We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Enough.”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Big Enough.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I tend to go for the smaller hotels, we think you get looked after better. We stayed at the Hotel Cavtat a few years a go half board, the food was very good and we always had our breakfast and evening meal on the terrace overlooking the sea and small harbor it was perfect. The staff were so friendly and helpful they made you feel very comfortable and relaxed nothing was to much trouble for them. I think our room was the best one in the hotel, it was on the top floor in the middle and looking at it from the road below it looked the biggest, it was very nice and the views were fantastic. Cavtat is a beautiful place, there is plenty of activity day and night so you wont get bored and its only a very short drive from the airport. We would highly recommend Hotel Cavtat, we had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking sea and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Maurice K,

thank you for your lovely feedback about your stay with us! It is so nice of you that you still remember spent time with us even you've stayed few months ago.

So much appreciated that you took some time to share it with all TripAdvisor's visitors.
I can't find enough words to thank you for posting such a beautiful comments about our hotel, our services, our staff.. Every member of my Team is grateful as you noticed their hard work and all their attention to every our guest.

We hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you again! We are preparing for new attending season!

Warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    375
    88
    17
    7
See reviews for
105
691
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for £250 for the room b&b for a week through booking.com and I was on the whole really pleased. Wonderful setting, clean rooms, loved the buffet breakfasts. The bar and outside terrace is great. The rooftop swimming pool was small but stunning with a nice rooftop sunbathing area. The only negatives for me where the double rooms where two single beds put together with separate sheets - I don't mind the two beds put together as long as there is a double sheets and duvets to cover it. The other was that beautiful as it was -the pool was very cold. So cold that we only ventured in once on the hottest day this however didn't spoil the holiday as there are plenty of places around Cavtat to swim and the water was lovely. Cavtat is a beautiful and great place to stay, there are plenty of restaurants and bars and easy to get to Dubrovnik. Also easy transfers to and from the airport. The town was quieter because it was the end of the season but we had a lovely relaxing holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Abigail H,

thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your holiday with us!
It was our pleasure to welcome you, and we truly loved to have you as our guests.

Regarding to single beds in room, we found it the easiest way, as some guests want to have twin beds, and other double bed, so in that case as yours we just put it together.

It is so nice to read that you had wonderful time in our hometown, and in our hotel.
We hope that we'll have an opportunity to welcome you again in future!

Kind regards from Cavtat, and have a happy merry Christmas and happy New Year!

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed during the last week of the season 2013. Staff were generally friendly and helpful especially the waiters who were great characters! Food was as expected considering the hotel cost although we preferred the salads/cold buffet to the hot meals offered. Cavtat is a great location and very pretty place to stay with regular boat trips up the coast. Great views from the bedrooms.
Most guests when we were there were British and we were made very welcome. Thank you for a good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sueondartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sueondartmoor,

It was our pleasure to welcome you during last week of this season! You had really luck with magnificient weather to enjoy your vacantion in our region.

Thank you for your kind review regarding to our staff, our cleanliness, service, etc.
We hope that it wasn't your last visit to our beautiful country and our friendly hotel!

Also, we hope that next time you'll put all best rates to our hotel! We'll try to do our best to improve it!

Many thanks and kind regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff very friendly & helpful, meal choices were good there was something for everyone.It has a superb pool on the roof but a bit of heating wouldnt go amiss.
Cavtat as a place is beautiful, some lovely restaurants, scenic walks and the clearest sea I have ever seen.
Bus service to Dubrovnik was good cheap & regular as was the boat service, all in all a good place in October I can only imagine what its like in the height of the season.
Thanks to all the staff, look forward to seeing you all again sometime.

Room Tip: Rooms 307/308 good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PJC1958MCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear PJC1958MCFC,

It is so nice feeling to read again such a wonderful compliments to our hotel and its staff.
Thank you for sharing it with all TripAdvisor's visitors! We all appreciate it.

We are happy to read that you liked our hotel, every apect of our service, and of course our beautiful region and country!
It is always nice to welcome kind people as you are!

We're looking forward to meet you again as soon as it possible!

In meantime, we're sending to you the warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked this holiday for the half term break having previously enjoyed holidays in Porec in the north of the country. We loved Cavtat immediately. It has a great charm and is far more personable than Porec. The hotel has been extensively refurbished and the room was excellent. Meals in the evening were fine and there are also a range of excellent cuisines available at the many restaurants in Cavtat - even in late October. The breakfast was good and the staff were great - Ivica the waiter was excellent! The views are splendid and we were in a sea view room overlooking the coast towards Dubrovnik. We would recommend some of the excellent walks in the area and of course the Rat peninsular which is excellent for sunset. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MJSS501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MJSS501,

We really appreciate your wonderful words about your stay with us.
Every region in Croatia is really magnificient, but for us like for you Cavtat is something really special. Walking on peninsula Rat and overlooking that splendid sunset is moment of heaven on the Earth.

Thank you in advance for your recommendation to all your friends and family!

I believe that we'll have an oportunity to meet you soon in future!

Kind regards from beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A rare find. Recent renovation makes this 3 star rated hotel truly 4 star. Great location and views of bay. Facilities are excellent, clean, comfortable and well laid out. Can not beat price. Cavtat is a very pretty town with nice restaurants on waterfront. A frequent and inexpensive ferry to Dubrovnik makes it a smart choice as base for visiting area particularly if traveling by car. Less than 5 minutes to airport. Easy to visit Montenegro and Kotor. Friendly staff. Can not recommend more strongly. Would go out of my way to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 406-412 giving totally unobstucted views of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joed11777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear joed11777,

thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us!
Short, but really pleasant words about our hotel and region. It is nice to know that people all over the world truly enjoy our culture, meet our friendly people and beautiful region.

We all hope that you'll go out of your way to meet us again!

Best regards from all my Team,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked four sea view rooms directly with the hotel. Booking was efficient and we were offered 7 nights for the price of 6. Rooms were situated one block back from front line but still with sea view. A small road runs in front of the hotel so those who dislike any road noise or loud voices may prefer these rooms. All the refurbished rooms were lovely except the location of one beside hotel reception which was promptly changed with good humour the next day. The hotel is well maintained and very clean. Beds very comfortable with memory foam mattresses. We booked on bed and breakfast basis and ate out in the excellent local restaurants in the evening so can't comment on evening meals in hotel. Buffet breakfasts were adequate. Would possibly try half board next time as I was quoted only 4Euros extra per night for half board if booked in advance, Roof top pool is new and a great area for sunbathing and relaxation, pool only large enough for a few strokes but great for cooling down. The staff in this hotel were all extremely pleasant and helpful in spite of it being end of season. Location excellent, five minutes flat walk to harbour where there are numerous restaurants and boats offering trips to Dubrovnik and islands. Would definitely return to beautiful Cavtat and to this hotel.

Room Tip: One row back from front line sea view for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Brenda S,

your kind words really made our day! We're closed now during the winter season, and doing some final works before going on holiday.

Also, we're planning to do some small works on our still lovely hotel to make it more comfortable and pleasant.

I supposed you've been one of our last guests for season 2013. I am really glad to hear that you've truly enjoyed your stay. You had really luck with weather which is apsolutely perfect in this period of year.

Hopefully, you'll visit us next season!
In meantime we're sending you the warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing