We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Cavtat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Let me start by saying we booked this last minute and so had an amazing deal - £340 AI and i would say that this was easily the best value holiday i have ever had. I've stayed at some top quality hotels in London, New York, Bangkok, Barbados and this isn't one of them...BUT, it was clean, functional and more than adequate. It certainly is a bit tired, but not horrible. The major plus was the view - right on the seafront and we could see Dubrovnik quite clearly from our balcony by day and night - we were in room A331. If you stay on this side of the hotel, keep your curtains closed during the day - even in the last week of October the sun heated the room like a sauna!! The food was really quite good and whilst a bit samey, there was a choice of at least 2 fish dishes, 4 meat dishes, 3 pasta, a couple of rice and a good variety of salads & soups & breads at lunch and dinner. Breakfast offered a similar range - fresh omelets, pancakes, croissants, donuts, and the normal accompaniments, plus cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats and even veg!!! I honestly wonder about some people - at home you don't have salmon, tuna, squid, pork, chicken and beef plus veg, pasta, salad and spuds all in 1 meal and if you choose to load your plates with everything, then you will find the food the same. Desserts were a little bit of a letdown, but again, a decent selection plus fresh fruit and an excellent selection of cheese. If you go all inclusive, the beer was good, local spirits fine and the house wine was really quite good. Cavtat is a beautiful little fishing village and has a good selection of restaurants and bars, Dubrovnik is stunning and well worth a visit - I'd suggest by boat which was 70 kuna's, just under £10 return. Oh, change your money out there - at Gatwick the offer was 7.6 kunas to the pound - we got just shy of 9 in the hotel and i suspect you would have got slightly better in a bank. We booked through Thomson and also took a day trip to Montenegro - that was amazing. If you are not AI, you can eat out in local restaurants for around £10 a head, drinks were slightly less than £2 each and ciggies about £2.50 a pack for Ronhills and just under £3 for Marlboro (£1.50 in Montenegro!). All in all, a fabulous week and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: most rooms have a sea view, but try and get a room in A block either on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NinfieldGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Positives.
Fantastic location and beautiful outlook.
Close to the airport
Great little beach
Close to restaurants.
Not shy in the drink pouring (when you finally get to the bar)
Negatives
Some Reception and waiting staff were rude and was very difficult to get a drink at meal times.
Hotel is tired and needs an overhaul
Toilets near pool were closed for the season so you had to walk all the way back into the hotel and upstairs to go to the toilet.
Food was really repetitive and over cooked. Mock cream in all the deserts,
Shower doors need sorting out. Water everywhere
Pool was freezing
Wifi is a nightmare. Only available in the lobby with a code that sometimes worked and sometimes didn't.
They cook all the meat and fish in the restaurant area so it's gets very smoky and smelly in there and it gets into your clothing.
I didn't like the communal dining like feel in the restaurant. It would be nice to have some separation between the tables and not have it set out liK a school dining room.
Beds are very very firm.

The hotel did grow on us during the week, and we found out that the hotel was going through a change of ownership which may have accounted for some of the staff attitudes. This hotel has the potential to be amazing with a little bit of an overhaul and a refurbishment. It's in a great location and it has really good bones, it just needs to be brought back up to its former glory and it will be one of the best places to stay in the area.
Don't miss a boat trip to the élafianti islands, Mostar and Montenegro.
Would I use the hotel again, yes I would. But Until some changes are made this needs to be rated as 3 star so people's expectations are met.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Dismayed by the look of the hotel when we arrived, looked massive and concrete, but then we really enjoyed our stay. Disappointed with the restaurant staffs knowledge of Gluten Free food, just kept telling me better not when I asked if food was gluten free, although to be fair there was still plenty for me to eat. Would have liked the occasional dessert though. I had informed them before my stay that i was restricted to a Gluten Free diet.
The outdoor pool was absolutely freezing, but there was a lovely indoor pool which we used daily.
Everywhere was immaculately clean.
Wifi was expensive and restricted to the reception area. When will they wise up we just had a daily drink at wifi free places nearby.

Room Tip: Sea view room in B block if you like a sunlit balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue62derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic week in the Albatros. We found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly. The entertainment staff were brilliant and clearly worked very hard.

The facilities were excellent - indoor and outdoor pool, a huge gym (only weights machines though), hairdressers and shop. We were also pleasantly surprised by the free activities during the day including pistol shooting, aerobics, boules and archery.

We enjoyed the food - the buffet style suited us and we always found something that we liked. In particular, the fresh fish was delicious.

Cavtat itself is a lovely little resort with lots of restaurants and little pathways around the coast.

I'd also like to say the other guests were lovely- all very friendly.

Assuming nothing changes with the new hotel owners, I would definitely recommend this as a hotel and a resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Manchester71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 2 weeks AI at this hotel and can say that it is a 4 star because of its position with beautiful sea views across to Dubrovnik, and the food, although much the same every day, is well cooked with a wide choice. Worth paying for a full sea view.
What I thought let it down whilst we were there was the attitude of most of the staff in the dining room and the bar. It always seemed an effort for them to serve you and never a smile or eye contact.
On many occasions we seemed invisible in the dining room as staff walked past the table, aware we had not been attended to for drinks or the table setting.

The bar is not much better with no waiter service the queues were sometimes endless.

There are tips boxes on the bar and dining room but I don't think the staff appreciate the fact that I have already paid for them to serve me in the price of the holiday, and tips are given for the service you receive, not for being there.
I always tip good friendly service but I saved money on this trip.

The animation team were different again, happy and smiling day and night, always willing to stop and chat. Oz and Tamara were the two mainly in our hotel and we really enjoyed there company.

Now the new owners and management are in I do hope they train there staff in customer care for next season.

Cavtat is a beautiful town only a 15 minute walk away but you can only get there down a road with one way traffic and no footpath.
Just be aware of the cars and vans that use the road as pedestrians have to walk on the side of the road that has a shear drop down to the rocks and sea.
There are stray dogs and cats in the area outside the hotel, down the road to Cavtat and in the town itself.

A visit to Dubrovnik is a must by either water or bus. It really is a lovely old town with lots of character and charm.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on top floor with views across to Dubrovnik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank grandadcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have just returned from 2 weeks at the Albatros which was Iberostar when arrived and 2nd week changed owners to Remisens Family Hotels. The difference was really only change of cutlery, pots, towels etc., this did not affect my holiday. As a hotel it is in a delightful position across from the beach and within walking distance of Cavtat and water taxis. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, rooms a little dated but very clean with bedding and towels changed everyday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rimkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a week here in October. Cavtat is a lovely place to stay in this part of Croatia. It is only a short bus ride up to Dubrovnik or a 45 minute ferry ride. We used the ferry to Dubrovnik then bussed back!! Dubrovnik Old Town is a real gem!
We booked this hotel on Expedia earlier in the year, as we had always felt that Iberostar's were of good quality and because of the previous good write ups on here!! Although the hotel was OK we were very disappointed with the standard. Without picking over the negatives, the hotel seemed very tired.
Before we flew out, we did realise that the hotel was about to change ownership, so it was an unusual experience to be resident at a hotel when this happened. The new owners are a Croatian company called Remisens. We feel that Iberostar had lost interest in the hotel and wanted to offload it onto someone else!!!
Negative comments are; We are both veggies, so were on a hiding to nothing anyway, Croatia doesn't really do vegetarianism very well, but the catering at the Albatros does really need a good overhaul! The rooms and general areas also need a good freshen up. Our room, 414, had a musty smell to it which wasn't helped by what we felt was a drain problem. The washbasin in the bathroom emptied very slowly and the smell seemed to come from the drain in the floor. The shower screen was not really watertight and resulted in excess water all over bathroom floor. It transpired that a lot of other guests had the same problems. Whether Remisens resolve these problems will remain to be seen. We do not feel that it deserves it's 4 star rating, it is a 3 star at best. Not sure whether JollyScotland went to the same hotel!!!!!!
Positive comments are; Location, The Albatros is just outside the main centre of Cavtat, which is a nice 15 minute flat walk away and there is a ferry landing stage right in front of the hotel, so you don't have to walk into Cavtat to catch ferry to Dubrovnik. Finally, if you are trying to decide whether you stay in Dubrovnik or Cavtat, it depends on what you want. We found that Cavtat was an ideal base to discover Dubrovnik from. It has a lovely harbour, some nice walks and can provide a lovely relaxing break. Obviously Dubrovnik is busier, but the most scenic way to enter it, is definitely ferrying into the harbour on one of the ferries. If we go back, we would definitely choose Cavtat again, but would probably choose to stay in the Hotel Cavtat, which has better reviews and is slightly closer to the harbour!!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor, but bag a pool view room. it seemed to us that the people with pool views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank We2downunder09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,174 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
287 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,112 reviews
9.7 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $44 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing