We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bol
from $87.70
More Info
from $101.19
More Info
from $95.57
More Info
from $393.52
More Info
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
113
61
22
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
113
61
22
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bring water guided tour boat trip bad road fascinating place sturdy shoes closed on mondays dirt road entry fee fascinating stories drive slowly defined path hiding place no photography allowed grand piano two brothers hiking path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This monastery operated for over 300 years. It is inaccessible by road and requires a hike in from Bol on the coast or down from the parking lot on the hilltop. It is fascinating to see how developed the site was when everything had to be carried in - including a large piano and a 3 meter telescope. The hike up from Bol is moderate - along the coast to the canyon and then up a moderate but steady incline up the canyon.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Hockeydad900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Me and my wife went on a boat trip from Bol
We went to a military tunnel and the on to Blaca beach
We walked up to the monastery, which takes around 45 minutes and it is quite a hard climb in the heat ( make sure you have decent footwear and water )
But once you get to the monastery it is worth it . It is now a museum and a tour guide will show you round ( an extra 40 )
The walk back down is a lot easier .
Then you have time to swim in the bay before the boat picks you up again
They only do this trip on a Wednesday but highly recommend it

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Beersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Great hike through the landscape and rewarded by visiting the place, its an awesome location. Nice tour through the old monestry and its history, wonderful guide present once you arrive. Schedule your hike well and with sufficient water, not on the hottest hours of the day (august). Take a breath on the shaded terrace at arrival.

P.s. in case you leave from the parking, follow the red/white marks on the stone which you will discover along the path, unless you prefer and able to hike longer!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank georgetower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

The road to the parking for the hile is a single gravel road. There is parking for the hike which is free. Go early if in summer as it gets hot. I do recommend close shoes. Some people were going in slip slops, but the rocks are at times slippery from dust and some sharp. Take water.... and take cash - 40kn per adult to get into the monastery.
it's a lovely walk and not very long. Suitable for children.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank nixstix143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

After some minutes of drive by a macadam road we arrived at the large parking (with 3 pleasant donkeys). From there we walked about 20 minutes to reach the monastery. There we joined a guided tour and the guide made us visit this place which included various unusual objects such as a piano, a large telescope, earthenware stoves, a classroom, and several centuries old clock which twice a day still shows the correct time :)

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Soccca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews