We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"DONT GO IN OCTOBER"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I returned on the 25th oct and lets say it was a experience!!!! the hotel looked lovely in the brochure and sounded great fun with the kids club and evening entertainment.........arrived and first impression were ok, the rooms nice and clean and perfect place. then it started......took ,my daughter in search for the kids club to find out it had closed!!! then took her inside to try and find a kids animator staff member but with great diffulcty. so took a walk into cavtat which is only a short walk and a lovely place. The food was nothing special in fact most nights it was the same food just in a different place to the night before!!!......so with the thunder rain and lighting that we had it was starting to get a bit chilly so i went down and told them my heating wasnt working and was told that the whole hotel has none and it was turned off due to the hotel closing......spoke to the manager who then told me it was a fault and would contact the maintance team (lies lies).....the indoor pool was far from heated with no lights, there was no evening entertainment except for bingo and quiz!!!!.........the windows outside my room were leaking and the whole carpet stunk and when i checked along all windows outside 301 - 307 were leaking!!!...........the staff had lost intrest in being helpful or smiling or friendly beacuse they were finishing at the end of the week so they all seemed very MISERABLE!!!!!!! so the service that we were given was TERRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Kate,

We feel disappointed and we want to apologize because this time we were not able to make your experience into the perfect holiday we wish to offer to all our guests. Nevertheless, we are enchanted that you made the effort to write a review, which will certainly help us to do better on coming occasions.

Thank you for advising that on this occasion the service and friendliness of our staff just like the wide range of facilities and services were not fulfilling our quality standards. Those are very important aspects for us and the key to the success of our main strive being complete guest satisfaction. Therefore, we are revising our procedures in order to adjust them and bring them back up to meet the Iberostar exigencies. We are very sorry not to have fulfilled your expectations and we take your comments very seriously to ensure that our standards are maintained and developed continuously.

Hoping to may receive you again in the future, we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, wishing we can change through it your opinion.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just return from Albatross Oct 21 after spending twelve great nights there. Special thanks to dinning room hostess Jadrijanka and Server Theresa who remembered us from 7 years ago could not make our experience more enjoyable. The chefs at the cooking station were friendly and prepared food to your liking. Maid kept our room very clean and over all you would not want better hotel staff. Usually 2 or 3 soups served every night food was varied and plentiful.

Room Tip: We had no sun on our balconies but that would be a bonus in the summer months. all rooms have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevos60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The view was fantastic, with the sea and the mountains. Room facilities were fine and the room was clean. The surroundings are tranquil and nice to walk around, although it may be a lot noisier in peak season. The food is fine and plenty of choice. Staff were helpful. One improvement would be to have a bus stop situated nearer the hotel. The ten minute walk to the bus stop is pleasant, but if you don't have a car, it's something you'll have to do every day. Buses run from Cavtat to Dubrovnik every hour, but it was disappointing that there are no buses from Cavtat to alternative attractions. If you like alternative destinations, you will have to pay for organised tours, which can be booked in Cavtat.

All considered, I would recommend this hotel and destination for its views and surroundings - nice location.

Room Tip: Try to get 'seaview'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent our first visit to Croatia at the Hotel Albatros and had a great time! Two ladies at reception, Branka and Luce, were amazing! So helpful and friendly! Thank you both very much - you made our stay delightful!

Our two boys (10 and 7) really enjoyed the indoor pool. The outdoor pool, which is very pretty and was quite attractive to our boys, turned out to be too cold, which is to be expected at the end of October. Our boys also took advantage of the sports activities during the day and had fun doing archery, pentanque, and shooting AirSoft guns. The instructors were very safety oriented, so made sure everything was done properly. The boys also loved the evening games, especially bingo.

The spa was quite nice and I had an incredible facial, a good massage, and a thorough pedicure. The indoor pool area also has a sauna, which was appreciated. There is a hair salon on site and my son and I got good haircuts for a good price (much cheaper than back home).

We liked the location, which is a 10 minute walk from the small and very charming town of Cavtat (the best ice cream of the week was found there - try the sour apple!). The distance was nice, since it meant the hotel itself was very quiet. We appreciated having the boat to Dubrovnik right at the hotel beach and enjoyed the 50+ minute ride, which brings you right to the old part of the city. We made days trips to Montenegro and Bosnia. When we returned home, we appreciated that the hotel is just a few kms from the airport. Very convenient!

The room was quite large with a large balcony. We found the beds very (very, very) firm, which was a change from home. Plentiful hot water in the shower with great pressure. The buffet breakfast and dinner had extensive variety and there was also something to my taste and to my boys' taste. I had an omlette every morning, which got things off to a good start. The dining room staff kept very busy and at peak times we had a brief wait to order drinks. That said, everyone was very friendly and quite indulgent of our boys (a nice change from where we live where children are meant to be seen and not heard and preferably not seen at all).

The clientele was generally on the more mature side, but that was fine, since it meant there wasn't a loud disco thumping into the wee hours and keeping us awake. For us, it was a very good choice. I would definitely go again for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I went to the Albatros a couple of years ago now, at that time it was a good all round hotel and good for all ages. We went in August as a couple and said we would return as we found the hotel saff very helpful from Cleaners to Reception staff and restaraunt team right up to the chef was talkative and welcoming. The area was very nice with great veiws and trip availability.
Entertainment for the children did not go on too late at night and Mr Smiley played games with them and danced each evening from about 7pm till 8pm then the entertainment team took over on a small outdoor stage for the remainder, for the adult ages.
In 2013 we have booked our return, this time with our young grandson, daughter and son-in-law and are hoping once again for an enjoyable stay.
The Croatian people have shown us nothing but kindness and friendlyness each time we have visited and we have just returned from Porec and we enjoyed every minate of it. I know that some things will have changed but, I hope they have changed for the better.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms give the best rooms and entertainment does not go on too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here from 21-28th October, so towards the end of the holiday season, but the hotel and weather were still excellent. The staff were brilliant, all speaking English, German, French and Croatian and were more than happy to help in any way they could. The staff in the restaurant never stopped from breakfast through until the end of dinner service, and were always smiling.

The food was pretty good, sometimes lacking in variety as with all all inclusive but towards the end of the week there was a wider selection of fresh fish and meat, which is more to my taste, but rest assured there is definitely something for everybody.

Decor wise it is a little outdated, but otherwise is immaculate and the views more than make up for it. Our room was spacious with plenty of storage space for cases etc, and I had no problems sleeping - granted the mattress wasn't top quality but I didn't expect it to be. The showers are plumbed into the main system and are wonderfully powerful.

The hotel beach is literally across the road, which isn't busy, and is pebbled but this was no problem and actually made a refreshing change not to end up with sand everywhere. There are loungers to hire for a small amount each day should you want one. The sea itself is amazing and we swam in it every day, not once using the pool - why would you when the sea is metres away!?

There are several good restaurants and bars nearby where the food and service were again excellent. The walk into Cavtat is around 10-15 minutes at a leisurely pace and is well worth it for more stunning views and laid back cafes, bars and ice creams. Also there are several boats leaving from the seafront outside the hotel to the nearby islands and over to Dubrovnik - all good value and all the vendors speak English.

If I could make one improvement it would be to the decor, a bit of modernisation, but other than that absolutely brilliant value for money. We would definitely recommend and would also go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room B258, which has a sea view and overlooks the main pool area, it was a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girliebod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Returned from the Albatros yesterday. We had a lovely holiday. The food was very good with plenty of choices. The hotel was clean. The staff pleasant. I used the Spa and had a wonderful back massage. I would definately recommend this hotel and the area. Cavtat is a beautiful small town with daily boat trips, plenty of bars and restaurants. Will be going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,172 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
287 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
9.7 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $45 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing