We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cavtat”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Apartments Sutalo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cavtat, Konavle, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David W
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cavtat”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Apartemnt Sutalo, in Cavtat through booking.com, which I was a bit worried about, only having to pay on arrival, but I had no need to worry. On arrival at airport, I had arranged pick up Connecto Transfers, and I wouldn't hesitate recommending them, the journey to Cavtat and apartment was around 5-10 minutes.
We were met by Natasha, as we were early arriving, we waited for around 10 minutes in the newly built BBQ, area, with views over the pool, and sea, it was beautiful all, the flight path and approach into Dubrovnik Airport is directly over the house.
We had the 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor, and it was really clean, with small kitchen, living area. The twin room is the bigger room, but more then enough, and the twin had double doors onto the balcony, which in the heat could do with a canopy. There is a small but adequate mini market at the end of the roads, which leads down into Cavtat Old Town, which is beautiful with private boats, and many restaurants, to choose from, there are 2 harbours to Cavtata, both with a walk that takes takes you past views of Old Dubrovnik City, and athe walk takes you from one side of the harbour to the other.

There are a number of different tour operators on the harbour front, offering varied tours water taxis to the 3 island tours, and trips across to Dubrovnik. We went by bus, with the bus stop being a short walk from the apartment and it's the n.o. 10 bus but they do get full, and I mean full as people stand in the middle isle squashed like sardines.
We were dropped off at the Old City stop, and took the long steep walk down to the Old City, which was absolutely packed with tourists, we paid the I think it was 150 Kuna to walk around the walls, which if you struggle with heights and steps you would find it hard, but the views are amazing. There are hundreds of shops, and places to eat so you have loads of choice.
Luckily we had done the walk before it poured down, and we had already queued to go up the cable car, when they stopped it. We bought tickets to come back on the bus, but when it arrived it was already full, and people pushed in front of us, so we couldn't get on, we managed to get our money back, and got a taxi back, which cost 250 kuna between four of us.

Later during the week we went back, using the water taxi, from Cavtat, and managed to get up in the cable car, with spectacular views. We also did the 3 Island Tour as well, which started at Cavtat, coming back at around 1830. Well worth the views, with a lovely meal, cooked on board of Chicken and Fish with salad. The island a generally the same, with not much in the sense of beaches, but busy.

On the Saturday we did a trip to Montenegro, unfortunately you spend a lot of time on the coach, and time at the boarder with Croatia, and Montenegro, we managed to get through fairly quick 1/2 an hour, but during summer periods can be a lot longer. Montenegro was nice, some run down areas, but the two places we went to were generally the same tourist spots, with the same shops selling the same stuff. Don't know I would recommend it, you need your passports though.

Natasha's husband Pero is. A Captain on a Cruise ship, and we only saw him when he got back the day before we went home, they are both lovely and nothing is to much trouble. The only issue we had was not being able to work the TV, there's no welcome book, with information , and Natasha didn't know what to do with it. So as a tip, take your IPad, and down load "TVCatchup" with a good internet connection, we were able to watch all British channels it offers on this app, so, itv, BBC, etc.

Cavtat will keep you fit as the walk down into the town, is very steep with good paths, but a killer on the calfs coming back up, especially as already said by others when it's hot. Taxis and buses are available, but we walked it every time, me mostly out of breath.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Apartment Sutalo, and Cavtat, both are amazing, and having spoken to Pero about his plans to develop the area, with electric gates that work with your phones, and a hot tub area, it will be even more amazing, beautiful views and lovely hosts.
Overall 10/10 for me.

Thanks so much to Natasha, nad Pero for your hospitality, and hope to see you again sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tag_Beak
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Apartment with Stunning View”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 2 week stay in the Comfort rooftop apartment. 2 Adults and 2 kids.

Room: Clean and spacious. The view out to sea from the balcony is amazing and has 4 comfortable chairs - great to sit out at breakfast and at sunset. Basic but adequate kitchen equipment. Decent oven. Bathroom is quite large with excellent shower. Comfortable and good size sofa bed for the 2 kids to share.

Pool: Lovely pool and never had a problem getting a sunbed during our stay. There were a number of occasions when we were the only people around the pool despite the apartments being full. There aren't any parasols but this isn't a problem as there are always shaded areas around the pool during the day either from the trees or the excellent dining/BBQ area above it.

Walk to and from town: It takes about 10 mins down into town with great views of Cavtat and Dubrovnik in the distance as you walk. The first half of the walk back is very steep. It can be challenging during the afternoon sun. Not so bad in the evening. But you can catch a No. 10 bus (every 30 mins) which takes you past the hill and only costs 10 kuna each (£1.25) or a taxi back will cost 50-60 kuna. The short climb was definitely worth it though to stay in such a nice apartment.

The owner Natasa also lives in the apartment block and is very helpful and always available.There is a supermarket less than 5 mins walk away. The airport is just a short 10-15 min taxi journey away.

I would definitely return to this property. A big thank you to Natasa who was always on hand when needed. A lovely host. And also a thank you to Pero who answered numerous email questions from me very promptly prior our arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PERFECT...”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned home from this lovely destination. Apartment was perfect. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. We had an amazing view across the sea. I have never had a view like it. Nataša looked after us extremely well making sure we had everything we needed. She made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of useful advice. We met some lovely people who we shared an evening with on the dining terrace,, which had recently been built for the guests. It had a bar-b-q, hob & all crockery and utensils. The property had a lovely size pool in which we used constantly. The harbour was a 10 minute walk which was ok going down but not for the faint hearted coming up. We caught the bus which ran every half hour. Restaurants were great. We never had 1 bad meal. Would recommend Ivan..We will most definitely return back to cavtat and stay in Sutalo without a doubt..
Thank you Natasa

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
Thank You Laura. I am very happy that you enjoyed my apartments. It was my pleasure to have you as my guest and I hope to see you again next year or sometime soon..

Thank you

Natasa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-n-Hils
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment. Great Location. Fantastic Views.”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Villa Sutalo for two weeks in mid-July - myself, my wife and our teenage son - in the 2-bed apartment on the first floor. The apartment was spotless, with an excellent shower, comfortable beds and fantastic air-conditioning (a god-send as temperatures were in the 30C's all fortnight). The view from the balcony out to sea was superb and it was great to sit out there at any time of day or night. One tiny, tiny, quibble is that there is only one power socket on the wall above the kitchen units so the kettle and toast machine (sandwich-maker style rather than pop-up type) could not be used together. We tried to buy a double adaptor in town but could not find one.

The pool area was immaculate with extremely comfortable sunbeds and a clean, warm pool with steps at one end for easy access and seats at the other - which also had a bubble-jet, spa facility activated by a button to the side of the pool. There was a newly-built, covered-over, communal barbecue area overlooking the pool with a huge fire-pit, lots of wood for burning and also a fully-fitted outdoor kitchen with all cutlery, crockery and glassware supplied. It was also a useful source of shade during the hotter parts of the day.

There is no safe in the apartment but it felt very secure with efficient shutters and double-locked, double-glazed doors and windows. It helps that the owners live on-site in the apartment below the one we were in. Natasha was a lovely, friendly, hostess who was always asking if there was anything else we needed, or if she could help with anything.

The apartments are located on a hill above Cavtat itself, overlooking the sea. There's a PEMO supermarket about 3-minutes walk away and a bar/restaurant a further minute or so down the hill - next to the bus-stop to Dubrovnik. It's a 10-minute walk from the aprtments down to the centre and about a 15-minute walk back, depending on the time of day/night as it's quite steep for most of the way. We found that if we took the slightly longer route - using the footpath next to the road rather than the shortcut down a steep bank (with steps part of the way) - it was a lot less steep and easier on the feet both up and down and only took a few minutes longer.

Take the time to explore both sides of Cavtat - the Marina where the super-yachts moor is to the left at the bottom of the bank whilst the other fishing harbour is to the right with the beach further round on that side. There are lots and lots of bars and restaurants to suit all budgets on both sides.

We had a fantastic stay in a great apartment, with great hosts, in a great resort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipandred
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, lovely host!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks staying at Apartment Sutalo. We are a family of 4, 2 adults, 2 children. We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was spotless and had everything we could need including a well equipped kitchen and air con. The pool was fantastic with plenty of sun loungers and as its only a small apartment block we often had the pool to ourselves. Natasha was the perfect host who couldn't do enough for us - we will miss her!
I can't recommend these apartments highly enough. The only slight downside is its quite a steep walk back from the town centre but taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment with stunning views”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We've just spent 3 nights here and WOW! Lovely apartment, fabulous pool area and Cavtat itself is beautiful. We could not wish to have stayed in a better place, yes a few steps up to get back to the apartment....if this puts you off, I wouldn't go to Dubrovnik (steps everywhere)!! Simply fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you Lori. I am happy that you enjoyed in my apartment and that you liked my property in general. I hope to see you again in the near future.

Rgds

Natasa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethanyja...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STUNNING APARTMENTS - AMAZING HOSTS”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful trip to Cavtat towards the end of our travelling of Croatia. The apartment was brand new, with perfectly working facilities and beautiful interior. The pool was stunning and changed colour at night! We were also very near the marina (10 min walk max) and great bus service to Dubrovnik Old Town! Would definitely stay again - fantastic value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing