We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, but?”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fantastic week at Hotel Croatia, accommodation very good, staff very friendly, but not a hotel for people who have walking difficulties, golf buggy not available 3 times out of 7 nights ( was on charge) Not enough sun beds around the pool. Would have been great if tea and coffee facilities were available in room. Steak restaurant in hotel excellent and lunch around the pool was also very good. Worth a visit to Dubrovnik during the day and a visit at night is a must.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Pauline R,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia, and for reporting your impressions on Trip Advisor.
We apologize for the inconvenience with a golf cart not being available while charging. However, we are happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable and memorable stay in our hotel, and that we succeeded in fulfilling your expectations.
We hope that you will visit us again soon, until then, we are sending our best regards.

Sincerely,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    1,089
    288
    52
    18
See reviews for
472
1,712
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What can I say? Hotel Croatia really made our holiday special for all the right reasons. It is a beautiful big spacious hotel with lovely air conditioned rooms with lots to do when you dont want to go to far for the day. Its in a perfect setting minutes away from Cavta centre with spectacular views and friendly staff. Most days are spent lazing around a beautiful pool with lovely chill out music being played in the background and views over the picturesque town of Cavtat.

The only complaint I would have about this hotel is the situation with poolside loungers. Every day was a problem trying to get a lounger by the pool because there aren't enough for the number of guests. People were up early and putting their towels on loungers making it impossible for anyone arriving at the pool later to find a spot to relax. It also meant you had to get up early to beat them to it. This is crucial to have a place by the pool and umbrella for shade in these temperatures. However there are very polite and helpful pool staff who will do their best to find a place for you if asked. While we were there they changed the rules so that if you left your lounger for over 30 mins your towel would be removed. This seemed to be working well enough.

Positive aspects about the hotel are:

- its beautiful panoramic views and location
- friendly staff
- superb spa with a sauna and relaxation room looking out over the sea
- lovely salt water swimming pool
- nice restaurants
- happy hour on cocktails in the piano bar every day
- wonderful breakfasts
- lovely air conditioned rooms
- rooms cleaned every day
- golf buggies to take you up and down the hill if you are too tired to take the steps


A few things about this hotel made the holiday extra special for me.

- in the evening you can get a lounger at the back of the hotel on the cliff/rocks leading down to the sea and watch the sun setting over Cavtat - a truly spectacular site.

- on my birthday a birthday cake was delivered to the room while we were out - a really nice personal touch

- on departure day when we had no longer any access to the room and had to get ready to leave we were able to use the lovely Spa facilities but when I discovered that the hairdryers there werent very powerful the lady from the spa brought me to the hair salon and allowed me to use this air-conditioned room to do my hair. Another really nice touch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would love to return for another holiday some time.

My break was a couples holiday but I would also recommend the hotel for children and they seemed to be having a ball and there were activities scheduled every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123gmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear 123gmac,

We want to express our deepest gratitude for the wonderful and detailed comments you have made about your recent stay in Hotel Croatia. This is the best motivation we may receive in exchange of our hard work and dedication to profession, and it will definitely be one more reason to continue working hard for all of our employees.
We are happy and pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel in every aspect, and that we contributed to such enjoyable holidays.
Thank you again, and we are truly looking forward to see you soon among us.

With kindest regards from sunny Cavtat,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel review

When me and my boyfriend arrived at Hotel croatia for our week stay we were very impressed, friendly & helpful staff, took our luggage to our room. The pool is always very busy so if you want a bed, best get up crack of dawn! This is something the hotel could possibly work on, the stairs down from the hotel to Cavtat are pretty tiring, not great in the sweltering heat! But that is a minor issue, worth the walk completely! One thing I can't not discuss in this review, is one particular run in we had, on our first night we decided to drink at the hotel bar. We had about 4/5 rounds and we were asked if we would like to pay cash or room number, we said cash. When we came to pay this tab, we presumed that it would be saved on the computer (a mistake on our part) the barmaid who had served us most of the evening said that she had given us the receipts, we apologised and said we didn't realise we had to keep them and said we could list what we had bought. The waitress then went on to sigh at us, speaking in Croatian to her colleagues looking very angry, the worst attitude I have ever seen, I had never felt so ridiculed in my life! After we paid her and left a generous tip my boyfriend asked if there was a problem and said sorry we didnt keep the receipts she then said "no you go now you have paid" and literally shooed us away. I was speechless and very upset, the rest of our week every time she served us, she didnt not say hello, your welcome or anything! Didnt acknowledge us at all, except one night around 30mins before the bar was due to shut, she brought our drinks and said she was going home and we had to pay for the drinks she had made now (so she could get her tip I'd imagine) totally unprofessional, made my boyfriend go up to the bar and pay for that one round upfront because she was "off home". A real let down as all the other staff were fantastic. I have worked in customer service for several years and that is not how you treat a customer ESPECIALLY a polite one in a 5* hotel. We did hope to discuss this with a manager before we left but did not have time before our taxi arrived on the last day. Only other small thing is that the aircon in the rooms actually made the room warmer at night than outside, not good when your trying to get some sleep in order to get up at 7am for a sunbed! Over all good hotel, a great holiday also. But this was mostly to do with Cavtat itself! Small things that brought my rating down unfortunately but something Hotel Croatia can definitely work on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronzegoddess93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bronzegoddess93,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay in our property.
First of all, accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience you have experienced with our bar staff being unfriendly, and we can assure you that we will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We took good note of all your comments, as they offer us a chance to improve in every aspect.
However, we are truly happy that apart from that negative experience you have spent enjoyable and relaxing holidays in Hotel Croatia.
We sincerely hope that you will give us a pleasure to welcome you again, in order to fulfill all your expectations. In the meantime, we are sending our warmest regards.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromley
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, everything we expected and more. If you're travelling with Thompsons, their rep is fantastic. Only draw back is lack of sunbed spaces around the pool.
Food at the restaurant is brilliant, so much variety and the salads and fruit excellent quality.
The boat trip to Dubrovnik is a very relaxing way to make the journey, and a walk around the city walls a must, try to avoid the hottest part of the day though.

Room Tip: Sea views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear abcgg,

Thank you for taking time to share your holiday impressions in our Hotel on Trip Advisor, and for ranking us with the highest possible note. We are happy to see that our hotel fulfilled your expectations, and that you have enjoyed our Hotel in every aspect, which is a greatest award we may receive from our guests in exchange of our hard work.
We sincerely hope to see you back soon in our hotel and beautiful sunny Cavtat.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely place to visit, Cavtat is a lovely place, but the hotel did little to make your stay memorable.
We were on the 9th floor with a Tree view, not as is states on the website. You spend a lot of time waiting for the lift. The hotel is only interested in getting as much money from you as possible. The drinks in your room fridge very over priced. No kettle in room.
I refused to set the alarm clock on my holiday so I never yet got a sun bed by the pool the whole week I was there.
The hotel has a very subdued atmosphere. The only night the bar was full was when it was raining so we had no choice but to pay the expensive costs of drinks, more than double to the bars on the marina. Had a meal one night at the steak restaurant, had to send the steak back three times to ask for it to be cooked, i'd asked for well done, it kept coming back dripping in blood. very disappointed as we had been looking forward to that night.

Room Tip: Request before you book what room view you want and which floor. The hotel is very big a map would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Diane277,

Thank you for taking the time to report your feedback on the holidays you spent in our Hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as you expected, and we wish we could have provided you with a better experience despite of the fact that the hotel occupancy was exceptionally high during this period.
We are working hard in improving all our facilities as well as our service and we really hope that you will give us a second chance to show you the kind of service we normally provide at Hotel Croatia.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are 3 days into our 5 day stay having spent the last 14 days touring Croatia and feel that in addition to the already reported misgivings I must make people and management aware of the apparent lack of control of the beach area. Today it was obvious that it was largely populated by non-residents occupying the sun chairs dotted around the area. It is a fantastic facility that today was devalued by the ingress of non paying visitors with lower standards of behaviour than can be expected from people staying in this hotel. Examples such as an elderly lady rummaging in a bin, two young men sleeping in an alcove to only depart leaving underwear and the remnants of their lunch and a pile of cigarette butts. It seems all too easy to walk in and use the sun chairs. Can anything be done? A further review will follow with moe positive comments.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank padstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear padstow,

Thank you for taking the time to report your impressions about your stay at our hotel. Your comments are extremely valuable for us and will help us definitely in making our operation better.
We apologize for all the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay concerning the lack of sun beds at beach and pool area. As we mentioned in the previous reviews, we are aware that it is a big problem in our Hotel, and we are doing our best to improve the situation.
We truly hope that despite that, your holidays were enjoyable and memorable, and that we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a two week half board stay. We loved Cavtat, and had a great holiday. However the hotel just makes a number of small easily remedied errors that detracted from our holiday;
- The sea view room we were eventually given was lovely. However, despite requesting a high level double room we were initially given a low level twin room. This was changed to an even lower level double room on ground level and the sea view was virtually entirely obscured by utility type equipment and trees. We were given a different room the following day - a twin room on Level 5 which we were relatively happy with - but with twin beds pushed together. When we were trying to get our room changed we found one of the reception staff to be brutally rude - even going so far as to ignore us entirely when we were standing next to him. I suggested that we were willing to pay to upgrade to the suite for the one night until we were changed the following morning but was told 'it was too expensive for me'. How do the reception staff know that for goodness sake!
- We had to set our alarm every morning to get a sunbed next to the pool (they were all taken by 8AM). We would have preferred to sit at the beach area near the Spinaker restaurant where there were plenty of sunbeds but they were really uncomfortable. If the hotel had provided cushions for the beach sunbeds it would definitely have remedied the problem of insufficient beds at the pool.
- I have a disability and found the steps really painful. When the golf buggy was working effectively it was great. We were happy to ring the reception for it to come for us when it was not running, which it always did. However, we did feel that if we were the people who had spent the money on our mobile phone ringing for the buggy we should be the ones who were picked up. Only once were we asked who had rung to ensure we got a priority seat. After all, the buggy always returned if there were any more guests waiting. Twice however the buggy broke down half way up the hill, leaving me in a worse position than being stuck at the bottom when I could have at least sat waiting for the next one.
- The bars were virtually deserted even though the hotel was full because the cost of the drinks was ridiculous. If the cost of the drinks was lower then the bars would have been used, and the hotel would have had more atmosphere.
The hotel had many good features;
- The buffet meals were fine, they were what you would expect from buffet meals. I agree with the comments below that it would have been good if H/B guests had been given perhaps one a la carte meal in one of the hotels restaurants
- Every aspect of the hotel was immaculately clean
- With the exception of the really appalling service at the reception desk the staff were all friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Insist on a seaview room Floor 5 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynedale_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear tynedale_traveller,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia as your holiday destination, and for finding time to report your impressions.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your holidays, as well as our services and facilities. We will certainly take into consideration all of your comments and constructive critics, and we assure you that we are doing our best to improve our services continuously.
We hope that you will give us a chance to welcome you again in order to meet your full expectations as a real 5 star Hotel.

Kind regards,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
9.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,838 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing