We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cavtat
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Accommodation: highly recommended Hotel Cavtat in the perfect location for both relaxing in the sun and exploring surrounding cities, island and countries. We were welcomed in our balcony seaview room (a must) with a personal message from the General Manager wishing us a lovely honeymoon, which was really appreciated. The pool on the roof is amazing, beautiful scenery - although you needed to get there very early to get a spot. We didn't mind as sunbathing down by the harbour was just as good. The food was great, various options from typical English breakfast to more continental fruit, ham, cheese, croissants, etc. We were also pleased with the prices, cheaper than traditional European sun destinations.

Excurisions: We went to Dubrovnik via sea taxi - I was sea sick. It's an hours journey and about £8 return. We went by bus (the station is really near the hotel) the second time, which was only 30 mins and £2. Dubrovnik is a must - though if you can go outside the hours of 9.30 and 4pm then do because you'll avoid the thousands of cruise visitors (15,000 the first day we went!).

Ston - a beautiful city with great restaurants. We stopped off here during a private wine tour, which we arranged via one of the wine bars in Dubrovnik Old Town.

Korcula island is highly recommended, and we would have loved to have gone to Montenegro or Mostar in Bosnia-Herzegovnia, both available from Cavtat.

So glad we chose Cavtat, perfect base to explore from with a mixture of sun relaxation and attractions - I would never choose to stay in one of the cities - Cavtat, with all its location, beauty, history and culture, was perfect.

Room Tip: Full sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bekerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Bekerina,

thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor's page.
It is so nice of you that you chose our hotel to spend your honeymoon. We are thrilled that you truly enjoyed it with us.

We're always trying to give our special touch by leaving some nice messages in your room to make you feel important guest, as every guest it is.

Thank you also for posting some wonderful photos of our hotel and surrounding. You are right, Cavtat is absolutely place of heaven, especially for couples who are looking for calm and relaxing holiday. You can enjoy in sun and magnifiecient views, and also explore beautiful region.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

All my Team with myself are sending you the warmest regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    359
    87
    17
    7
See reviews for
103
672
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A big thank you to the Hotel Cavtat and the Croatian people for making my 65th birthday celebration so special! My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Cavtat and we had the most wonderful holiday thanks to the beautiful location of the hotel and the wonderful warmth and friendliness of the staff. We requested and paid a bit extra for a sea view and what a wonderful room they gave us (410). I could have spent all my holiday just sitting on the balcony and gazing at the view... stunning!

Everything about the hotel was excellent, from the staff, who go out of their way to help you and on one occasion our breakfast waiter "John", even offered to take us to his own dentist when I developed an abscess on a tooth and was in a lot of pain. We did manage to get an appointment at the local dentist which the Receptionist organised for us and also called us a taxi. This is an example of the caring and efficient service you get from all the staff. We can't praise them enough! The whole hotel is spotless and the maids work very hard to keep it this way, I even had some flowers left in our room on my birthday which was so sweet.

The rooms are beautiful and very light and airy, good air conditioning which we could not have done without in August. The food was lovely and plenty of choice for everyone. This hotel has the best position in Cavtat, you could not get better views! Only a few minutes walk into the Cavtat itself, which has a really nice atmosphere at night and almost every night there was some form of entertainment going on. We didn't get to do all the things we wanted on this trip as it was our first time to Cavtat and we were just so happy exploring the surrounding area, but we are planning to come back next year and perhaps explore further afield next time. Thank you again to all the staff for making this a wonderful holiday and we will definitely be seeing you all again next year!

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a sea view room, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear SheffieldHazlenut,

A big thank to you for posting such a wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us!
As you mentioned, we're always trying to please our guests and to make their holiday unforgettable, from the first impression (room you has been given) to last.

It is not hard to any member of staff to help our guests, when someone needs any information, or to organise a visit to dentist etc.

We're so happy that you had nice experience with our hotel, and with lovely Cavtat!

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

my family came to this hotel some 50 years ago so this was a bit of a blast from the past, so many good memories when i was 8 years old!

Why did we return? I looked at many places in croatia but Cavtat still seemed to be THE place to go!

This time I was with my husband as a couple.The Hotel Cavtat truly lived up to expectations. As many reviewers have said the hotel is clean and fresh, the view from our sea view room was exceptional, better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in.
Cavtat is an easy stroll from the hotel and full of places to eat, nothing tacky here.
Easy to get into Dubrovnik, which is the most beautiful city, cable car, city walls a must!
Yes, I would recommend this little hotel, from the situation to the lovely infinity pool area, great choice for a sneaky week away, 15 mins from the airport, great location and a great base to explore this lovely country.
Thank you

Room Tip: we e mailed ahead and asked for a high up sea view room, which of course we paid for, not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family07Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Family07Scotland,

I read your review few times to think what to write on it. Your wonderful words make our day!
I cant't imagine what a feeling is to come back in one place on Earth after so long time, and to experience such memories once again.

I'm delighted that we truly fulfilled your expectations after many years. I would like to thank you for your kind words about every aspect of our service.

We hope that we will become your choice to spend your holiday!

On behalf of my Team and myself accept our warm regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel cavtat is a great hotel,the staff cannot do enough for you, they speak great English and the food is excellent, plenty to choose from. The rooms are kept spotless but I would have liked more draw space and wardrobe space, had to leave some items in the suitcase. Could recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Gillewhite,

thank you for taking time to post great review at TripAdvisor page!
I'm delighted by your kind words. Our staff is multilingual because we always want to understand wishes of every guest.

We're looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We're not long back from a week's stay at the Hotel Cavtat. Quick and straightforward transfer from the airport 2 or 3 miles away. Quick and friendly check in. I'd emailed in advance asking for a room with an uninterrupted view of the bay, and we certainly got that (Room 412).
Took up the option of hiring a small fridge for the week - about £30, and worth it. Room was fresh and well serviced. Only a shower in the bathroom, but that was fine by us.
We went half board as it was only marginally more expensive that B&B, ate in the restaurant 3 times in the week and took our pick of the many eating places in Cavtat for the rest. The evening buffet was fine with plenty to choose from, and the house wine was perfectly good as well.
Breakfast too was good - perhaps the enthusiasm from some of the previous reviews led us to look forward to something absolutely stunning, which while it was pretty good with plenty to choose from and decent coffee, didn't quite scale the heights we had built up to.
The hotel is in a perfect location for the town. We went one one trip booked through the local guy just along the street (Mike) to Montenegro which was well organised and delivered - we did get held up at the border for an hour which slightly tightened the itinery.
We had asked the Mike guy to book the trip to the Arboretum/Ston, but by the night before it was due, he told us he couldn't arrange it. We asked at 9 p.m. the young man on reception if the hotel would be able to arrange this, but he instead offered to take us there himself for the same price. Both the Arboretum and particularly Ston are well worth going to.
Took the boat to Dubrovnik, but I have to say as a journey it wasn't much to rave about, took twice as long as the bus, and was filled up at 2.30 for the trip back, meaning we had to stand in a queue till 4 for the next one in temperatures in the 30s.

Room Tip: The rooms from about 408 onwards must all have clear views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GmacKBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear GmacKBlair,

Wow, introducing by words: "pretty much ideal" is really more than positive compliments!
We're so thrilled that you liked every aspect of your stay with us.

We would like you thank you as well to write about our service on reception who are also selling good excursions!
We're always trying to hear what our guests want, and to please them. First impression is always our lovely staff on reception, and your room allocation, and then every member of our housekeeping and restaurant staff.
We are happy that you liked your room, and that we were in possibility to allocate you in requested room.

We hope that we'll meet you again in our hotel!
In meantime we're sending you warm regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a fantastic surprise to discover this charming Hotel . 3star but should be 4plus. Clean, great food , wonderful location and marvellous staff .would openly recommend ask for rooms 405 to 416 for the best sea views you won't be dissatisfied xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 19511953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 19511953,

Many thanks for your marvellous comments about our lovely hotel and every member of our Team!
Your words give us motivation to work much more and harder! It is good feeling when some of your guests give great rates for service, staff etc.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in future!

In meantime we're sending you the warmest regard from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

A fantastic hotel in a beautiful resort handy for everything. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them
Our room was beautifully decorated and beds and towels were changed every day the food was excellent with plenty of choice. One of the best holidays I have had. Magnificent infinity pool and terrace. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for A sea view breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Laura J,

thank you for posting a review about your recents stay with us!
We're thrilled that you liked all our services, our infinity swimming pool with its magnificient view, and our friendly staff.

We're looking forward to welcome you again in future!

Warm regards from lovely Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Property: Hotel Cavtat
Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing