We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonic”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Cavtat for 2 weeks the staff were very friendly and helpful the food was very good and plenty of variety.The rooms were a bit dated but verycomfortable.
I would recommended this hotel to anyone.
The Town of cavtat is very scenic you can get a water taxi to Dubrovinik about 45minutes away.
I0 mins from Dubrovinik airport and I hour from Montenegro boarder.
If you like scenery and relaxation and also the odd sroll or if you are keen walker there is plenty of walks.
There is plenty of restaurants and bars etcin cavtat.
If you want nightlife I recommended Old Town Dubrovinik at night which is busy but has feel of class about it.
We will return some day.

Stewart Michelle.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boggarthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

We spent a fortnight at the Cavtat (pronounced savtat), and found it very comfortable, very convenient for local restaurants (there are lots), and the staff cheerful and friendly.
The downsides are that Cavtat village is directly under the flightpath of incoming aircraft for Dubrovnik airport - and they are at zero level as they go over! This wouldn't be too bad if you could keep the balcony doors/windows shut at night - but for the most peculiar reaso, Hotel Cavtat's owners (Iberostar Group) will only allow ther air-con. to be used in July and August. We were their during a September heatwave (temperatures of 25-30deg.C), Super during the day - but at night, it was SO stuffy!
The restaurant has little to offer. It is buffet style.Breakfast is fine, with a wide selection - but evenings are better spent elsewhere in one of the many very good restaurants.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again - especially if the weather was cooler! We had a spacious sea-view balcony room - well worth the extra. (Level 3, rooms 324 up have the best views. 321 to 323 are obscured by trees. Level 2, directly below, are similar.)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling-man38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

You must get a sea view as others will disappoint. Stayed in room 210 which we had booked as a sea view which it was from the balcony by looking round the corner. The room was very small and basic with scratchy tools and no hair drier or safe (one in reception if required). Beds were thin and not that comfortable but all was very clean. The shower is fixed at knee height for some reason so you have to hold the head in your hand and risk flooding the bathroom which contains no bath, but plenty of hot water. Breakfasts are served till 11pm but 10 till 11 is cold continental only. We found that the hotel was clearing all away at 9.55! Quality of breakfast food was OK but uninspiring and became boring after a few days. We did not do evening meal as the hotel dining room finished serving rather early at 9pm and the food didn't look that good and cost as much as eating out plus it lacked any charm or character. It's best to walk 300 yard and sit outside at one of the many superb restaurants along the front of the harbour. The hotel is certainly not cheap but compared with others nearby such as the Croatia it's a bargain. One final note the wine is rubbish and very expensive stick to beer or spirits.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gavin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I'll begin by saying that Cavtat itself is a jewel. A charming little town full of amicable locals, 'superyachts' and countless feral cats situated next to the clearest, bluest sea you'll ever see. A handful of historical monuments, museums and churches to visit, a few gift shops, one tiny convenience store/open air market, small bus station with half hourly service to Dubrovnik and one or two elsewhere, about 16 or so cafes, restaurants and bars all selling the same fare of grilled meats, fresh fish, pasta and pizza. All in all, not a lot to do but the perfect place to simply relax, swim/snorkel with the fish, people watch whilst enjoying the best ice cream/coffee, take a boat trip/partake in watersports or stroll along the coast whilst taking in the stunning surroundings and smelling the scent of pine and wild herbs. If you want to be close to historical Dubrovnik, but away from all the hustle and bustle, this is the perfect resort to choose.

As for the Hotel Iberostar Cavtat........well, I have mixed feelings.

The hotel is situated 'upside down'. One floor of rooms and sun terrace above reception (to which there is no lift, only stairs) and three floors of bedrooms and the dining room below reception, which is accessible by two very tiny lifts. Our room was on the floor above reception. After dragging two heavy cases upstairs (with no offer of assistance) we found our room to be very basic but comfortable and spacious. Think 1980s decor and melamine furniture and you get the picture.

The room had no real introduction pack, no mini bar, no hairdryer, no tea/coffee making facilities and no safe, however, you are able to keep your passport/money etc, for free of charge in the safe behind reception. The room was cleaned daily and the bed linen changed regularly during our two week stay.

English channels on the TV consisted of CNN and MTV. Not really a problem I suppose unless you get bad weather, as in this situation there is nothing else to pass your time in the hotel, unless you speak German (loads of TV channels) take a book to read or pack of cards etc.

The bathroom was adequate/clean but very small and there was little shelf space for toiletries. It was replenished daily with shower gel, soap and towels, but no shampoo. Also, strangely the shower unit (no bath) appeared to be constructed for elves with the fixture halfway down the wall and was prone to flooding.

The most disappointing aspect of our room was that we paid for a balcony with sea view, however, ended up with a 5% view of the sea, some mountains, plus trees and hotel buildings which obliterated the sun for the whole day. We were offered an alternative room below reception but found these to be much smaller and dingy.

The soundproofing in the hotel is better than others we've stayed in, however, you are able to hear the shower, taps etc in the adjoining bathroom......a real pain if your neighbour is fixated on taking long showers at 5am every morning like ours was! Also be aware that the air conditioning is turned off mid September and is only switched on at the manager's discretion. Our bedroom at night was uncomfortable due to daily temperatures ranging from 27-32C. We were unable to keep the patio doors open at night due to biting insects. We noticed that lots of people were afflicted with bites so if you suffer do make sure to pack some insect repellent/antihistamines etc.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss although I cannot fault the dining room staff. Charming, friendly, attentive and forever restocking, however, the food was very basic (think cash and carry) and didn't change from one day to the next.......apart from the left over vegetables from the night before! Not the greatest selection on offer, however, edible on most days (there were some off ones though!)

In the main the staff at reception were very helpful, spoke excellent English (puts us to shame) and were happy to assist with any queries. The only gripe was that before booking we were under the impression we would be able to use the swimming pools/facilities at the Iberostar sister hotels, however, on checking with the reception manager was told that this was not the case and went without the use of a pool for two weeks. I have since read another review stating that they were able to use the pools so I suggest that if this aspect of the holiday is important to you then it is best to get it confirmed in writing before booking with this hotel.

As stated, there is no pool at the Iberostar Cavtat, however, the hotel does have a sun terrace with loungers/parasols, however, this is only accessible by stairs. The hotel has a 'beach' directly outside, however, this is basically a not very private, small concrete slab with some steps directly into the sea. Please note, if you are planning on swimming it is best to take some appropriate footwear as sea urchins are prevalent and there are no sandy beaches in Cavtat. We found the pretty seaside resort of Mlini (short bus drive away) another option for spending a day lazing by the sea although be prepared to pay for the use of sun loungers/parasols.

All in all, we loved the resort of Cavtat. Our hotel was not the best we've ever stayed in but then I guess you get what you pay for. The hotel has hardly any facilities and basically caters for the older generation, many whom appear to be regulars. The upside is the location.......right in the centre of town and close to the bus station. Personally, I would suggest that the Albatross/Epidaurus are better suited to young couples/families (about a 10-15 minute walk away from the town) and if you really want to push the boat out, investigate staying at the Hotel Croatia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AggieDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel is one of three in the same group - the others being Albatross and Epidaurus - in Cavtat, a gorgeously pretty little spot half an hour's bus journey to Dubrovnic. (Bus station three minutes, left out of the front door). Other reports have referred to the vertical nature of this property - certainly not wheelchair friendly! But there are lifts, so no biggy really, provided you can cope with a few stairs here and there.

The location is, for transport at least, better than the other two, and it is cheaper, but the downside is no pool, and the food was not great. BUT.... The key issue here is that for no cost, you can get reception to book you in to either of the other two, and the buffet at the Albatross (where you can also swim in their pool) is really, really good. And they have pretty fair hotel entertainment each night, if you like that sort of thing. Ten or fifteen minutes pleasant walk there and back (turn right out of the hotel, and follow the coast road) which means tjhat you can get all the advantages of the dearer hotel, for the lower-priced hotel's cost - result! Just make sure you book the night before.

Oh and another thought... If going by bus to Dubrovnic, look out for the old town, and get off whilst it is to your seaward side. The bus goes into the main town thereafter - and it takes half an hour to walk back. Or another bus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fly-by-Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

First the good news - Hotel Iberostar Cavtat is clean, functional and superbly situated on the quieter of the two adjoining bays that make up Cavtat. Reception is up the dreaded hill, but the hotel is set into the hillside, and the restaurant terrace is just a few steps above sea level - and the hotel's cafe/bar terrace across the road offers stunning views throughout the day.

However, in Cavtat, as with most other things, all this comes at a price...almost exactly the same, in fact, as we paid for a room in New York a few months ago. However, our room in Manhattan - one of the world's most expensive places for real estate - was in a stylish, well-equipped luxury hotel with rainforest shower, wall-mounted flat screen TV and luxury toiletries. The Cavtat equivalent turned out to be a paler imitation of what Premier Inn offers in the UK...only much smaller. What's more, the ensuite facilities didn't include a bath...just a hand-held shower with no fixture to enable you to stand under it. Thankfully, the air-conditioning was much more efficient - and invaluable in the high temperatures at the end of August.

Once we were there, the staff were friendly enough - but our dealings with reception before we set off made us somewhat wary. Because we had seen that many hotels/accommodation arranged transport from the nearby Dubrovnik airport, I enquired whether the Iberostar provided any such service, or could recommend a taxi service. The answer was a curt no. Similarly, when I e-mailed to ask if there was an ironing board in the room, or if I would be able to borrow one, I was informed that no such facilities are provided because they have a washing/ironing service. They attached the pricelist - and by my calculations, the cost of having a skirt ironed was around £3.50.

We paid extra for a sea view room - well worth it - and also for half-board, which wasn't. We usually prefer to eat out, and only took the half-board option because the extra fee was so small...but, like they say, if something seems too good to be true, it usually is. Let's just say that we only ate there the first night. The breakfast buffet, meanwhile, is adequate - though the same every day - and we're still trying to work out why coffee was presented in sizable thermal jugs for each table, while anyone wanting tea had to use a one-cup sized pot.

Cavtat itself is stunningly pretty, with a peaceful atmosphere and lots of families enjoying themselves. We found prices in the majority of restaurants in the main part of the resort to be around the same - as were the menus. Our favourite was the Toranj, which offered high standards of service and food, with lower prices than its nearby neighbour the much-vaunted Dalmatijia. However, prices around Tiha Bay (turn right outside the hotel) were considerably less - and the restaurants just as picturesque.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

First off: be aware that there are 3 Iberostar hotels in Cavtat. This one is a modest ordinary looking place in a charming location on the sea and just a couple of minutes from the centre of Cavtat. Buffet meals are taken on the terrace just across the road from the sea. Food was on the good side of ordinary. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we got the impression of a well-run place. Rooms were small but comfortable. We had a pleasant terrace with sea-view and functioning air-conditioning.

Cavtat itself is enchanting. A very pretty harbour with a number of good inexpensive restaurants. Much cheaper than nearby Dubrovnik and a peaceful haven in comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 18 in Cavtat
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $70 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing