We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best you can find in the region, at very affordable prices”

Restaurant Bugenvila
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience carefully sourced highest quality ingredients cooked to perfection. Enjoy immaculately presented seasonal cocktails. Taste some of the best Croatian wines. Enjoy life!
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best you can find in the region, at very affordable prices”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Most of the restaurants between Dubrovnik and Cavtat could share the same menu: grilled fish, grilled calamari, steamed potatoes and swiss chard, etc.

Bugenvila is definitely different. While it stays true to the local ingredients, the dishes are innovative and perfectly executed and seasoned. The truffles and prosecco soup we tasted was one of the best dishes I've ever tried, and I could say the same for a couple of others on the menu. Their wines list is rich and the waiters know their stuff, they'll be able to help you chose the perfect match.

The service is also of superior quality, which is appreciated in a region with a low service tradition.

On top of that, the prices are very affordable, almost cheap. Both times we went there we left outrageous tips since we couldn't believe we had this kind of quality at that price. We'd still have been exceptionally happy at twice that level.

In short: go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gavruki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    220
    62
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked a table here on advice from our Croatian host, which was lucky as throughout the night many people were turned away. Upon arrival we had a refreshing cocktail aperitif, a starter of truffle risotto which was divine, followed by a vegetarian pasta dish for myself and tenderloin steak (topped with more truffles) for my partner. The price is amazingly low compared to what you would expect in the UK - the steak came in at only €16 and my partner swears it's the best she's ever had! The food couldn't have been better, and the service was top quality - our drinks were refilled all evening and the waiters were always there when you needed them without being in the way. If you are staying in Cavtat or visiting for the day, booking a table here is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Spinelli101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“World class restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We are very picky when it comes to the restaurants. This place is world class - the food, the service,... Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilmosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hands down best meal we had in our 2 week trip in Croatia both in terms of service and food. We managed to fit two dinners here and both times it was excellent. Such a pity we found it on our second last night. The oysters, truffle soup and rissotto was the best. Always a plus for fresh baked warm bread! Its right by the water and a perfect spot to catch the sunset. You can get there from dubrovnik by catching the ferry or the bus, its well worth the trip!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Do not miss Cavdat/Bugenvila”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The sea-boulevard of Cavdat is a restaurant-street that one should think as a base even when he/she was staying in Dubrovnik. We had our last day of vacation and we took a bus-trip from the Port (Cruz) (20Kn/person) to Cavdat. We were having a nice walk inCadat and had a nice lunch in Bugenvila. Absolutely perfect service, nice food and good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juhani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bugenvila also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Bugenvila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing