We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Cavtat is wonderful, but the Albatros is not. The first sign of decline is the large front door mat, which has the hotel name woven in to it. It is so worn that half the name cannot be seen.
The room though was generally good and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable. A lot of people were complaining that the air conditioning was not on, but just opening the windows was fine for us (in May). Breakfast was very good, but the dinners, with lots of kept-warm and over-cooked food, were a different story. The biggest disappointment for us was the drinks fridge and the balcony. The fridge simply did not work, but the reception staff insisted that it did, as it was not meant to cool drinks from room temperature. Yes, that's what they said, on three occasions! We asked what it was for then, but did not get very far, and our travel company's rep was useless. No-one we talked to said their fridges worked. The width of our balcony was the width of my shoe. A lot of the balconies though were much wider, so maybe we were unlucky. As we like to have a cold drink on the balcony, we might be slightly biased towards this hotel. The hotel was put out as 4*, but I would say more like 2*+ for us. We have been back to Cavtat this year and are going back again in 2008. For self catering try the Bacan apartments.

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank EUANDunstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
There are newer reviews for Remisens Hotel Albatros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2007

Just returned from a 7 day holiday staying at the Hotel Albatros, we are in the 50+ bracket and the majority of people staying during this week were also 50+.
The hotel and rooms were very spacious, clean, with king sized beds, rooms were cleaned each day from as early as 8.0am.
The food was buffet style and of high quality and varied, if you so wished you could have a different meal each day.
The restaurant staff worked extremely hard (Marco, one of the staff, only after the 2nd evening knew are drinks order without having to ask). The restaurant can get noisy when full which did occur a couple of nights, unfortunately this results in a atmosphere a bit like a works canteen..................minor complaint only.
The Hotel offers plenty of facilities such as indoor/outdoor pools, gym, hair salon, evening entertainment etc

Sadly the week we were there the weather was not the best (week before was very warm apparently), but there are enough trips to be had to fill a week up, such as Dubrovnik, Montenegro and the one I would recommend, even though you are on the coach for a long time, would be to Mostar, if only to realise how lucky many of us are who live this side of Europe, yes the bridge is amazing but please look around the corner, you do not have to walk more than 100 metres from the 'tourist' spot to see Bosnian reality.

Cavtat is very picturesque with many fine eateries (this we were told by others as we didn't use them as we were half board)

I read many reviews saying Cavtat has only enough to occupy yourself for a week only, this I would agree with if you like to be on the go as we do, but as a relaxing location a fortnight would be ideal.

At the back end of the week we got very noisy neighbours (Albanians on a convention) and I asked to be moved to another room which they did without hesitation.

I would be more than happy to return to the Albatros and in my opinion it deserves the 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank mulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

My husband and I are in our mid 20's and wanted a chilled out holiday with nice scenery... cavtat itself is beautiful with plenty of cafes/bars to people watch and while away a few hours.

The hotel itself was disappointing. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were FREEZING, i normally swim all the time on holiday but they were so cold i couldnt enjoy them and barely went in them once. I asked reception and the pol guy if we could have heating turned up they categorically said no.
The hotel had asolutely no atmosphere at all, we dont like things noisey or busy but there sa difference between this and somewhere having a relaxing atmosphere, to us it was very depressing property.
he food was quite good,but very samey and often we couldn find a clean table to sit at and had to seach round to find a member of staff to set 1 up for us.
Our room (A440) was right at end of corridor and right next to maids room and staff lift which meant it was v noisey.

watersports place at the other iberostar hotel down the road were v difficult to speak to, they werent particularly interested in helping us and we had to get our rep involved to get them to take me water skiing,when it advertises this anyway! they were rude and lazy.

weather was pretty good, mid 20's for 2 weeks with 3 days of rain. there were plenty of sun beds just a shame the pols were like ice!! Theres not really enough to do here for 2 weeks.
rooms and restaurants were clean and spacious ,but the leisure facilities really let it down,and hotel staff werent particularly helpful either.
the end.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We have just returned from 11 nights at hotel iberostar albatros in cavtat croatia.the hotel was clean spacious and staff extremely friendly.the food was of a 4* varied and plentiful.
the facilities were good very large outdoor pool (but cold,sea warmer) with more than enough sunloungers,parasols & cushions to go around,there was also a good size indoor pool and a quite extensive gym.
We booked direct with Iberostar and was impressed with the ease & speed of confirmation and the attention to details then received from the hotel direct,accepting special requests and supplying extra information.
the hotel is about 1km from the harbour @ cavtat but is on its own pebble beach with water taxi pick up to Dubrovnik at cost of 80 Kuna return ( takes about 1 hour )from the beach,
there are a few bars and cafes around hotel but several more on the walk to Cavtat plus plenty around the harbour in Cavtat.
we had a great time a very relaxing holiday.
the airport @ Cilipi (Dubrovnik) is only a 5 minute taxi ride away @ a cost of 100 Kuna,there is aircraft noise as on direct flight path but did not find at all irritating.
the area is very clean and i would recommend a visit staying at albatros hotel.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank sol1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We arrived at hotel in the afternoon - very quick transfer from airport. Our room was in Block A (recommended) it was extremely hot - blinds not closed, aircon turned off, full sun on windows all afternoon. The "fridge" didn't seem to be working, and a 747 aircraft flew over the roof...
Plan of action - get your swimmers out of your suitcase, go down to the cool refreshing pool (on your way, stop at reception and ask about the aircon and "fridge) dive into pool and cool off, get yourself a cooktail (happy hour 4.00 - 5.00) and relax on the sunbed until dusk.

When we got back to our room, the aircon had been switched on, the fridge is just a cooler (no icecubes) and the planes do fly over head, but only about 10 a day max and you soon get use to it .

Get the ferry to Dubrovnik from outside the hotel (pool area) £5 single £8 return. Takes 45mins. Bit choppy, but good way to see the coast. Bus back was hot, crowded and not very frequent.

If you travel with Balkan Holidays, dont expect to see a Rep or get any info whilst there. Our Welcome meeting was awful, only good thing was the Rep had cheaper tickets for the City Wall Walk in Dubrovnik, £4 instead of £5.

Walk into Cavtat very nice, but WATCH out for CARS.... European drivers - they DONT slow down.

We had a great holiday, people nice (except at airport - very grumpy and make sure you leave all drinks/water behind, because they throw it away at Customs).

Would recommend Albatros over and above the other hotels in Cavtat area. Yes, the entertainment was naff (Tom Jones, Engelburt Humperdink most nights..)but everywhere was spotlessly clean, food extremely good and masses of it.

Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank abnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for the week of the 15th of september. there was a large group of us staying both children and adults. the rooms were good , had everything you needed. The staff were very nice and couldnt do enough for you. Although there was only one bar staff so you had to wait a while for a drink The breakfast in the morning was a buffet breakfast so you could have anything you wanted which was great for kids. we didnt eat in the hotel in the evenings we choose to stroll down to the harbour for food instead. there was a fab piazzeria down the road which was unbelieveably cheap and tasty. Also right outside the hotel was the ferry into dubrovnik and t worked out at about 10euro return.
The pool was very cold but once you braved it and dove in you soon adjusted to it . the kids didnt seem to notice . they would have spent all day in it if they could. all in al it was a great holiday

Stayed: September 2007
Thank CVG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

we are a couple 50+ stayed at the hotel for 9 nights.
we thought the resort and area stunning and the hotel good.
like other iberostar hotels we have stayed in, it was spotlessly clean throughout, the food good with plenty of variety, restaurant very busy of a night needed to look around to find table or ask waiter to clear used table for us (some nights outside area was used for eating this did help the situation).
we found all staff to be polite ,helpful and efficient.
indoor pool good size only open outside of peak months (open september) but was on the chilly side.also has a good well equiped gym but this costs extra (cheaper the more sessions you initially book ).
plenty of room around outside pool area had no problem getting a lounger but if you come down late you will have to be in the full sun the pool itself was freezing so cold if you went in (and very few people did) it took your breath away. this was a great shame on lovely sunny days . it seemed the same with the childrens pool as we saw no children playing in the pool.
for sun in the afternoon on your balcony and for a great view over the bay with stunning sunsets you will need a high room in block A seaside.
the hotel does have downsides the ventilation unit outside does make a noise during the day but was turned of for the nights.
sound proofing of the rooms are not the best you can hear flushing toilets and slamming of doors.
entertainment is poor with no real shows put on and the disco nights are very very dated , first record played was "tulips from amsterdam" and it didnot get much better, most people we think did like us and strolled into cavtat of a night.
but the downside of the hotel was totally overshadowed for us by the beauty of the area .and we would have no hesitation in going back to cavtat and staying at the albatros.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ronunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,131 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,874 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,066 reviews
9.7 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $50 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros (4*) is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. Are you interested in organising congresses, conferences or other events? In Cavtat, guests can participate at professional meetings in a stress-free environment. If you are travelling on business, the Hotel Albatros is a great choice for your meeting, because it includes 3 conference rooms with all the necessary equipment and professional support from the members of the Group and Business Travel Department, who will make sure that your event runs as smoothly as possible. An internet connection is available in every room and also in the Internet Corner in the lobby, where you can enjoy all the advantages of the virtual world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing