We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel for a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel for a holiday”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been visiting the Elephusa Hotel for many years now and always find it a pleasure to go back. Bol itself is in a perfect location - the small town is a very good and easy walk from the hotel, and there are many lovely beaches within walking distance. It is lovely to stroll into Bol in the evening for dinner, or just a walk.

The reception staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Whilst I do agree with some of the other posters that the rooms are basic, our sea facing room is perfectly adequate - how long do you spend in a hotel room in such a lovely place? The staff that serviced our room were very friendly and helpful - they always tried to service the room while we were at breakfast so we would come back to a ready room.

I found, once again, the breakfast was great - fresh fruit and plentiful supply of loads of different foods. I cannot comment on the evening meal as we did not eat in the hotel, but ate in Bol at night.

However, one negative comment. If you are looking for the friendly warmth and charm of a Croatian resort, this has now gone and the hotel has taken on the form of a French holiday package resort. Whilst the hotel does seem to welcome all its guests, and I have no problem with elderly French folk on package tours, the French "hosts" in their Fram outfits are just too awful. They seem to be everywhere and appear to have taken over the hotel. Their poolside antics are just awful - their shouting into the microphone and excessively loud music drove us to the beach. Salsa lessons in the midday sun which nobody attended but had these people cavorting around showing off was the last straw.

I would not let this put me off going back though, and I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeganNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear MeganNetherlands,

It's nice to hear that you visited our hotel. Thanks for the reviews related to the hotel service, and we're happy that you were satisfied with it. Our hotel entertainment is international amd I can promise that we'll do our best to make our guests satisfied. We're looking forward to your visiting us again.

Best regards!
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    248
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
188
300
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ky.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently visited Bol Brac and stayed at this hotel. The employees at the front desk were exceptional. They were always very friendly and they let us have a later check-out. The breakfast we received each morning was good but not great. The employees in the dining room were much less service oriented than elsewhere in the resort. Our room was very nice, clean and had everything we needed including a great view. The location was wonderful, within easy walking distance to the Rat Beach and the town of Bol. The indoor pool was excellent. The outdoor pool was also very nice but we were there in May so the water was too cold. We sat outside by the pool and enjoyed the sun. They also have a very nice outdoor bar almost on the promenade.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and this area of Brac.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear kypat

We're glad that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Thanks for the reviews related to the hotel staff, especially the reception. As far as the restaurant service is concerned, we do our best to make it better with each day. Our future plan is to maintain the level of the quality. We hope you'll visit us again and enjoy in your vacation.

Best regards!
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was there with my boyfriend since we used one of the packages that they offered on their website.

Prices were really reasonable for everything included - massage, spa, bath, pool, breakfast and dinner plus the bedroom.

We were upgraded to a bedroom with a sea view which we appreciate. We were there in October 2012 and I'd always go for out-of-season spa packages than in the high season, but be careful, they don't work during the winter.

We also took breakfast in our bedroom since we had a lovely balcony with a great view and it was worth every penny (I believe it's around 40 kuna for room service). Just write your list night before and you will get it as you request it. Dinner is a buffet and it's really tasty and you can choose between many options. Drinks are not cheap, but it's okay since it's a hotel price.

Beds are comfy, shower is clean, all in all we are very satisfied and maybe, who knows, we'll come back for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ygritte85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Ygritte85

It's our pleasure that you enjoyed in Bluesun hotel Elaphusa in Bol and were satisfied with spending your time in the spa. We will try to maintain the level of the quality of the service, in wellness and all other units. Feel free to visit us again.

Best regards!
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a great hotel this is.

Check in was efficient and the well trained staff helpful,smiling and friendly as were all the other staff we encountered during our two night stay as part of an insight travel group.

We had a room with sea views and our room was a good size with a balcony and a small table and two chairs. Good amount of storage space for 2 suitcases and a large room safe and free wifi.

Our king size bed was comfortable and the bathroom very clean and comfortable.The person who cleaned our room ,Nada did a great job.

There is a small flat screen tv with a reasonable range of channels.

The buffet dinner offers an excellent range of food and good deserts (ice cream was yummy).The Executive chef is to be commented on the range and presentation of the food.The salads were really nice and fresh. The fish I thought was a little overdone but it is hard because of the large amounts required in a dining room serving many people but I would not make this a criticism.Overall I would give the buffet dinner a 8.5/10.

Breakfast was buffet style and once again good with all the usual food one expects from a good hotel.The fruit was lovely and fresh.

This hotel also has an excellent range of other amenitities such a a big outdoor and indoor pool and a small bowling alley and a wellness centre.

The hotel claims to be 4 stars. I would give it 4.5 stars.
We had a really excellent stay here . Highly recommended..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear rovingrabbit2,

thank you for an extensive review and for pointing all the positive aspects of your vacation. Also, thank you for comment about the fish, feedback like yours are important for us, and they help us to improve our service. We are glad that you left Bol satisfied and we are looking forward seeing you again.

Best regards,
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have just returned home after a week stay in this very good hotel. It is in a wonderful situation almost on edge of sea, and short walk of 15 mins from beautiful town of Bol. The hotel we found to be very good with good food, good room, and very clean, staff were always pleasant. The only down side was the transfer from Split airport which took a very long time indeed ~ however ~ our tour company (prestige travel) provided excellent links and our actual transfer went very smoothly indeed. Very good area for cyclists. I would certainly recommend this hotel, and hope to visit there again despite the long transfer it was so well worth it. Croatia also seems to be very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Janet R,

It's my pleasure to hear that you liked your staying in our hotel and that you recognized our effort to please the guests. We're also grateful that you recommended our hotel to other guests and we hope you'll visit us again.

Best regards!

Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. First, GREAT view and great location. Our room faced the ocean and overlooked the pretty blue pool below. It was about a 10 min leisurely walk to Zlatni Rat and about a 15 (slow) walk to the main area of Bol where all the shops/restaurants are. Our room was clean and spacious. A/C worked very well! The furniture and beds are pretty basic, there is nothing overly fru fru about this place, but its a good place to stay on the island. The hotel is rather large and spacious as well. The only thing we disliked was the buffet breakfast inside! Definitely would recommend to management to make it less of a 'cruise ship' type organization and for people to be able to eat outside. Also, the breakfast food could use some sprucing up. It is only about $8 more to order room service, which we did, since breakfast is included and it was much nicer to sit on our balcony, enjoy the view, and eat our breakfast. The food is so so though. There are nice places in the little town to eat breakfast and brunch.

Room Tip: The higher the better since you can see more of the ocean and its quieter. We were on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Katrina E,

We're happy to hear that you were satisfied with your vacation in our hotel, as well as with the hotel location. We'll definitely consider your advice for the breakfast, the quality is what we seek. We're looking forward to your coming!

Best regards!
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Check-in was quick and then it was up to our rooms in 'A' block up over the main building. We heard noised from below and found ourselves over an outside sitting area, but later discovered if you had the air/con on and the window closed it was OK. The room was spacious, with a safe and fridge, plenty of hangers, but little storage for clothes. Everything very clean and nicely furnished. Lighting was very good in the bedroom and bathroom, but they seem to have a shortage of mirrors. One was over the dressing table 6" x 48" verticle the other mirror in the bedroom was on the sliding wardrobe again narrow and long, but unless the wardrobe was closed you couldn't see it. The bed was very comfortable and pillows and liked the idea of 2 small quilts on the bed instead of one large one. Also bathrobes supplied.
The bathroom was well lit, but not keen on the bath with its middle shower unit instead of being the tap end, but it did have a slip mat.
The food was good and a very good choice for all meals also plenty of hot plates.. BF had no coffee machine, but you make your own from Nescafe or filter coffee. If you are a tea drinker in Croatia bring your own, as the black tea they supply if you like it strong, you will need at least 3 -4 tea bags.
There are a few steps about going from your room to the restaurant, no through walkway, also to get out to the pool area. Nice pools with plenty of seating and umbrellas. Activities so it can get a bit noisy after 3.00. Plenty of things to do if you want to. Internet slow, but not many use it these days. Library, bring plenty of reading material with you, as this is a poor one. There are no food shops nearby if you are on B&B, but plenty of eateries. A nice walk along a paved path into the centre takes about 20 - 25 min's. Trips available from the hotel and can be booked. Boat trips in the harbour down in the town. Lots of little beaches but you will pay for the umbrellas and chairs on them. Reception all speak very good English and were all very helpful. I noticed after rain there are no signs warning you of wet floors anywhere, as the hotel is all tiled. I think going now is the best time as its a bit quieter before the season starts next month. enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: 'A' block is over the main building, so go further back if you want a quieter room, or one n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Wndygp,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel. Thanks for your comments on the hotel and its facilities, we'll definitely work on the quality and thus enrich our offer as far as books and teas are concerned!

Best regards!
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
12.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Daniela
9.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#2 of 8 in Supetar
236 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Property: Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bol
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing