We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Fontana
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

After travelling around Croatia , we needed a place to relax and sort ourselves out for the flight home. Villa Fontana provided the ideal base. The accommodation was spotless, air-conditioned and very well equipped. It is well positioned for easy walks into Cavtat and Janet is an amenable host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank batley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on the 2nd September had a pickup provided by the villa,after reading all the revues were quite surprised to see a substandard accommodation,the revues had dressed it up very generously.
Some observations were very small swimming pool,broken shower cubicle,broken toilet seat,very small bathroom,broken towel rail in bathroom,bedroom very small bed almost level with the floor,untidy bed duvet no sheets just duvet,wardrobes that were falling apart.
Overall it was just straight down the middle if you need accommodation for two and don't want to pay anymore than €550 per week then this is probilly for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hempenstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labdoglover, Owner at Villa Fontana, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest

We are sorry that your visit to Villa Fontana did not match your expectation, and wish you had brought your concerns to our attention whilst you were here, so as to give us the opportunity to put things right for you, although obviously we could not have done anything about your concerns with the size of the pool! However, we are surprised that you were disappointed with the pool as we always ensure there several photographs, amply demonstrating its dimensions, on our website.

We are sorry you didn’t get chance to benefit from our airport collection service fully, as I recall you chose to cycle to the villa from the airport, thereby missing out on the small guided tour enjoyed by your partner.

We do strongly object to the term “substandard accommodation”. Villa Fontana is a member of the Croatian Tourist Board, the governing body that issues our rating, and we must meet their standards at all times in order to maintain our membership.

Although, as a matter of course, we check all of our accommodation between guests, after reading your comments we have carried out an in depth investigation into the state of repair of your areas of concern: the wardrobe, toilet seat and shower cubicle. The guests currently occupying the apartment accompanied the inspection and they, like us, could not find fault with any of those areas – however, we did notice that the towel rail does ‘wobble’ a little and we will address that problem forthwith.

The bed is a standard double size. We don’t fully understand your complaint regarding the bedding, we provide bottom sheet, pillows with pillow cases and an all-weather duvet on each of our beds, as well as a regular towel service.

We hope your experience at Villa Fontana has not jaded your view of our beautiful country and hope you will return to Cavtat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Rather belatedly I am writing this review as this is the first year in 4 years that we have not visited. We loved staying here with our children and then our extended family. The apartments are always immaculately clean and the welcome is always warm. We enjoyed staying by the pool in the morning with full sun and then going down to the beach where the pedaloes and other water activities are all available at a really affordable price. The town itself is a pleasant stroll and some of the boats are a sight to behold- a mini Monaco! the ice creams in town are tops- lots of flavours and again- really affordable. Dubrovnik lovely but hot and good rates through Miro. Overall a great place to stay, beautiful scenery and sunsets and miro and Janet are lovely interesting people. We would love to back and miss it greatly.

Room Tip: all good with different benefits to each of them- ask Janet for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taityEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is the first time I have returned from a holiday and felt the need to write a review on my stay, but as I had such a wonderful holiday, I felt compelled to this time.

We were met by Miro & Janet at the airport, Miro then gave us a tour around the town and showed us the sights, restaurants that he would recommend, cash points and the short cut to the beach etc. Janet then showed us around our apartments and explained everything that we needed to know and how everything worked. A lovely, friendly couple.
The rooms were very clean and tidy with aircon, tv, kettle, fridge etc. My towels were changed every other day and sheets once a week, the maids are very friendly & diligent. The pool was lovely and the honesty bar was very handy and very reasonably priced.

I hadn't fully appreciated just how hilly Cavtat was until the approach in and we passed several apartments, but I'm so happy that my sister in law had done her research before booking the holiday. As so many apartments and hotels in Cavtat are up some very steep hills, thankfully Villa Fontana is situated on a flat which is about a 5 minute stroll away from the beach.

Most evenings Miro came to work on his boat and was always happy to stop for a chat, he is a true character and loves to get to know his guests and answer any questions you may have about the area, apartments, where to eat etc. I'm not generally one for revisiting a resort I have previously visited, but I will definatley be considering going back and staying at the lovely Villa Fontana.

Many thanks to Miro, Janet and all the staff for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We returned yesterday from a fantastic 2 weeks staying at Villa Fontana. Miro & Janet are the perfect hosts at these perfect apartments. Although they don't live at the apartments, they were always around to help in any way they could. We loved the flat stroll into town and the great choice of places to eat. If you choose to stay at Villa Fontana and Cavtat, you won't be disappointed, it really does offer a beautiful resort and ideal location. Be sure to make the effort to walk around the peninsula to the lovely rocky beaches that are hidden around here. Lovely areas where you can bask in the sun or find yourself your own little bit of shade. Fantastic snorkelling in the turquoise clear waters. We would all thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elf_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed with Janet & Co 2 years ago and enjoyed the stay so decided to go again. It was just as great second time round.
Its well situated 5 mins walk from the sea and around 15 mins walk into the centre of Cavtat, mainly on the flat. Lots of places to eat and very good value. Ciparis is the nearest, friendly owner with great food.
The pool is a plus as not many places have one.
Its nice and quiet and Janet is always around to help if needed.
Planning another trip maybe next year but will go back.

Room Tip: We only book a room as they are ideal to help with breakfast. Fridge and kettle is all you need. Jan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you are looking for something beautiful and idyllic away from the crowds, don't hesitate to choose Cavtat and Villa Fontana. I had a very relaxing and one of the most memorable holiday there with my husband and three sons. We enjoyed everything: the nice pool area, the Honesty bar, the pretty garden, Jack (the cat), the beautiful scenery etc. It's a short and VERY picturesque stroll around the bay to the beautiful town which has lots of good restaurants and a lovely athmosphere and sunset in the evening! I personally enjoyed most the nice, little restaurant called Ciparis on the bay and under the pinetrees. The owner was a delight and food was served with a smile and they were always so nice to my boys too!! :) We also visited Dubrovnik, Montenegro and the nearby islands and they really were worth of visiting but most of all we loved beautiful Cavtat and peaceful Villa Fontana and will never forget the perfect hosts Miro and Janet. Thank you so much! <3

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JulietJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontana

Property: Villa Fontana
Address: Put od Oboda 5, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fontana comprises of six self catering apartments with either one or two bedrooms. There are also twin or double en-suite rooms available. Only a short walk to the beach and a pleasant stroll to the Cavtat village village centre. Villa Fontana has a secluded swimming pool and sunbathing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontana Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing