We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday for friend's wedding 27th September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Andro apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Cavtat B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday for friend's wedding 27th September 2012”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Villa Andro is a beautiful place with excellent hosts, Andrusko is very welcoming and friendly. We stayed for a friend's wedding at villa Banac next door to villa Andro which is an amazing setting for a wedding. Villa Andro is in a perfect location for everything you could possibly want in Croatia on the doorstep. It has magnificent views with amazing sunsets and is tastefully decorated. We had a very relaxing enjoyable time there. Andrusko has a wealth of knowledge and is always ready to assist with any requirements your may have, he also tells a very good story over a glass of his home made brandy; his wife, Tanja also makes lovely cakes to go with his coffee! Would definitely stay here again and can't wait to come back!

Jan and Steve

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    19
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
79
109
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Villa Andro for 10 nights this summer and we couldn't believe our luck at finding accommodation like this.

Firstly, the location of the Villa is absolutely fantastic. You are literally steps from the sea, the local shops, restaurants and fruit market. However, when you are sat in the beautifully decorated courtyard, soaking up the sun, it is so peaceful, you wouldn't believe there was another person for miles around. You access the Villa via a short cobbled path besides a restaurant and when you enter the delightful garden gate of the Villa, you are surrounded by fruit trees and a beautifully decorated garden, with many areas to relax and enjoy Andrusko's kind offers of wine and homemade baking. Alot of the accommodation in Cavtat is located very high up on the hills, so would be a huge trek from the sea and shops each day but Villa Andro is perfectly situated right by the sea.

Our room was lovely. A simple, spotlessly clean, spacious room with a comfortable bed and good air conditioning. We didn't have a balcony room but frankly if I wanted to be outside, the sun terrace overlooking the sea would always be my preference! The views from our room were spectacular- perfect for watching the sunset. The rooms are not ensuite but the bathroom is literally one step across the hallway and is clean, with a good, spacious shower and plenty of hot water. You don't share the bathroom with any other guests. Guests have access to a shared kitchen, which has everything you need for making breakfast and meals, though the restaurant options in Cavtat are so great, you will find yourself eating in the kitchen minimally! There is also a washing machine, which is readily available for use if you should need it.

Now, apart from the location, what really sets Villa Andro apart is the hospitality you will receive when you stay here. Andrusko and his family offer genuine, warm hospitality which nowadays is often hard to find. You can tell that Andrusko genuinely enjoys welcoming guests to his home and nothing is too much trouble. When we were staying here, we were missing the opening of the Olympics at home in the UK, so Andrusko even offered us to watch the ceremony in his own living room and even translated all the way through! When we arrived, he met us from the taxi drop off area, which is a two minute walk from the Villa. He helped us settle in and then treated us to biscuits, cake, homemade alcohol, wine, coffee...I can't count how many times we sat chatting in the evenings over a bottle of red! Andrusko has a host of local knowledge and can help recommend boat trips, excursions and restaurants- no request is too much trouble. He even lent us his snorkeling gear for use over the 10 days we were there to save us buying it. On our last day, our flight was quite late, so Andrusko kindly offered to look after our luggage in his house all day, before giving us a final send off with more delicious homemade cake!

All in all, Villa Andro is a real find. I don't think I will ever find a more welcoming host and I couldn't believe our luck in finding a villa with this amazing location and views. We actually got engaged on this holiday, so Cavtat, Villa Andro, Andrusko and his family will always have a special place in my heart. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollyFarmManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Andro for 3 nights and had a great time. The location was perfect, right at the end of the promenade with beautiful views over the harbour. Very peaceful with great sunsets. To top it off, you couldn't find a better host. Andro was charming, a perfect host and gives great recommendations for the area.
We loved our stay and hope to go back one day.
Thanks for having us :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Villa Andro has to be the best place to stay in Croatia. Located with a view across the bay to Dubrovnik, it is a delightful spot just a short walk to restaurants and shops along the bay.
Andrusko is the perfect host, helping with sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Rooms are spotless, and the kitchen is so convenient for breakfasts if you wish to bring in the wonderful local baking and market groceries, beer or wine and snacks. Andrusko arranged our taxi pick-up on arrival and departure, and always greeted us like old friends. A perfect vacation spot.

Room Tip: Request a balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, my wife and I thought it was a no-brainer to choose Villa Andro to stay at, when we visited Dubrovnik - though this is in Cavtat, a sleepy though picturesque village about 20 kms away.

It was the biggest mistake we made during our 17 day Croatia holiday & we sincerely hope that others following us bear in mind our experience and tips:

1) I don't remember anyone mentioning the difficult access, to start with. We had to park our car 10 minutes away and walk down with our heavy luggage through a complicated back road. Andro was good enough to come to receive us and assist us but you have no hope in hell of finding his place, otherwise. We got a warm welcome + a cold drink and we needed it, too, after that walk, I can tell you!

Disaster struck us on our first night however as we were disturbed around 3 a.m. by the sounds Andro was making looking for his cat,outside our room.

2) Everyday the walk back to our car was a steep, uphill 200 metres.Sweating before even starting the day.

3) Access & the entrance to the Villa is via a grimy restaurant path, shared with the restaurant.

4) The rooms are clean but absolutely spartan.Monastery living.We stayed in the most expensive room in the house, on the first floor, with a balcony.

5) The views were good though partially obstructed. If earlier readers are raving about these views, then I think they have just not stayed at other picturesque properties in Croatia. Many would leave Villa Andro for dead.

6) There was no TV (or, telephone) in our room. It was hot and there was an air-conditioner but there was no remote supplied! No hair-dryer either but Andro kindly lent us his wife's. These necessities were in every apartment in Croatia we stayed in - except, Villa Andro.

7) As regards the kitchen, the oven did not work. There wasn't an electric kettle and one evening there were no matchsticks (forget about a lighter!) either to heat the kettle on the hot plate. Borrowed a box from the restaurant next door.

8) Being the fag end of our trip, we had run out of clean clothes and therefore wanted to use the washing m/c, which was in the (cheaper) second floor apartment. This seemed to have caused Andro heart-ache. A few days later when we wanted to do it again,h was rude - for which he later apologised.Told us to wake up at 6 a.m. to use it as he was expecting that apartment to be occupied.

Why not have a washing m/c available for the use of his most expensive apartment?

Even to dry clothes, he said the Council next door did not like to see clothes drying on his line. However, imagine our surprise to see bed-sheets, towels et al that he was drying on the same line when we returned late that afternoon.

10) We did not have a sense of privacy at all. Andro seemed to think that we were using up his amenities like electricity, water etc and got the distinct feeling he was penny pinching.

11) Everyday he would switch off the internet by 11 p.m and switch it back on after 8.30 a.m. the next morning. It might not bother some folks but having to access work across continents and time-zones meant that this inconvenienced me, greatly. In any case, how much money would a shut down router at night save?

12) The bathroom is in a common area - no en suite.And, though the geyser was on all day, it worked sometimes and it was cold showers at other times!

Whilst we appreciate that others with terrific earlier reviews are recounting their experience, ours was so bad, that I am recounting it in horror, blow by blow, so that potential tourists weigh it all up and check out the alternatives.

Dubrovnik is a unique city and Cavtat is pretty but we will remember both for the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: If you are still game enough to stay, choose a room after asking if all amenities work in the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dhmadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After such a wonderful time in August 2011, we returned to Villa Andro again this year for a week.
Andrusko and Tanya are ther perfect hosts and we were greeted like family on our arrival and throughout the stay.
Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and towels and bedding are changed regularly. The courtyard and terrace area are great for having breakfast, a pre dinner drink or chatting with Andrusko and Tanya, sharing his famous Kumquat brandy.
We spent time exploring more of Cavtat and although the whole area is beautiful, Villa Andro has the best views in Cavtat if not in the whole of Croatia!
Can't wait to return for our third visit next year. Many thanks Andrusko and Tanya :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54JCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just come back from 11 days at Villa Andro where we enjoyed a very pleasant stay under the care of Andrusko and his lovely wife Tanya. We can do no more than reiterate all of the positive comments there have been under other posts on this site. We highly recommend a stay at Villa Andro - whether for a short break when passing-through or a full-blown holiday - we are sure you will have a wonderful time.
Thank you Andrusko and Tanya for your superb hospitality. We hope we will see you again sometime in the coming years!

Room Tip: The first floor has rooms with a balcony but the second floor has slightly better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 18 in Cavtat
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.2 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Andro apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Andro apartments

Property: Villa Andro apartments
Address: Trumbicev Put 21, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Andro is in a perfect location, right in the heart of Cavtat at the water's edge. One of the main attractions of Villa Andro is the peaceful atmosphere created by the pine tress and flowers in the beautiful Mediterranean garden with sunbathing area. Villa Andro is a great choice of accommodation for anyone who likes the privacy and independence of a self-catering holiday. We are in the old town and our house is on the sea, more than any other house in the old town and we are in part where residential area ends and begin the promenade part. The view from the terrace is gorgeous, sea and the sunset, where is very pleasant to sit and enjoy the food and drinks. Close by is the Mediterranean garden with trees, laurels and oleanders. Here in this shade, if is too hot, you can sit and enjoy coffee, drinks, lunch or dinner. If you have a small track there is next to a table tennis and also a tennis court, and a dozen meters away is the beach, where you can refresh yourself in the clear water. Our guests receive 10% discount: Restaurants in Cavtat Car rental Boat trip to Elaphite near Dubrovnik Our house consist two large apartments with lovely sea view,balconies,airconditioning rooms,wifi,comfortable bathrooms,well equipped kitchen,available up to 13 people,separate units for your full privacy. The restaurants, bars, shops, supermarket in Cavtat and all the conveniences of the town are at your doorstep. WELCOME Andrija Andrusko Popovic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Andro apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Andro Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing