We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Cavtat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Galija

Taverna Galija
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Cavtat
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northumberland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Cavtat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Like many other reviewers, we are puzzled as to why this restaurant isn't rated higher? The food is of high quality and great value. We ate here 3 times during our stay in Cavtat and were delighted each time. Service is occasionally a little slow as the food is cooked fresh and is 'real'. However, why anyone should object to spending a little more time in this fantastic location is beyond us! Service was always excellent and 'fun' and the house wines superb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hexhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    90
    26
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Galija is right at the end of the harbour front and was recommended to us by couple that were staying in out hotel. We were glad we visited as it was a lovely experience. The food was great as was the service we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WatsonSellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently had a party in this restaurant for our family and friends, it was the day 2 party of our wedding and it was absolutely amazing. Mislov, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, he even provided entertainment for the night which was brilliant. We had meat platters and cheesecake both of which were very tasty. The staff are friendly and accommodating and there is a great atmosphere in the restaurant. The location is great too, at the very end of the promenade looking out over the marina. We have also eaten there as a small group and the same comments apply, we will definitely be back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimBehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality food and beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is at the far end of Cavtat and a true find.Right next door to hotel Supertar it is again in the pretty harbour front.Daily specials make this place very reasonable and with freshly prepared fish and local dishes a great place for lunch or dinner.It usually has a man playing the piano in the evenings and I would say perfect for a couple wanting a romantic dinner for two.Overall,definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammybianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the distinct pleasure of being entertained by a friend of the owner, who put on a great show during the bbq party our family and friends attended there. The food was simple, but very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Galija also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Taverna Galija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing