We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“change over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
warrington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“change over”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have just returned from 2 weeks at the Albatros which was Iberostar when arrived and 2nd week changed owners to Remisens Family Hotels. The difference was really only change of cutlery, pots, towels etc., this did not affect my holiday. As a hotel it is in a delightful position across from the beach and within walking distance of Cavtat and water taxis. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, rooms a little dated but very clean with bedding and towels changed everyday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rimkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    529
    296
    74
    39
See reviews for
360
574
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a week here in October. Cavtat is a lovely place to stay in this part of Croatia. It is only a short bus ride up to Dubrovnik or a 45 minute ferry ride. We used the ferry to Dubrovnik then bussed back!! Dubrovnik Old Town is a real gem!
We booked this hotel on Expedia earlier in the year, as we had always felt that Iberostar's were of good quality and because of the previous good write ups on here!! Although the hotel was OK we were very disappointed with the standard. Without picking over the negatives, the hotel seemed very tired.
Before we flew out, we did realise that the hotel was about to change ownership, so it was an unusual experience to be resident at a hotel when this happened. The new owners are a Croatian company called Remisens. We feel that Iberostar had lost interest in the hotel and wanted to offload it onto someone else!!!
Negative comments are; We are both veggies, so were on a hiding to nothing anyway, Croatia doesn't really do vegetarianism very well, but the catering at the Albatros does really need a good overhaul! The rooms and general areas also need a good freshen up. Our room, 414, had a musty smell to it which wasn't helped by what we felt was a drain problem. The washbasin in the bathroom emptied very slowly and the smell seemed to come from the drain in the floor. The shower screen was not really watertight and resulted in excess water all over bathroom floor. It transpired that a lot of other guests had the same problems. Whether Remisens resolve these problems will remain to be seen. We do not feel that it deserves it's 4 star rating, it is a 3 star at best. Not sure whether JollyScotland went to the same hotel!!!!!!
Positive comments are; Location, The Albatros is just outside the main centre of Cavtat, which is a nice 15 minute flat walk away and there is a ferry landing stage right in front of the hotel, so you don't have to walk into Cavtat to catch ferry to Dubrovnik. Finally, if you are trying to decide whether you stay in Dubrovnik or Cavtat, it depends on what you want. We found that Cavtat was an ideal base to discover Dubrovnik from. It has a lovely harbour, some nice walks and can provide a lovely relaxing break. Obviously Dubrovnik is busier, but the most scenic way to enter it, is definitely ferrying into the harbour on one of the ferries. If we go back, we would definitely choose Cavtat again, but would probably choose to stay in the Hotel Cavtat, which has better reviews and is slightly closer to the harbour!!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor, but bag a pool view room. it seemed to us that the people with pool views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank We2downunder09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is placed in a great location for peace and quiet, we have just returned, 13/10 to 22/10 and restaurants and hotels were starting to close down apparently it is the norm from the end of October to March. Lovely sunshine everyday with only one thunderstorm on one night. Hotel was rather tired and carpets were not particularly clean, food was good and plentiful but not very hot, lots of different meats and fish, the deserts were rather uninteresting and always the same, occasionally there was a different treat, but if you didn't get it when it appeared that was your lot!! We are not drinkers so cannot comment about bar prices, think most rooms had some sort of sea view even those looking over tennis courts on the side. What I do DISPUTE is someone's review saying they can see Dubrovnik at night..............do not think so as it is way around the coastline (45mins by boat and by bus), it lies to far back and is the other side of a huge hilly area the other side of the Old Town (within the famous walls).

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gil2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights because it was close to the airport. If we had known what a treasure Cavtat was we would have stayed here at the beginning of our holiday also. The fact that you can take a boat into Dubrovnik and then return here to enjoy the hotels beaches and pools is a win win. Fortunately we were upgraded to a corner suite--fabulous views from balcony. The wine fridge kept our drinks barely cool and the air conditioning didn't seem to work very well. They really should change the design of the bath/shower...water all over the floor. We did not have an all inclusive pkg. and only had one breakfast included with our room. Very large and busy dining room. Food OK. Property getting a little tired..but I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonewashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We didn’t really know what to expect as this was our first time in Croatia, but we were delighted with what we found. The hotel itself was in a stunning location, right down on the beach looking out onto the most stunning mountainous bay. It is only about ten minutes in the taxi for the airport transfer – so planes go overhead now and again, but it’s really not intrusive and the short transfer makes the journey much more bearable.
The hotel itself was absolutely spotless. The rooms were really comfortable, we had a king size double and were given fresh towels and bottles of water every day as part of the maid service.
The food was very enjoyable – the choice was almost too wide – the usual was available, grilled meats and fish, tons of salads, fresh breads and lovely cakes and fruit for pudding. I agree with previous reviews, it could become “samey” if you weren’t careful to pick different things every day instead of a little bit of everything. The all-inclusive drinks were remarkably okay!
The entertainment was really good – a live act on every night after dinner – including a guitar duo of Marko and Ian who really were superb, plus some traditional Croatian folk performers one night.
During the day, the ‘animation team’ provided all sorts, including pistol shooting, archery, aqua fit and yoga etc – all free! The team were fab because they engaged with everyone really positively but they weren’t intrusive. I was particularly impressed with Oz, he made a point of remembering everyone’s names (and managed to do so for the whole week!) and came over and had a laugh with us every night – teaching us Croatian etc with the patience of a saint, well done Oz!
The resort was stunning, a twenty minute stroll round the shore road to a traditional wee resort with about a dozen bars and restaurants – and views to die for. We found all the bar staff friendly and helpful and again, the premises were all clean and well looked after.
The number 10 bus takes you into Dubrovnik for about £2.40 each way – about 45 mins – and there you can explore the old town – amazing, really beautiful, loads to see from various stages in history. We returned by water taxi, took about an hour, about £6 each and it dropped us off on the hotel pontoon, fantastic!
We took a tour to Monte Negro one day with Mike’s tours (his wee shop/ stall is just round the corner from the bus station in Cavtat.) The trip was lovely, and our guide Ivan was fantastic – knowledgeable, enthusiastic and his English was superb! Quite expensive but well worth it!
Overall, the hotel was great – be warned, it’s not exactly young and lively, a good proportion of guests were of retiral age, but hey ho, it was so quiet at night, you could hear a pin drop, which meant we all got a great night’s sleep.
Overall, it was a brilliant holiday and we would definitely return - if the hotel maintains its standards and service under the new ownership, we would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
4 Thank magsntim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Albatros is thoroughly deserving of its 4* rating. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Food is of a very high standard with plenty of variety. Half way through the week ownership changed from Iberostar to Remisen. It made no difference to the good standards. It is within walking distance ov Cavtat and a 20 minute bus ride from Dubrovnick. A boat leaves the slipway at the hotel for Dubrovnick at regular intervals during the day. It costs just under £10 return about £6 one way. Entertainment was available on most nights. It was typical animation team events with local musicians now and again. It was enjoyable, remembering they are not professionals. There are hundreds of 4* establishments out there which are not as good as the Albatross.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located with excellent views of the bay. Is a small walk away from main town Cavtat which has a picturesque harbour, many bars and restaurants.
The hotel was taken over mid week which I think will benefit the hotel as a whole, as some rooms are looking very tired. The food was edible and the staff who remained worked very hard to ensure people were seated in what was an overcrowded restaurant.
I would return as The scenery is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Property: Remisens Hotel Albatros
Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing