We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil setting a step away from hustle of main Cavtat front”
Review of Ivan Restaurant

Ivan Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A tranquil setting a step away from hustle of main Cavtat front”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ivan is located by the second harbor (by the bus stop) and for this reason is quieter and you are much more likely to get a table by the water. If you do it makes for a relaxing evening, away from the hustle and bustle of the main Cavtat front. We both had the sea bass with prawns in a white wine sauce - the fish was perfectly cooked and came on a bed of risotto rice, altogether a delicate but flavorsome dish. We went for desserts too and would highly recommend the pancakes with ice cream. Service was very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BertetErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    234
    88
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The only place we ate twice.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic friendly service and the best steak we have ever eaten, ever, a butter knife could have sliced through it. The first time we ate here I had the fish and shell fish stew, not realizing I had eaten the same thing the previous evening in another restaurant, this was by far the better the fish just melted in my mouth, and on our second visit on our last night when I couldn't decide which sauce to have with my steak the wonderful waiter brought me both. Also the best cherry brandy to finish with.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SistasNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Quite”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A very clean and tidy restaurant with friendly staff and situated at the newer part of the harbour, the menu has quite a large choice although seemed to contain some strange fusions, not sure why.
We did eat here though but I felt it was not quite up to the standard of some other places in Cavtat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CB1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Excellent food and cheap for Cavtat.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Situated on the less picturesque side of Cavtat, the Ivan overlooks the working harbour as opposed to the playground of the rich and famous. Do not disregard the place for this, the food and service are both excellent at a fraction of the cost of next door. We paid £54 for a meal that would have cost £65 in the other harbour. Check it out, well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice service!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have had lunch here to kill time just before we'd fly back home. We had a shrimp cocktail and a chicken salad and some drinks. The ice coffee was delicious, the salad was nice. The only thing was that the shrimp cocktail had too much sauce and too little shrimp ;-) But we had a terrific view over the little bay/harbour of Cavtat. The service was very, very nice. We didn't have to wait long before we were served, the waiter made us a special place in the restaurant where I could change my son's diaper and the toilets were clean. This was a very nice and welcome experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark1Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivan Restaurant also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Ivan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing