We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant -- but it's not in Cavtat”

Konoba Vinica Monkovic
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: European, Croatian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Local fammily restaurant with traditional home produce food. Beautifull sittings on the river.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
540 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant -- but it's not in Cavtat”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant -- but it's not in Cavtat. It's in the little village of Ljuta, some 20 km to the southeast of the village of Cavtat. We ate on the shady terrace next to the river -- the ambience is magnificent. The food is excellent, especially the veal grilled under a metal bell, so the meat is partly grilled, partly roasted, and the juices have dripped onto the potatoes the chef places under the meat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerAlteBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    49
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
540 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant -- but it's not in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant -- but it's not in Dubrovnik. It's in the little village of Ljuta, some 35 km to the southeast of Dubrovnik. We ate on the shady terrace next to the river -- the ambience is magnificent. The food is excellent, especially the veal grilled under a metal bell, so the meat is partly grilled, partly roasted, and the juices have dripped onto the potatoes the chef places under the meat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DerAlteBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a Gem in Konavle”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

On our first visit we had grilled veggies with Dalmatian prosciutto and cheese. It's was really good in particular, when could you follow the chef prepared the dose on grill. The second time we had for a bighunger, the house special. It was pork chop filled cheese and Dalmatian prosciutto with cooked veggies and fries made from local potatoes that melted in your mouth. Reminder; the portions of meet in Croatia are big. The service excallent and the enviroment easy. Not for busy eater and remember to enjoy the surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Zulu9Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Love this out of town restaurant”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

During our 4 week stay in Cavtat, we have visited this restaurant a few times. Always love the food, especially the soups. Good value, good service. We have eaten inside and outside. Only around 15 min drive from Cavtat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CMM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money - Excellent”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you are nearby don’t miss to visit this lovely konoba with excellent food. For the price of pizza in Dubrovnik you will have great meal in very nice place. We were there in the evening in May so we didn’t eat outside. Pity, because ambient on terrace is great and they have platform with table where you sit just over the water and this is really spectacular. Food was great and portions are really large so we couldn’t eat everything what was served. Service was also nice and fast so I can’t say any negative word. If you compere with much more popular restaurant Konavoski dvori (500m faraway) I would always choose Konoba Vinica Monkovic - much better value for money.
Absolutely recommended restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Vorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Vinica Monkovic also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Konoba Vinica Monkovic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing