We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for a week long holiday and overall the service was exceptional. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the port area where all of the cafes and restaurants are.
The rooms are nice, large and have a nice shower and toilet. The rooms also come with a good balcony to sit out on in the day or night.

The food each night was very nice and the buffet offered good choice that could everyone's needs. There were tables inside and outside for your preference.

The swimming pool on the top of the hotel is a very nice area to Sun bathe and relax bit the pool admittedly feels a lot cooler than the sea which can be accessed just out the front.

The staff are all very friendly and will gladly help with any problems or queries. There is a safe that can be used to lock all of your valuables away at reception.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Cavtat as it offers great value for money and is very well placed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank esdeesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear esdeesea,

thank you so much for your awesome feedback!! It is so kind of you to recommend us to all your friends and in this way to all TripAdvisor's readers.

We are glad that you liked all our facilities and every member of our friendly staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in future!

Warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    376
    89
    17
    7
See reviews for
106
696
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here at the end of Sept having travelled independently booking through Lowcostholidays and getting a very good deal. The Norwegian flights were very good and with Cavtat ( pronounced Tsavtat) so close to the airport we were at the hotel in minutes by taxi(15 euros). Far too early to check in but they had a room where we could change and put our bags. Now a lot has been said about how good this hotel is so I'll try not to repeat. Locationwise it has to be the best situated hotel in Cavtat. The 2 Iberostar hotels are 10 minutes from the town and the Croatia is up a very steep hill in pine trees where most of the mosquitos are ( not that we didn't get bitten a bit - take your insect repellent and antihistamine cream) whereas the Cavtat is 1 minute level walk to the centre of town. And what a town it is, a real gem, much the best place to stay for Dubrovnic and the right side of that city for Montenegro. You could wile away an hour or two over a coffee watching the expensive yachts coming and going in the harbour. Plenty of ferries available too. ( if you go to Dubrovnic take bus in , drops you 10 mins away from old town then take ferry boat back ) In exploring we came across Michael at Delfin Travel just along the road, do not book your trips anywhere else, this guy is a legend and very interesting to talk too.We went to Kotor and Budva with his company and it was well worth it, also went to the Sunday folklore show in Clipi. A bit touristy but ok. We had sea view room on 4th floor. Yes the views are amazing from balcony. 5th floor probably even better but lift doesn't serve that floor. One night there was an electrical storm and it was just awesome from the balcony. The winter refurb has delivered bright airy rooms. Average size, smallish bathroom though with cheap and nasty shower doors but thats a small point. English TV channels were BBC World, CNN and Eurosport. The rooms do not face the sun so stay reasonably cool but you can't sun yourself on balcony. Not a problem though as the refurb also delivered a fantastic roof deck and infinity pool. This has to be the best viewpoint in Cavtat though the pool was pretty cold, sea was warmer. There isnt a hotel beach but such beaches as there are nearby are all pebbles so bring beach shoes. This place wont suit bucket and spade holidaymakers. The rooftop terrace also ideal for planespotters as the airport only a couple of miles away so planes are very close. It also means its noisy but there arent any night flights and not that many through the day. It didn't bother us. The free Wi fi a bonus but though it works fine in Reception area the further away you get so it fizzles out. Bizarrely in our room we could get signal in bathroom but not the bedroom ! Also on roof terrace you had to sit by door to get signal. The hotel was about 50/50 Germans and Brits and this was reflected in the cuisine. Now I have to say we weren't that impressed. B'fast was fine except for the fruit juice which was more like squash but buffet dinner not brilliant. It was ok but I like a dessert and what was on offer was poor. Now I accept we didn't pay much but I think if the Hotel is moving up market then its something to address. Not that I could criticise service which was good. Our view was probably not helped by the fact we had some superb and cheap lunches at the Desetka just down the road. There was not much entertainment at the hotel but again we were not bothered by that, the cat and kitten family living under the decking at the cafe provided a diversion. We left on a Saturday and a tip is that the ( small) airport pretty manic so get there in good time. All in all I'd happily stay here again but probably on a B and B basis. A final tip, do a bit of research into recent history of Croatia before you get here. It'll add to your appreciation of this beautiful place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smanamana_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear smanamana_10,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a huge description about our hotel and our lovely region.
Your words are so much appreciated.

Actually, during all summer, especially during the September we had lot of different guests all over the world. We are trying to make our hotel available to every culture and to everyone who wants to meet with our.
It is always nice to meet and welcome people all around the world.

That's the reason why we promote traditional kitchen and croatian culture.

We hope that we'll have an oportunity to welcome you again!

Kind regards from all my Team,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just to say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making our recent stay so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so courteous, despite being busy! Cavtat is in a stunning location and the hotel is ideally placed for everything. Interestingly we had friends holidaying in other hotels at the same time, but they were not so complimentary.....
As a diabetic, I appreciated the fresh salads in an evening, not to mention a relaxing massage after over-exerting myself walking the walls of Dubrovnik!
Janet and Ian, Wetherby

Room Tip: I wonder if the sea view from a higher floor is less interrupted by trees?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Janet & Ian,

we want to thank you for posting such a great words about us! It was our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel!
From your desciption everyone can read correct description of our hotel: "warm friendly atmosphere"! We're really working hard to make it.

We always want that every guest feel himself like at home, and to make your holiday memorable!

I believe that every member of my Team really succeed in it.

We're looking forward to see you next season!

Kind regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Cavtat (would have stayed longer but they were full). Very nice room, reasonable price (booked through Trip Advisor/Bookings.com), with a beautiful view. Cavtat is only 15 minutes from the airport, and it's wonderful to arrive at the hotel and see the view of the bay and harbour for the first time - breathtaking. The hotel arranged a taxi for us from the airport at a very reasonable price. Breakfasts at the hotel were a bit mass-catering, but the coffee was great, and the bayside terrace served wonderful lunches (very large portions). Free Wi-Fi in the public areas, and if you room is near one of these (ours was room 105) you can just about pick it up. Staff all very friendly and helpful. This a perfectly positioned hotel, just a 5-10 minutes walk into town, so it's in a nice quiet spot at night. Great swimming pool and terrace. We will definitely stay there again - highly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - it's so beautiful, and worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wombat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Wombat59,

It is so kind of you for taking the time to post such a wonderful words about youur recent stay with us.
We're so sorry that you couldn't stay longer with us, but as you could see we're fully booked during all September!
We hope that next time we'll have an oportunity to welcome you longer!

For next season, we'll try to do our best to improve Wi-Fi, actually to make it faster and higher.
For this season we wanted to make it available to everyone in all areas, but there are too many people connected on it and sometimes signal is not too high for everyone.

We're looking forward to meet you again in our hotel!

Best wishes from my Team and myself,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

just returned from a 1 week stay at hotel cavtat from the minute we arrived everything was perfect we had room 501 nice balcony and beautiful sea view ivor the manager and all the staff were delightful friendly polite the room and hotel absolutley spotless we were half board which we have never done before - was very impressed with the variety of food and thoroughly enjoyed every meal. will definitley be returning next year to this beautiful hotel Cavtat itself although very tiny was just what we needed a lovely peaceful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Karen T,

wow!! It is so nice first to read perfect, and then rest of your kind words.
Thank you for sharing it with others!

We really appreciate it. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel!

In meantime we're sending you best regards from all my Team,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 night stay at the Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat (Sep 2013).The hotel was an excellent choice with a sea view room to die for, which was booked with Cosmos holidays.General cleanliness throughout the hotel and rooms was excellent,food was plentiful,well cooked with good choice. Staff were very polite,helpful and made our stay really enjoyable.The hotel overlooks a large bay and the walk to the main front of Cavtat takes a 10min leisurely walk past the bus station and taxi stops. We used the bus, taxi,boats and hire car to see quite a lot of this area of Croatia which is really beautiful.We liked Mlini a small village along the coast towards Dubrovnik,which can be reached best by a 15min boat ride from Cavtat. Dubrovnik of course is a must to see, if travelling by public bus be aware of the walk down from the stop to the old town which older people could find a problem,take the many boat trips from Cavtat (we used "Vivado" every trip) and you are landed in the old town harbour, right in the old town.Visit again at night (we used a hire car,but parking can be a problem) for a different perspective-lovely.We used our hire car to visit the southern area of Croatia with Molunat being the best place to take in the views and a coffee.Travelling past Dubrobnik north on the good road takes you to Ston with its famous 5.5Km wall which is well worh seeing and a good place to have lunch.If you want to travel further be prepared for an early start and late finish as all the trips take in the many places to visit but take in a lot of travelling. We took our hire car through the border to Montenegro (which uses the Euro as currency, so take some with you before going) which we found really beautiful.After visiting Herceg Novi for a coffee we proceeded towards Kotar,the trip is oustanding and follows the coast all around with outstanding views, stop and have lunch at any of the small villages before enterring Kotar.We then took the small car ferry trip across towards Herceg Novi which cuts the journey back to Croatia by a very long way.All together we really enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the area and the hotel to anybody and hopefully we will return

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are a must giving excellent views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear DavidStokeonTrent,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experince with us on TripAdvisor page.
Your words really made our day. It is our motivation to keep going on same way as we're going at the moment.

We're thrilled that you truly liked our rooms, our traditional croatian food, our cleanliness, every member of our staff..

Also, description about our region and excursions you did are really picturesque. Everyone can imagine it in really good way.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards from windy and sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel cavtat was in an excellent spot overlooking the sea that's if your lucky enough! I have just returned from that hotel can't fault the staff but if your ever unlucky enough to get room 111 which happened to me my room was supposed to over look the garden but all I could see was green cupboards which I think housed the airconditioning or electrical equipment I did ask for an exchange but was told they had no other single room available but maybe able to move to a double room and pay €21 a day extra on top of what I had already paid

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to see the room before you move into it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Patricia L,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We're so sorry that you didn't like your room. I check one more time with sales department and reception, but as we can see you've booked single garden view room.

All our single garden view rooms also have some part of view to Tiha bay.
Also, during the September we are all times fully booked, and sometimes we don't have option to move guests in same type of room they've booked, so only possibility is to move in double single use room for it price ( when they are in single garden view rooms as you were).

Sometimes, we can do our best to allocate you in your requested room, but sometimes that request it doesn't mean that you paid for it.

Usually, we are trying to please all our guests, and I hope that you've seen that we tried to do our best to fulfil your expectations too.

I truly hope that we have an oportunity to welcome you again in our hotel!

Sincerely yours,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing