We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Nearby Hotels
$195
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bacan Serviced Apartments(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
$44
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pansion Lovac(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
$75
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castelletto(Cavtat)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Ana(Cavtat)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Red Coral Apartments(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Radovic(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Royal(Cavtat)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cavtat(Cavtat)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,949)
Filter reviews
2,949 results
Traveler rating
1,373
1,180
321
57
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,373
1,180
321
57
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano bargolf buggybuggy servicesteak restaurantsalt waterspinaker restaurantsea viewhalf boardspinnaker baroutdoor poolfive star hotelthe clifflovely hotellarge hotelnudist beachbeach areamain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
2,057 - 2,062 of 2,949 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights recently. The hotel is a 10 min drive from Dubrovnik airport which costs 100 kuna (15e). The hotel reception area is fab definitely 5 star. Staff were friendly not over friendly but pleasant. Our room was on the 7th floor we didn't have a sea view but didn't mind as we really spent very little time in our room. The outdoor pool is fantastic and was a warm 30C. We were lucky that the temperatures in Cavtat we as high as 36C some days. You need to get to the sun lounges early in the morning between 8-9am to get a good spot. The pool bar is very nice and you can get your drinks/lunch etc. The hotel also has 2 beaches one down overlooking the town of Cavtat the other at the back of the hotel. I liked breakfast I wouldn't rave about it as much as others but there was plenty of fruit, breads, drinks ham & cheese. The hot breakfast had many egg dishes but lacked proper sausages bacon etc. but I would recommend staying on a B&B basis at this hotel it was worth it. The steps down to Cavtat (over 100) are fine, everyone manages ok and there is a golf buggy too. Cavtat is just gorgeous picture perfect we loved it and are delighted we stayed here instead of Dubrovnik. This hotel definitely made the holiday memorable and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. We recommend buying boat tickets for trips off a guy called H you'll find him at the bottom of the steps going to Cavtat. My husband used the spa and thought the sports massage was brilliant. Also, definitely visit Poseidon restaurant (first place you see going into Cavtat on the left) for diner food was great there and cheap!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScientistIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear ScientistIreland,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia as your holiday destination and for reporting your impressions on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel, and that you left with beautiful vacation memories. Our guests’ satisfaction is our greatest award.
Hopefully, we will have an opportunity to welcome you once again in Hotel Croatia, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards from lovely and sunny Cavtat.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Croatia which was overall a lovely and clean hotel with friendly staff. Lovely room with everything you could want in a hotel of this standard on the 8th floor ; we didn't have a sea view but it was fine with lovely pine trees to look at. We arrived just after 11am expecting not to be able to go into our room by the usual time of 2pm but fortunately after a quick check-in by the efficient receptionist we were in the room by 10 past 11. Breakfasts at the hotel were absolutely fine with a wide variety of food catering for every diet. However, the evening buffet could be quite repetitive with a limited choice of unappetising warm food! It was also disappointing to see that although the hotel has three beautifully positioned restaurants, during our stay we saw very few people using them which, in my opinion, means that the hotel management seriously need to review their marketing and pricing strategy in order to compete with some of the beautiful restaurants in the town where we ate 3 nights out of 7.

Would be happy to return in the future and the infamous steps to the town are really not a problem!

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Riggers7,

We would like to express our gratitude for staying in our hotel and finding time to write your comments on Trip Advisor page. We are genuinely pleased to see that you enjoyed your holidays in Hotel Croatia, and that you left with beautiful vacation memories. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, our staff helpfulness and kindness, and buffet breakfast. However, we are very sorry to learn that the buffet dinner in the main restaurant was not as enjoyable as it should be, and be assured that we took a good note of your comments and remarks, as they offer us an opportunity to improve our services.
We are looking forward on welcoming you in Hotel Croatia in the future, and we will do our best to make your holidays enjoyable and memorable once again.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent a total of 7 nights in this fantastic hotel (5 nights at the start of our holiday and 2 nights at the end). We got a sea view room both times with beautiful views, especially at sunset. The rooms are really bright and spacious. The hotel has excellent facilities with indoor and outdoor pools and a beach area. The food at the poolside restaurant was particularly good. The hotel overlooks Cavtat which is a really beautiful part of Croatia. It was only a few minutes walk into Cavtat with a good choice of lovely restaurants. Hated leaving and would happily return tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Jaddy1,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in Hotel Croatia and for reporting your impressions on Trip Advisor page.
We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel, from the location, setting, food, to our services. It is enjoyable to read that the sea view room with unique sunsets and the proximity to our lovely village Cavtat contributed to your holiday memories.
Hopefully, we will have an opportunity to welcome you in not too distant future in order to make your holidays enjoyable once again.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are going to Hotel Croatia in September and so looking forward to it after reading the very favourable reviews on here. This sounds very daft I know....but a couple of reviews ago someone wrote about there being those horrible big worms , yes snakes, on the road....I have a really really bad phobia about them so had anyone else on here seen or know if there are any of those horrible things anywhere near the hotel !!! I'm praying that it is only in the mountainous areas that they live !! Sorry for this sounding so silly but honestly I'm really scared and believe me you will hear me scream if I happen to come across one. Thankyou. Lynda x

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Lynda,

We are always happy to answer any question our guests might have.
Concerning the review you have read about the snakes, what the guests saw was probably legless lizard, or as we call it in Croatia, “blavor”. It looks like snake, but it is completely harmless, it doesn't attack people, and it’s a rarity to see it in the middle of the road. Legless lizard usually hides in the woods and in the bushes. We hope that this helped and lessened your concerns.
We are looking forward on welcoming you in September, and we truly hope you will have a memorable and pleasant stay in our Hotel Croatia.
If you have any further questions, you can always contact us through email (guest.services@hotelcroatia.hr) and we will be happy to help you.

Kind regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back from 1 week break in the Croatia hotel. As explained many times before the hotel is lovely in a well appointed area of Cavtat as it blends into the surrounding pine trees. The hotel is quite large but apart from meal times you would never know it had so many guests. As said before check in is 2pm (and not a minute before!). I think a hotel of this standard should offer early arriving guests a welcome drink. We got there half an hour before in sweltering 35c heat. Check in was a bit poor as only one person on reception desk when the 2pm rush started (there were 4 doing nothing when we arrived), and no explanation was given when meals time were, on what floor the pool was, what other facilities are available. There is a book in the room explaining all of this, but a brief description would have been handy.

Apart from this the hotel was great. The food at breakfast was great and vast. The evening meals were good but the hotel is trying to cater to so many people and nationalities that the choice may not suit everyone. There are many bars and restaurants in nearby Cavtat which do excellent value for money meals too. The drinks prices are much cheaper here too.

Cavtat itself is a little gem in my opinion. A small little town that offers so much and is only a short boat or bus ride from Dubrovnik. We went there by taxi boat as this is the best way to approach the old town. There are a number of vendors that offer a taxi boat there and these run during the day.

As said before there are a number of quality bars and restaurants in Cavtat and it is very popular in the evening, We spent many an evening people watching with a nice cold drink!! Also watching the super yachts in the harbour is another thing entirely, some have to be seen to be believed! And yes the ice creams were popular with us too!

If you are staying here, going to Dubrovnik is an absolute must. It was a hot day when we went but it was so worth it. The old town walls walk is knackering in the heat but the views more than make up for it. There are even better views of the old town and surrounding islands if you take the cable car up to the top of the nearby mountain!

We had a great time here and would definitely stay again. The airport is only 10 mins away by taxi so is very convenient if you don't like a long transfer when you arrive! Liked the hotel and loved Cavtat and Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have an excellent view, the park rooms do not have a great view but are very quiet and are in the shade keeping the room nice and cool all day
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangepeel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear orangepeel75,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained your positive and negative feelings about your stay. Your opinion is highly valuable and it helps us to improve our services.
We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Croatia, and that you took time to explore and experience more of Cavtat and Dubrovnik through boat excursions and nice walks.
However, we apologize for all the inconveniences you have experienced during your check in, and we hope that apart from that, you enjoyed every aspect of your holidays.
We truly hope we will have a chance to welcome you once again in, as you said, lovely hotel and splendid Cavtat.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews