We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Value”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Value”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff very friendly & helpful, meal choices were good there was something for everyone.It has a superb pool on the roof but a bit of heating wouldnt go amiss.
Cavtat as a place is beautiful, some lovely restaurants, scenic walks and the clearest sea I have ever seen.
Bus service to Dubrovnik was good cheap & regular as was the boat service, all in all a good place in October I can only imagine what its like in the height of the season.
Thanks to all the staff, look forward to seeing you all again sometime.

Room Tip: Rooms 307/308 good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PJC1958MCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear PJC1958MCFC,

It is so nice feeling to read again such a wonderful compliments to our hotel and its staff.
Thank you for sharing it with all TripAdvisor's visitors! We all appreciate it.

We are happy to read that you liked our hotel, every apect of our service, and of course our beautiful region and country!
It is always nice to welcome kind people as you are!

We're looking forward to meet you again as soon as it possible!

In meantime, we're sending to you the warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    388
    89
    17
    7
See reviews for
110
720
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked this holiday for the half term break having previously enjoyed holidays in Porec in the north of the country. We loved Cavtat immediately. It has a great charm and is far more personable than Porec. The hotel has been extensively refurbished and the room was excellent. Meals in the evening were fine and there are also a range of excellent cuisines available at the many restaurants in Cavtat - even in late October. The breakfast was good and the staff were great - Ivica the waiter was excellent! The views are splendid and we were in a sea view room overlooking the coast towards Dubrovnik. We would recommend some of the excellent walks in the area and of course the Rat peninsular which is excellent for sunset. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MJSS501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MJSS501,

We really appreciate your wonderful words about your stay with us.
Every region in Croatia is really magnificient, but for us like for you Cavtat is something really special. Walking on peninsula Rat and overlooking that splendid sunset is moment of heaven on the Earth.

Thank you in advance for your recommendation to all your friends and family!

I believe that we'll have an oportunity to meet you soon in future!

Kind regards from beautiful Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A rare find. Recent renovation makes this 3 star rated hotel truly 4 star. Great location and views of bay. Facilities are excellent, clean, comfortable and well laid out. Can not beat price. Cavtat is a very pretty town with nice restaurants on waterfront. A frequent and inexpensive ferry to Dubrovnik makes it a smart choice as base for visiting area particularly if traveling by car. Less than 5 minutes to airport. Easy to visit Montenegro and Kotor. Friendly staff. Can not recommend more strongly. Would go out of my way to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 406-412 giving totally unobstucted views of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joed11777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear joed11777,

thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us!
Short, but really pleasant words about our hotel and region. It is nice to know that people all over the world truly enjoy our culture, meet our friendly people and beautiful region.

We all hope that you'll go out of your way to meet us again!

Best regards from all my Team,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked four sea view rooms directly with the hotel. Booking was efficient and we were offered 7 nights for the price of 6. Rooms were situated one block back from front line but still with sea view. A small road runs in front of the hotel so those who dislike any road noise or loud voices may prefer these rooms. All the refurbished rooms were lovely except the location of one beside hotel reception which was promptly changed with good humour the next day. The hotel is well maintained and very clean. Beds very comfortable with memory foam mattresses. We booked on bed and breakfast basis and ate out in the excellent local restaurants in the evening so can't comment on evening meals in hotel. Buffet breakfasts were adequate. Would possibly try half board next time as I was quoted only 4Euros extra per night for half board if booked in advance, Roof top pool is new and a great area for sunbathing and relaxation, pool only large enough for a few strokes but great for cooling down. The staff in this hotel were all extremely pleasant and helpful in spite of it being end of season. Location excellent, five minutes flat walk to harbour where there are numerous restaurants and boats offering trips to Dubrovnik and islands. Would definitely return to beautiful Cavtat and to this hotel.

Room Tip: One row back from front line sea view for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Brenda S,

your kind words really made our day! We're closed now during the winter season, and doing some final works before going on holiday.

Also, we're planning to do some small works on our still lovely hotel to make it more comfortable and pleasant.

I supposed you've been one of our last guests for season 2013. I am really glad to hear that you've truly enjoyed your stay. You had really luck with weather which is apsolutely perfect in this period of year.

Hopefully, you'll visit us next season!
In meantime we're sending you the warmest regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cavtat is an incredibly beautiful town and this hotel is conveniently located just minutes walk from the center of town. Hotel is modern with a comfortable (but small) shower. Good beds. Our room had a balcony with a pretty good view of the inlet and nearby mountain. Wifi was very weak, you had to go to the lobby. Breakfast was very nice. Overall good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear LIBoomer,

thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor page!
Your words are really appreciated. It is nice to know that you've liked our modern design.

We'll try to improve Wi-Fi for next season to get it higher and more available in all areas.

We'll hope that you'll choose again our hotel to spend your holiday!

Best wishes from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A wonderful hotel, lovely location and some of the nicest staff we have met at any hotel we have stayed in. A lovely clean hotel which certainly deserves to be more than a 3 star. Well done to everyone who works there - you really do an excellent job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sabta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear sabta,

What a wonderful words in only two sentences!! Thank you so much for sharing it with all TripAdvisor's visitors!

We hope that we'll have an oportunity to welcome you again next season!

Warm regards from all our staff,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks, half board at the beginning of October. The hotel is quite modern, the rooms of an adequate size, bathroom with shower only, but with hairdryer - all nicely decorated, white predominates in this hotel. We were in room 416, absolutely beautifull views of the bay, our room was at the end of the corridor, away from reception area, so was lovely and quiet. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel, but reception varies, ours worked in the room but not on the balcony. Lifts to all floors apart from the 5th, so if you have limited mobility bear this in mind.
If we visited again we would go B & B only as dining in the evening was not always a relaxed affair. The times for dinner are 7 - 9pm, but if you are not down early its difficult to find somewhere to sit at times, you have to wait for tables to be reset, and often there was not much choice left. The first couple of days there was ice cream, both vanilla and chocolate, then it went down to just chocolate, then after that nothing, one of the servers said it had not been delivered, but after that towels were over the freezer, so dry cake or fruit for dessert. We personally felt that the dining let the hotel down, maybe designated tables for dinner would be a better idea.
The cleanliness throughout the hotel was extremely good, and our cleaner was so cheerful and never failed to say hello or good morning, a really nice lady. All the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, and both the hotel and the town of Cavtat is a lovely and very picturesque place to visit.

Room Tip: 416 is on the same level as reception, at the end of the corridor (furthest from the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz99EastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Maz99EastYorkshire,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about recent stay with us.
It is nice to read that you've been allocated in room with magnificient view. I'm sure for you that was beautiful starting day overloooking Tiha bay.

We feel so sorry that you didn't truly enjoy our buffet dinner. As we're fully booked during all September and October, sometimes you couldn't find your favorite place in the restaurant. Also, we are closing and we stopped to order ice cream during last days of your stay with us. But, you have a choice to choose our delicious cakes.

We hope that anyway you've truly enjoyed your stay with us!
We're looking forward to welcome you again in our friendly hotel!

Kind regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing