both the indoor and outdoor pools were salt water. We learned the hard way after jumping in and coughing up the water when it going up our noses. Yuk!! Ouch.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rare_flower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear rare_flower01,

It is a great pleasure to read such a nice and positive review of your recent stay in Hotel Croatia. We are happy and proud that your stay with us was enjoyable experience in terms of location, rooms with stunning views overlooking Adriatic Sea, and especially staff friendly attitude. We truly hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again on our property. In the meantime, we are sending you our kindest regards from sunny Cavtat.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Croatia was somewhere we had never considered for a holiday.

However, on recommendation we decided to spend a week in Cavtat this summer at the
Hotel Croatia.

I understand what another reviewer meant by some of the reception staff being quite stern whether meant or not (a smile does not cost). However they were courteous and professional at all times.

We were staying on the 9th floor of the hotel. Whenever you come out of the lift there are large windows looking out over the bay of Cavat. Quite spectacular.

The rooms were large and in good condition, the bathrooms were immaculate and were kept that way during our stay. (Cleaning staff are lovely - they smile!!!)
Beds were comfortable and air conditioning was great as the rooms did get very warm
during the day.

We were booked on half board basis and have been to other hotels on the same basis and found that normally the found can be quite repetitive but this was definately better!!

The choice was excellent and i was able to have something totally different each night.
Breakfasts were also very good with great choice for everyone.

As the hotel sits on a cliff top the walk down into Cavtat is quite steep - lots of steps!!!
Fine going down - not so good going up!!
The hotel have buggies and at night these were up and down from the hotel on a regular basis.

Cavtat - small but so beautiful. Small promenade/harbour where the most amazing boats were moored. Some restaurants ,cocktail bars and a few shops. Just a lovely relaxing place to stay and only 20mins from Dubrovnik by bus or you could take the one of the water taxis down at the harbour. if you go to Dubrovnik walk the walls - really good. Dont go there at the weekend - all the cruise ships are in and it gets pretty packed. Choose a day through the week.

I would definately recommend both the Hotel and Cavtat (if only to be a small distance from the hussle and bustle of Dubrovnik)

Room Tip: for better views stay on a floor above reception (reception seems to be on the middle floor of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellaone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear bellaone50,

Thank you for staying with us and reporting wonderful comments of your stay in our hotel.
We are more than happy that you left our Hotel with beautiful memories and that we did meet your expectations, and that your stay was enjoyable in terms of our location, rooms with stunning views overlooking Adriatic Sea and Cavtat, and quality of our buffet food. We are especially delighted to hear that you recognized our staff friendliness and helpfulness.
We were delighted to have you among us and we truly hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel and lovely Cavtat.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is grand and classy yet understated.It sits amongst pine tree son and although huge is well hidden in Cavtat.It is up a very steep hill and so I would say not ideal for the elderly or people with mobility problems.They is a golf cart that frequently runs up and down to Cavtat if you are determined to stay here.
The sea view rooms are clearly the best and the view. A are stunning of the 3 islands closeby and you can watch all the yachts sailing bar,very calming.
The hotel pool is lovely and has a small kids pool and lovely indoor pool.Guests have the added bonus of use of the private beach in Cavtat bay below the hotel and an amazing man made beach on the open sea front(a nudist beach too)
Would say food is average and drinks expensive but you are in prime location.
Rooms are okay and again this will depend on which room you pay for.
Overall,I love this hotel?not ideal for kids but it does have a kids club.The staff are friendly and pleasant.I would say great for couples and older people for a calm relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammybianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sammybianchi,

Thank you for finding time to report your lovely comments on Trip Advisor.
We can see through your comments that you truly enjoyed your holidays in our hotel, and we are glad to see that you are recommending it to other potential guests. We are grateful for your excellent comments concerning the location and service. It is a pleasure to see that you mentioned the attitude and helpfulness of our employees, which is a true reflection of our hard work.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future, and in the meantime, we are sending you our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from 11 days at Hotel Croatia, Cavtat. We believe that the hotel deserves the mainly high markings it gets on Tripadvisor and we found the staff very friendly and approachable and eager to please.
Our room was on the 4th floor and at the southern end (Room 452) which gave us an uninterrupted view of the sea and the rocks below the hotel. We would have preferred to have had a kettle in the room with tea/coffee supplied and there was also no ice available unless you went to the bar and asked for it; we suggested to the hotel that consideration be given to these features in future. We would recommend a higher floor if you are on the sea side as some of the lower floors have blocked views due to trees in the way; 5th or above should be fine.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis although half-board was available. Guests who we spoke to on half board said that although the evening meals were of a high standard, they wished they had been b&b so that they could have had more choice in the very good restaurants/cafes in Cavtat. Breakfast was excellent; a great deal of choice and the hotel caters well for the wide range of nationalities that stay here. We think that the British were just about the largest group but we may have been wrong; apparently there are far fewer Russians travelling to Croatia since it joined the EU on 1 July as they now have to apply for visas.

We had no problem finding sunbeds around the pool but we were sat on them from before 7.00am! There was a lot of the usual selfish behaviour with guests coming down to the pool early with towels and then going away for hours; the hotel has signs up that towels will be removed after half an hour but we never saw this happen. There are lots of beds available on the rocks by the sea but again you need to be early to get one.

We didn’t use the bars in the hotel very much; the prices were high compared to bars in Cavtat but there is a ‘Happy Hour’ (40% off cocktails only) in the piano bar between 4-6pm, and 4-7 (weekdays) in the Spinaker bar which is on the north side of the hotel near Cavtat bay.

We didn’t swim in the sea very much; the temperature was not very good for leisurely swimming. The rocky side was rough and the red flag was flying for a few days due to high winds. There is a nudist beach too but we stayed away; swimming was safer from the north side near the Spinaker bar.

We were with Classic Tours and the company representative advised us on the first day that since Croatia joined the EU it was more difficult to use the Euro; we thought he was exaggerating but in Cavtat some bars and restaurants would not accept Euros at all, although everywhere accepts credit cards. Apparently, since 1 July, businesses have to record all financial transactions on new electronic tills in Kuna which must be monitored closely by the government. Lots of businesses have been fined and/or closed down already. This would appear to be part of the conditions of joining the EU and to stop the ‘black economy’. The local English language paper also mentioned this; we found it much easier to use Euros in Dubrovnik but even there some places refused them. You might want to rethink if you intended taking Euros only.

We drank quite a lot of the local beer and white wine which was very good quality; we would recommend Posip and Grasevina whites; both available in the local supermarket in Cavtat for between 32-43 Kuna for litre bottles, very good value.

Cavtat is a very laid-back village with loads of places to eat/drink along the harbour. There is also a very busy water polo pool; apparently water polo is the most popular sport in this part of Croatia. Plenty of very expensive yachts stop in Cavtat as well; you can see them clearly from some of the restaurants. There are 2 ice cream shops, both selling very good ice cream for 7 Kuna; we preferred the one across the road from the coffee shop as the one nearer to the harbour ripped us off on the first day.

There are lots of walks around Cavtat but almost all of them need you to climb and walk over some rough ground, but the views you get are worth it. Bus services to Dubrovnik are frequent and inexpensive at 10 Kuna each way; the water taxis take longer and make some stops along the way but the views are great and only 70 Kuna return.

We booked 2 trips with ‘Atlas’; both were excellent value at 400 Kuna per person. The first was a 3 island trip to the Kelafati Islands which included a great lunch with lots of wine. The second was to Mostar in Bosnia which took roughly 4 hours each way as you have to pass 3 border crossings between Croatia and Bosnia each way; one crossing alone took 45 minutes. However, it was worth it to see Mostar; no problem spending Euros there.

We would also recommend the cable car in Dubrovnik for great views of the city.

Overall we recommend the Hotel Croatia and will definitely return there if we return to the Dubrovnik area in future.

Room Tip: If you want an uninterrupted sea view ask fir 5th florr and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlCatraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear AlCatraz,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and finding time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to see such a positive review and to see that the service you have experienced in our hotel was praiseworthy. We are also glad to hear that you found all of our services and facilities enjoyable, from your room, to our beaches, restaurants and employee's attitude and friendliness. We were happy to have you among us. Thank you again for your valuable comments and high recommendations, we truly appreciate it. Hopefully we will see you soon back in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel placed in very beautiful place, 2 beaches available for the guests plus one in-door and one out-door pools. The territory is huge, variety of restaurants on the territory of hotel. Cavtat with bars, restaurants and yachts is very close to hotel. I will return to this place!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valeria K,

Thank you for staying with us and reporting wonderful comments of your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything throughout your stay with us. We highly appreciate all of your comments and recommendations for potential future guests.
It was our pleasure welcoming you in our hotel, and hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you again. In the meantime, we are sending the warmest regards from Cavtat.

Sincerely,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,010 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $119 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing