We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring the area! Comfortable hotel in a lovely setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I visited Cavtat and stayed at the Iberostar Albatros for 6 nights. As a female solo traveler, I felt perfectly safe in this hotel and it is an affordable, convenient base for sightseeing. Croatia in general is a nice place for ladies on their own, as there are no hassles or men following you around on the beach. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, (architecture and bright purple uniforms) but it is perfectly satisfactory for a no-frills sightseeing trip or family holiday. The staff were a bit reserved, but worked incredibly hard and were professional and pleasant at all times. The location is amazing; just 5 minutes from the airport by taxi (100 kunas/13 Euro approx.) and walking distance to the charming little village of Cavtat. You can also catch a ferry to Dubrovnik's old town directly at the back gate and it takes only 45 minutes each way. The hotel is a pickup point for all of the tour operators, so it's really easy to arrange tours to Montenegro, Mostar and the various islands.

The food was by no means gourmet, but well prepared and varied. I opted for half-board, which I would recommend at this particular hotel (unless you are a big drinker!). The waterfront restaurants in Cavtat were good for a change of scenery at lunch & I had the freshest grilled sea bass I've ever tasted. Vegetarians won't starve at this hotel- there was an aubergine choice (grilled, fried, ratatouille, etc.) every night, pasta, fried polenta, etc. and the salad bar was fresh and plentiful. The best way I can describe Croatian food is a fusion of Italian and Eastern European cuisine (pasta is common, but they also use a lot of paprika in goulash type dishes). Breakfast was good as well and I indulged in crepes with banana and nutella every morning! They also set up a little continental breakfast for late sleepers.

There was some entertainment in the evening- the shows with the animation team were a bit silly, but they made a good effort. The Croatian traditional music was really nice and the band strolled around the restaurant during dinner one night.

The room was purely functional, but spotless & housekeeping did an amazing job. The towels were new and white (not the scratchy, gray & threadbare ones you usually see at an all-inclusive resort!). My room was located in building A and the balcony was the perfect place to soak up some sun. The views are amazing- this hotel has a stunning location! The bed and pillows weren't the most comfortable, so that is an area for improvement.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate for a moment to recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a luxurious holiday in the sun, go to the Maldives. But if you are keen on seeing this beautiful country and having a pleasant holiday without breaking the bank, then the Iberostar Albatros is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank monkeygirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
There are newer reviews for Remisens Hotel Albatros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Needs a refurb the carpets in all areas need changing. we had a top floor room and when it was windy the noise at night was alarming rattling and banging made it difficult to sleep. Food at night was ordinary always something to select but often only one main item - breakfasts OK. Pool area very good and overlooking the sea. Location 1 km from cavtat which was smaller than expected with limited shopping but great variety of lunch time eats. We will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oldsmithpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed at the Iberostar Albatros for 10 days in Aug/ Sep 2010 with my partner and 6 year old son and this is our experience:

Food
We opted for all inclusive, although there is half board and B&B available. All the meals were lovely with lots of choice. The breakfast choice was vast and included made to order pancakes, omelets and fried eggs. . Lunch could be taken in the snack bar where they served sandwiches, burgers etc, we went for the restaurant option which included a choice of 3 soups, 2 pasta dishes and several hot meals (stews, roast chicken , pork, stir fry, breaded chicken etc) plus a salad bar. Dinner was similar to lunch but with a few more hot options. The deserts are all fresh and looked amazing but all seem to taste the same. There was a nice ice-cream bar where they varied the flavors each day. Some of the fresh fruit wasn't very tasty which surprised us in this climate, but other than that the food was very good overall.

Facilities
Hotel facilities were good, kids pool and adult pool were great, all with plenty of sun beds. The entertainment staff were friendly and provided a full program. This included darts, aqua gym, stretching (yoga), shooting, bingo. The kids club were great, my son went a few times, in the afternoon the kids club come to the kids pool so my son joined them there if we were at the pool ourselves. As it was end of the school holidays when we went the kids clubs were not very busy, maybe 6 or 7 kids each day, although the staff said they get 20-30 kids each day in the height of summer.
Each evening there was a mini disco for the kids. Its really aimed at the younger ones, my son enjoyed it, I would think that next year he would have grown out of this.
Evening entertainment was pretty average, quizzes, bingo, sometimes a show put on by the entertainment team. After the show there is a disco on the terrace for about an hour or so.

Room
We were very lucky that we had been upgraded from a family room to a suite. This had 2 bedrooms one with a lounge area, a nice bathroom & a lovely big balcony. The room was clean and spacious. Rooms are well maintained, a little dated but very comfortable. If you are all inclusive you can use the mini bar with no additional costs. We did have a peek at the family room which without the additional bedroom would have been quite compact.

Location
The hotel is a 15 minute drive from Dubrovnik airport. I got the contact details for " Taxi and Transportation Service Dubrovnik" from the internet and emailed them to meet us at the airport. They were excellent. air conditioned modern cars and it only cost us 15 euros each way. As the hotel is close to the airport you do get some planes flying over in the day time, but this is hardly even noticeable (except by my son who likes to point them out). we didn't hear any planes at night so this isn't really a problem at all.
There is a stony / rocky beach at the front of the hotel, you just cross over a small road.

Cavtat is the nearest town, you can walk to it in 20 mins from the hotel. The road you walk along doesn't have any footpath so you have to be aware of the cars especially if you have young children. There is a beautiful harbor with some really impressive boats, lovely shops for browsing and ice cream. You can walk around the headland which is beautiful, there are some nice rocky coves / piers for sunbathing and swimming.

You can get the boat to Dubrovnik from just outside the hotel, it takes approx 50 minutes. we had a lovely day, we walked along the walls of the city, went to the aquarium and up on the cable car, which my son loved. There are loads of lovely shops and cafe's.

We really enjoyed this holiday and would definitely stay at the Albatros again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank saralou0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Had a pleasant stay, rooms keept clean and general standard of hotel was good. We had all inclusive and were suprised to find this was anywhere in the hotel including snack and main bars. Food , breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from including cooked, lunch and dinner were fine with many choices considering the number of people they serve, service in restaurant was quick with plates and tables being cleared efficently. Pool fine and nice beach but easier to get into the sea with beach shoes. Return trip to Dudrovnik by boat from the hotel at 60 kunas was good value. Also walk into Cavtat and around the headland is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

classical beach hotel, 3-4 stars, although qualified clearly as 4*. It is a classical resort of a known Spanish chain for summer/family hotels. The quality of the food is quite poor, nothing for 'gourmets'... The staff is not very motivated, I guess they are not very well paid. The hotel is quite well positioned, 15 minutes drive away from Dubrovnik, through a road with fabulous landscape. The hotel has 2 swimming-pools and a very nice semi-private beach. It has good connections by private boat to several islands and to Dubrovnik, at reasonable prices. Ideal for families with restricted budgets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Not a bad hotel for food, rooms and location, but! during July and August is very busy. The pool area is crowded and noisy, very early rise for sunbeds, polite British guests shame about the majority of others. Road to "beautiful" Savtat busy at times (no footpath)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sukiandberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Spacious rooms all with lateral seaview, very clean hotel and surroundings, lots of outdoor tables for breakfast and dinner with seaview, on walking distance (15 min.) from the very beautiful village of Cavtat where you can spot very luxurious yachts, boot trip to historical Dubrovnik (1 hrs), no nightlife at hotel and surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilseke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,133 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
9.7 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $50 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing