We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavtat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Andro apartments
Ranked #5 of 21 Cavtat B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just spent a week at Villa Andro between Aug 6th - 13th and we loved it!

Andrushco and his family are wonderful hosts, who did everything to make us feel welcome and at home - from a spotless room and bathroom, to a great kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine (shared with only one other room) a lovely garden with an abundance of wonderful fresh figs and nice conversations with Andrushco in the garden over a cup of coffee or brandy. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms with a beautiful view over the harbour and all the way to Dubrovnik. Since the garden is so lovely we did not miss having a balcony. The location of Villa Andro is second to none if you want to be in the very centre of Cavtat - close to restaurants, the bakery, the grocery store, the fruit market and several good places to take a swim.

The only reason I would ever consider rating Villa Andro less then Excellent would be to keep this gem to myself, but that would not be fair to anyone, since Andrushco obviously loves taking care of his guests and more people deserve to experience it. So, if you consider visiting Cavtat and are bored with large hotels, then look no further. We will definitely try to come back and would recommend it any day to our friends and family.

Thank you Andruscho and the rest of the Popovic family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwedenJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I requested a stay at Villa Andro and unfortunately they were booked for the time we were in Cavtat. Andruschko, however, booked me in a another apartment not far from his apartment. It was a very bad experience from the beginning from the owner of the apartment yelling at me on the phone while we were lost trying to find the apartment to not feeling safe upon are arrival. I could go on and on but won't... I talked with Andruschko and he was very apologetic and I believe felt bad we had such a negative experience. I am writing this review as a warning if you are not able to book with Andruschko at the Villa Andro and he recommends another accommodation please look into the accommodations in detail before deciding to stay there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just back from a week stay at the absolutely fabulous Villa Andro. My daughter was having her wedding in Dubrovnik, reception in the Hotel Croatia and wanted a home from home to be married from and she certainly got her wish.
I cannot understand why this villa is not #1 in the Trip advisor ratings. Ten minutes from the airport. Spacious and very clean with excellent air-conditioning and everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. Right on the waterfront. On each level of the house are two large double bedrooms and one smaller bedroom with two single beds (or this room can also be used as a sitting room), two shower rooms and a kitchen. Beds are large and very comfortable. First floor has a balcony outside the double rooms with beautiful views. Second floor, although no balcony has spectacular views. Having said all that we did not spend much time in the house as the gardens are so beautiful to sit in and enjoy a drink or two. The gardens are split into different levels and meticulously kept with magnificent stone murals done into the walls. Bird’s eye view of some of the most amazing sunsets you would ever see from one of the terraces in the garden as well as from the bedrooms.
We booked the house exclusively for 6 adults and 1 child and could have easily had another 4 adults stay there. Although you can just book one floor in the villa.
Situated right in the heart of Cavtat Old Town with all the restaurants, bars, shops, banks, tourist office etc….surrounding and best of all, no hills to climb. Once inside the green gate of the villa you would never realise you are situated in the heart of it all, as the villa is so private you cannot hear a sound from outside. Because of where the house is, hidden behind the Poseidon restaurant, you would not even know it was there, also the fact that Andruscho or his lovely wife Tanja were always working in the gardens made the house feel extremely secure. Although they live in a separate part of the house, were never intrusive. Also just beside the bus station and the port where the sea ferry runs very regularly to Dubrovnik.
To add to all the previous reviews, I don’t think you could ever find more friendly or hospitable hosts as Andruscho and Tanja. From the first emails answered so quickly and helpfully, viewing the house in April, arriving to a greeting of Andruscho`s homemade liqueurs and coffee, to when we left with another of Tanya`s homemade cakes to tide us by at the airport.
The day after the wedding Andruscho & Tanja very kindly allowed us to use the gardens for a family gathering (60+ people), not only that but really helped us immensely by helping us organise food and seating for the family, brought in from the Poseidon restaurant (fab pizza). Tanja also baked us a beautiful traditional Croatian celebratory cake for the occasion. You certainly would not get this kind of hospitality in many places, and for all they did to make our stay as memorable as it is, we thank them both so much.
Would we go back???? Most definitely and look forward to it and cant recommend the Villa highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We can only repeat what others have said about Villa Andro. Fabulous accommodation, lovely gardens and suntrap roof terrace. We had read the reviews and thankfully they were all accurate and the place lived up to our expectations. Having been in contact with Andruschko several times by email, we felt like we knew him when he met our taxi from the airport. It really felt like staying with old friends.Without a doubt, the greatest thing about Villa Andro is the location. Being able to walk out of the garden and straight into the heart of Cavtat made the holiday for us. Unfortunately, they were unable to take us for the last 2 nights of our trip so we had to book somewhere else. It was a nice apartment but so far out of the town it made us realise just how important the location had been for us. This was out first visit to Cavtat. A lovely little place with lots of great restaurants and bars. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor room with a balcony which was lovely but I believe the rooms on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Cavtat is a lovely place to spend the summer vacation, but spending it at Villa Andro makes it even better. Andruschko is a very good host, and the chattering in the garden with the following drink is a good recipe of living the good life.
The apartments are clean and nice, with good space for 6 persons each.
Villa Andro has probably the best location in Cavtat. Close to everything, and particularly important close to the sea. The view and the sunset was breathtaking.
Me and my family, and our best friends with family loved staying at Andro`s.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we have recently returned from a weeks holiday at Villa andro> It was the first time that we had been to Croatia and we could not have had a better introduction to Croatia. Andruschko and his lovely wife Tatanie made us very welcome , and it became a regular occurrence having a drink with them in their lovely garden. The situation is superb as it is so close to the harbour with no steps or steep climb to the villa which is not the case for a lot of properties there.
The villa was spotless and the terraces overlooked the harbour, which made it a great place to sit at night before going into town for dinner.
Andruschko was a really good host as he gave us lots of information re the surrounding areas.

All in all, they helped to make it a fabulous holiday and we will certainly return to see andruschko and family.

Room Tip: ask for availability of rooms with balcony, higher rooms have a bett er view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had 3 nights in a lovely apartment with a wonderful view of the blue Adriatic Sea from our bedroom windows. The apartment was perfect for our needs: three bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a kitchen. We arrived late in the evening and met Andrushco, the owner, who walked us to the ATM, showed us the bakery shop for breakfast supplies, and generally acclimated us to the town. Andrushco literally took us under his wing with his many suggestions for restaurants, instructions on how to get the ferry into Dubrovnik, and by arranging a ride for us to the international ferry terminal on the far side of Dubrovnik from where we were taking a ferry to Italy.
The terrace from Villa Andro is the best place in town from which to watch the sunset. We are so glad we stayed in charming Cavtat (and at Villa Andro) instead of Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy34108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.2 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Andro apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Andro apartments

Address: Trumbicev Put 21, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Price Range: $42 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Andro is in a perfect location, right in the heart of Cavtat at the water's edge. One of the main attractions of Villa Andro is the peaceful atmosphere created by the pine tress and flowers in the beautiful Mediterranean garden with sunbathing area. Villa Andro is a great choice of accommodation for anyone who likes the privacy and independence of a self-catering holiday. We are in the old town and our house is on the sea, more than any other house in the old town and we are in part where residential area ends and begin the promenade part. The view from the terrace is gorgeous, sea and the sunset, where is very pleasant to sit and enjoy the food and drinks. Close by is the Mediterranean garden with trees, laurels and oleanders. Here in this shade, if is too hot, you can sit and enjoy coffee, drinks, lunch or dinner. If you have a small track there is next to a table tennis and also a tennis court, and a dozen meters away is the beach, where you can refresh yourself in the clear water. Our guests receive 10% discount: Restaurants in Cavtat Car rental Boat trip to Elaphite near Dubrovnik Our house consist two large apartments with lovely sea view,balconies,airconditioning rooms,wifi,comfortable bathrooms,well equipped kitchen,available up to 13 people,separate units for your full privacy. The restaurants, bars, shops, supermarket in Cavtat and all the conveniences of the town are at your doorstep. WELCOME Andrija Andrusko Popovic ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Andro Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing